We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smiley staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newby Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newby Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Newby Bridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Smiley staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The food is the best part ....followed by the staff....all very helpful and cheerful...well done.

We stayed in room 1 above reception....soooooo dark....brightest place was the bathroom!

The 4 poster bed made it very dark....beds like this are definitely over rated.....but comfortable.

The food was great......I had sea bass and my wife had lamb. The following night we tried the bar food also fine....best to check specials board. Breakfast was very good. Toast and tea/coffee comes straight away so if you prefer toast at the end put it on hold so it's hot.

Swimming pool was fine as well although a place for your towels would be good.

Would go back ....when the weather improves. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Great review thank you. We really enjoyed reading your menu choices too and thanks for mentioning our staff in your review. We are always hoping the weather cooperates, I'll make sure there is sun for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    381
    190
    81
    84
See reviews for
139
708
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As the title suggests and looking at guests comments I would agree that the time has come to refurbish this magnificent country house. That said the staff are incredible nothing is too much trouble for them and their level of professionalism is amazing, from the management to the cleaning staff, thank you everyone.
This is not a complaint but an observation, when either walking or driving to the road entrance during the hours of darkness, it was terribly difficult to see clearly, subtle lighting in this area would be a massive improvement to safety and compliment the overall view.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it represents excellent value for money, well done guys keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake give a lovely view and are quiet with the windows closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about our staff. We are looking forward to our refurbishment programme in the new year and will definitely take your comments on board about the lighting as well. We hope the next time you visit, you will approve of the changes! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked this hotel from a voucher offer and we weren't disappointed. From walking in the first time we were made to feel so welcome, shown around the hotel and also to our room. Our dog was also classed as a guest and had the freedom of the place with exception to the dining room (rightly so) and pool! The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfortable and clean and had a huge 4-poster bed - everything you would need for a lovely stay. We were allowed to use the pool and spa as part of our package, plus dinner and breakfast was of a very high quality. If you're looking for a friendly and comfortable break away in fabulous country at the southern tip of Lake Windermere , look no further than Newby Bridge Hotel. We will certainly be returning in the future.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We really enjoyed reading your lovely, 5-star review! Thank you so much for posting it and for visiting us. Thanks for mentioning our staff as well. We will certainly keep an eye for your next booking so as to warmly welcome you back! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We've just returned from a lovely 2-night break at this hotel (Living Social deal) and have to say we had an excellent weekend. Staff were lovely and friendly, room exceptionally clean, and the food excellent. We ate in the restaurant the first night and in the Huntsman the second - no complaints at all - lovely food and great service all around. The pub is wonderful - gorgeous roaring fire, and just a hint of background music. Everyone was really friendly and welcoming. We used the pool and the Jacuzzi (could have been a little warmer) on Saturday afternoon, which was great after we had been out in the cold during the morning! Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for posting this delightful review! It is exactly what we like to read in a review! Thanks so much for mentioning our friendly staff; they make all the difference of course. We will look forward to warmly welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a 2 night stay on a Living Social deal. Our Lake view room (Room 3) was cosy, comfortable, well presented and cleaned to a high standard. The food in both the restaurant and Huntsman bar was excellent, as were the breakfasts. Staff were friendly and most helpful, especially on our second night when part of the Huntsman bar was taken up by a private function, thereby restricting the availability of tables - they quickly set up a table for us in the adjoining lounge, and served our meal in there. In places the Hotel is looking tired and in need of a refurb, but that certainly didn't detract from our enjoyment

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Lake is especially attractive, and despite overlooking a busy main road is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks so much for this nice review. Everyone is delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be great value. The hotel will be undergoing refurbishment soon, so we hope you like the changes if you were to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here in October and had a lovely two days. We had a living social deal abd paid extra for a four poster bed and Jacuzzi bath. There was no record of our upgrade but this was quickly sorted. The room was nice enough although no curtains on the bed, a few suspicious stains on the nets and curtains and some dusty drawers, furniture etc however these were our only quibbles. The many positives far outweighed these minor details - absolutely loved the evening meal on the first night, the food was gorgeous and the dining room is beautiful. It was a really enjoyable evening all round and the quality of the food far exceeded our expectations given itvwas included in the deal. We loved the pub which is part of the hotel and has a very traditional feel - log fire burning, boardgames and friendly people! Breakfast was plentiful and good quality and we loved the Jacuzzi bath. The location is excellent and we enjoyed the views and walking in the local area. Overall we had such a relaxing time that we debated staying a third night! We will definitely be back. Oh and as owners of a very unreliable car we travelled by train which was very easy as the hotel is easily accessible by a bus from the train station at nearby grange over sands.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Great review thank you! We are delighted you enjoyed your meals, our location, staff and value! The pub is wonderful, especially now that the fire is back lit regularly. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARLINGTON
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The only thing that prevents this hotel experience being excellent all round is the décor which, to say the least, is a little jaded. To be fair when we left after a very enjoyable two nights we praised every aspect but commented about the décor and were told that the hotel is scheduled for a major face lift in January which, given that it is so, would deal with most of the feeling of the fabric of the building needing TLC.

We were warmly greeted on arrival, the staff were great, the room very clean and, although room 28 is an interesting treck from reception, there was everything we needed for a comfortable stay and a very pleasant view of the garden in its autumnal glory. Well done with the extras on the refreshment tray, too often world class hotels assume guests are going to have a single hot drink during their stay when the opposite normally applies.

We dined there on one evening and had two breakfasts. We could not fault the service or the food which were all excellent.

The spa is small and the sauna out of commission but the pool was at the a pleasant temperature and clean as was the Jacuzzi although the latter was so small more than three people would be sitting on each others knees!

Overall a very good experience made so in many ways by the staff who were almost constantly cheerful and always helpful.

Keep up the good work

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5-star review. The staff do make all the difference here and you are quite right about the renovation coming. Thanks again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newby Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newby Bridge Hotel

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newby Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Newby Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newby Bridge Hotel Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newby Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.