We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seeing things slightly differently” 3 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Patterdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added YHA Patterdale to your Saves list
YHA Patterdale
Goldrill House, Patterdale CA11 0NW , England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seeing things slightly differently”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed as a family for 3 nights but were disappointed with a few things. Firstly the dinners were poor both in quantity and quality so we opted out of having meals there for the rest of our stay. Breakfast was good though. Disappointed that there was no free wifi so we just did without until we got to the pub up the road (The White Lion). Also disappointed that there wasn't a games room and not sure what games there were other than Scrabble that we got from the reception. They had table football but it was not free so that was unused also. The toilets despite being done up recently had a door without a lock - I would have thought that it wouldn't take much to fix it. The shower had a seat that was on a spring but would only stay down if you had weighty enough things to keep it there (very strange design) but no hook to hang anything on (is that too much to ask?). John the house keeping manager was pleasant and friendly but the other 2 workers just did what they did and as far as I could see never really interacted with any one. The drying room was great. The hostel was a little cold and so I often walked around with a fleece on. The lighting in the rooms were dim to say the least. Not sure we would stay there again. Keswick and Borrowdale are 2 we have been to close by and they have nicer facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
11
7
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Fewer and fewer YHA properties remain these days. After the YHA sold off Derwent Water YH, this is one of the best ones left. Great base for walking and cycling. Good value for money, excellent food, bike shed too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a great weekend at Patterdale. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked via the Winter Warmer offer, which was exceptional value - the home cooked meals were fantastic. One of the great things about this hostel is the ample communal space for relaxing or eating. Having draught ale (Hobgoblin) was a big plus and we consumed a few pints! We will definitely be back to try more of the many hill walking routes nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just come back from 2 nights at YHA Patterdale with husband and 2 kids, using the extremely good value for money YHA "Winter warmer" deal (a family room for 4 or more with evening meal thrown in for discounted price-see YHA website for details). Reception was welcoming and noticed in huge contrast to hostels of yore it actually had a "hobgoblin" real ale handpump on the counter! Room was typical bunk bedded hostel accomodation, no frills but clean, warm and spacious ( our party of 4 had an 8 bedded room) plus plenty of storage. The winter warmer deal includes a limited menu but it was tasty and home made and excellent value ( the sticky toffee pudding was the best I have tasted and on enquiring at reception had been homemade that day). We also had the hot breakfast both mornings which again was great value for money at £4.95. The hostel is open plan so there isn't a games room or TV room, just a tv in the corner but plenty of seating areas. Our tv/games console loving kids didn't mention the tv or lack of consoles once, but loved playing Jenga and Subbuteo (there is a good stock of games and books). Personally I think YHA hostels are an excellent way of families having a reasonably affordable weekend away as unlike Travelodges etc. you have the run of the building (and gardens when weather allows!) rather than being cooped up in one room. The archetypal hostel reputation of chores and curfews is long gone, with the reception doubling up as a bar, and good clean facilities (although the ladies could have done with an extra shower, water was hot and facilities spotless). Our kids are quite lively but we were made to feel welcome from both staff and fellow guests, so my advice to families with children, why not give the YHA a try! (Especially when there are offers on!)
Patterdale itself is central to some excellent walking of all levels, from Striding Edge to Keldas and Lanty's Tarn, it has a general store and a cosy local "The White Lion" which appeared to do generous portions of good food. We are looking forward to another hostel stay before the winter warmer deal runs out in February!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good facilities, clean, efficient and friendly. This is a typical YHA location especially suitable for walkers. This is a brilient location with loads of quality walks. The only downside is you need to book food well in advance. But fear not the White Lion pub around the corner is a great pub wityh super grub too...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin_Whitwham, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
I'm pleased that you found our hostel to be an excellent place to stay on your coast to coast walk. I hope the rest of it went equally well. Of course as well as being an excellent stopping-off point for the C2C it also has unrivalled access to the two major peaks in the area, Helvellyn and High Street, as well as being just 15 minutes walk from Ullswater.

Next time you swing by please have a meal with us - we also do great food and we're cheaper than the Lion! No need to book so far in advance - 30 minutes should suffice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed at most at Youth Hostels in the Lake District and hadnt stayed at Patterdale for years so was excited to here about the changes.

On arrival there was zero parking was crazy due to lots of 4 x 4 parked badly taking up two spaces. Had to wait for the wardens to finish snogging before I got booked in which added to my mad mood af ther car park farce. Couldnt really see the revamp people had talked about in the room all the pipe work covers were off which didnt seem to safe. Bed were comfy with clean bedding.

Evening meal was good members kitchen was good but lots of dishes left unwashed but thats down to lazy people staying there.

The toilet facilities were very good and the hostel was clean and neat.

But its in a brilliant location and after a long day in the hills all you want is a hot shower and a good meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin_Whitwham, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Love is a beautiful thing to behold but perhaps not when you're wanting to pick up your room key! I shall have a word regarding curtailing passionate moments in reception during work time.

I may have some good news regarding parking – I’m looking into extending the car parking area by 4 to 6 cars, which should help some. I may also see about marking out the parking spaces so that certain people don’t park all crazily.

I’m quite heartened that you found the hostel warm, clean, comfortable and with good food.

The renovations have taken place in the bathrooms and reception rather than the rooms but improving them are next on the list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberflânerie
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

YHA Patterdale is not located directly on the Coast-to-Coast footpath but still very easy to find simply by following the road south from town. It was almost dark when I got here after walking from Borrowdale, but the staff was very helpful and still managed to prepare a delicious 3-course dinner for me at short notice.

The dorm I stayed in had a lot of empty floor space, very convenient for unpacking and rearranging my belongings. The drying room, while not as fancy as the one in Borrowdale, was still more than adequate to serve my cleaning needs.

The only slight drawback was that due to the layout of the building, there was a bit of a draught in the main hallway that made it quite chilly. Perhaps this could have been mitigated somewhat by closing certain doors or windows.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin_Whitwham, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It's always a delight to read a positive review! I'm very glad that you had such a positive stay and I hope you come back to us one day.

Funny you should mention the draught problem but I sorted that out recently - I've put a door-closer on the front door to stop it getting so chilly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Patterdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Patterdale

Address: Goldrill House, Patterdale CA11 0NW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the style of a Swiss chalet in 1971 our hostel is an iconic view from the road through the Ullswater Valley. Ideally located on the edge of Patterdale village it is a perfect base for all this beautiful valley has to offer.Situated close to famous mountains such as Helvellyn and High Street, 20-minutes walk from the Ullswater Steamers and Glenridding Sailing Centre, and less than 10-minutes drive from Aira Force waterfalls Patterdale Youth Hostel is perfect for all kinds of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Patterdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Patterdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.