We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, friendly atmosphere, clean and spacious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newby Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newby Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Newby Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, friendly atmosphere, clean and spacious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a lovely three day and two night stay at this hotel, the rooms were very spacious and clean and the bed linen and towels were changed daily. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the food was exceptional, I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning towards the end of the year.

Room Tip: The butter mere suit No 41 is spacious and clean and has a jacuzzi and four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your 5-star review. Everyone is very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and all the staff thank you for your kind comments of their skill and expertise. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    368
    186
    81
    82
See reviews for
135
687
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prestwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just returned from a lovely relaxing two night break at Newby Bridge Hotel, with my wife and two Jack Russell dogs I would like to say a massive thank you to all the excellent and friendly staff, especially to Christine on reception, Christine was really friendly and informative right from when I first telephoned the hotel to make enquiries.

We stayed in Room 3 overlooking the lake which was lovely. The room was provided with a kettle and a good selection of tea, coffee,drinking chocolate and biccies. The room was also equipped with an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, trouser press,T.V and a lovely Jacuzzi bath which was very relaxing after being out walking all day. The room was very comfortable, warm, clean and the bed was comfortable with lovely fresh white linen. The room was cleaned daily and a fresh supply of complimentary tea/coffee making provisions were provided, including biccies.

We found the food to be excellent as it was hot, fresh, cooked well and there was a good selection. The aubergine and basil soup was fantastic!, The Cumberland breakfast was especially delicious, and there was a good selection of cereals, fresh tea, coffee, fruit juices, and self service full English which I found to be the best I have experience and once again the staff could not do enough for you. We were greeted each morning at breakfast, with a warm welcome and friendly smile. The staff were very professional and efficient and ensured that even the "more demanding" guests were treated with respect,efficiency and courtesy. Our observations were that "not everyone says please and thank you!"

There is a nice small pool on site in the hotel which had a lovely temperature and there was a small gym, steam room and jacuzzi, which again made for a nice relaxing swim. The hotel had a generous supply of fresh clean towels to use after your swim. Guests were friendly and sociable and we met some interesting people. As there is only one changing room for men and one for women, I found it more convenient to get changed in my room and it wasn't a problem. The changing rooms were really comfortable though and very clean, dry, warm and to a very good standard. They were equipped with a shower, toilet, vanity unit, wall hangers and a bench to sit on and hospitality shower gels, shampoo, hand and body lotions and a basket to put your used towels in. Most people preferred to change individually and wait the couple of minutes till the changing rooms became available. This really isn't a problem though as it's not as though there is usually more than 8 people using the leisure facilities at a time. So it wasn't really an issue, just an observation.

As I said we took our two dogs with us who were also made very welcome by the staff, if I was to be honest I did have some reservations regarding doggie odour, as most people are aware of how wet dogs can smell. I was dreading the thought of this throughout the hotel, but this was most definitely not the case. Once again I was pleasantly surprised as this wasn't the case as the hotel was constantly being cleaned.

The pictures in the hotel brochure were probably taken when the décor and furnishings were newly done and project how beautiful this hotel was in it's prime. There is no doubt that the hotel is due some refurbishment and we understand that this work is scheduled, but due to a busy season the work has been rescheduled for January 14. There is no point re-decorating, putting down new carpets or changing the curtains, until you fix the roof! It is truly hoped that when all this is done, it is done back to the standard the brochure depicts and maybe more of the "less pleased guests" will be satisfied and feel that they did indeed get m.o.r.e. than they paid for. We were satisfied and would love to see the hotel brought back to it's former glory. There really isn't that much to do and the investment would be well worth it!

We look forward to returning to Newby Bridge Hotel in the near future with other members of our family.

If you like a good friendly run hotel with an excellent full English breakfast give the Newby bridge Hotel ago.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your nice review; with a special thank you from Christine. Your review thoroughly covers everything the hotel has to offer and should be very helpful to potential visitors. We hope to meet other members of your family the next time you visit, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just back from a 3 day / 2 night stay at Newby Bridge Hotel. Could not fault it. Friendly, clean, great food - some funny moments - in a good way :-) Stayed in a spacious 4 poster room (Room 2 at front) with Jacuzzi and view over southern part of Lake Windermere. Dinner was in their price first night and could not fault it, coupled with some wine (very very reasonable) perfect!!! Room had large wardrobe, spacious bathroom with Jacuzzi, wall mounted TV, Huge 4 poster bed I felt like Goldilocks in it so comfy and fluffy pillows, dressing table, and the bed had mood lighting - which made us laugh - lots of sockets for phone chargers, hair dryer, etc etc. Hospitality tray. Two large windows over looking the lake , great gardens with areas for people to sit outside their own rooms and dogs able to stay & play in neatly kept gardens. Late check out. Buffet breakfast with lots of choice of cereals, fruit and jouices, full English help yourself to what you need and tea/toast/coffee. Smallish pool but with another Jacuzzi and steam room all clean and overlooking garden, few gym equipment but came for a rest so didn't try out. The staff were exceptional nothing too much bother and totally worked off their feet. I do not know what other people are complaining about, its an old worlde place and bound to have creaky floor boards and there will always be areas to update in such a large place but adds to the charm. The restaurant speaks for itself totally booked each night. Bar for light lunches and evening drinks and also a games room for groups of families. Will definitely go back again - oh and any deals you find through Wowcher etc check their own website first for their 'special deals' better than any voucher through other people. They have a special building Rotunda n gardens for that extra special stay :

Room Tip: Room 2 and the front for a great view. On a main road but windows cut all the noise out. Booking e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5-star review and all those wonderful photos! Everyone is so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that you made special mention of our hard-working staff! You paint a wonderful picture of your stay and I'm sure the TripAdvisor community will find it most helpful! We do hope we'll be seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our cycling holiday. As other folk have commented, this hotel is a very old building, and its age is showing. However, we find that all part of the charm of this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. The room (Windermere) was a little on the small side, dwarfed by the large four-poster bed, but was very clean and has a window looking out over Lake Windermere. The attached bathroom (with bath) was clean and had copious amounts of hot water.

The restaurant area is large, and on the night we stayed filled to capacity, but not noisy. The menu was good and the wine-list okay. We had a nice meal.

The spoons: for some unfathomable reason the restaurant tables were not equipped with teaspoons!! Folk were milling around trying to find something to stir their tea and coffee. If you asked for a teaspoon one would be supplied, but only of you asked for it. Very odd, and strangely charming:-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were happy to be a part of your cycling holiday and thank you for all your kind words. I'm not sure about this teaspoon issue; normally we are stocked up to the hilt; although I'm glad you found it strangely charming, I can assure everyone that out tables normally come equipped with that most important piece of cutlery, the teaspoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Arrived Saturday , greeted by a pleasant lady on reception (owns an Alfa Romeo Spider ) same as ours. We had been upgraded to Buttermere room 41 with 4 poster bed and spa Jacuzzi bath, we used the swimming pool, sauna and pool Jacuzzi which were all very good. Enjoyed dinner in the restaurant excellent food,had night cap in the cozy bar , good nights sleep in a comfy bed. Breakfast was excellent lots of choices pleasant waiting staff nothing to much bother. Some parts of the hotel are dated and would benefit from a make over but this does not detract from the overall experience, would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would revisit again

Room Tip: room 41 or Retunda for honeymoon and special occasions
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Wonderful review thank you! you paint a nice picture of the hotel and its offerings that I hope others will find helpful. Thanks for recommending us to others and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Arrived in an "upgraded room" for anniversary. Was like a homeless hovel, filthy, stains,dirt,grime,stained sheets,inch thick dust and holes in carpet and curtains.doorhandles were soo sticky as soo dirty.complaints from other guests about the disgraceful hygiene as well. Staff were nice enough, but on complaining on 17th JULY to head office I have chased them with approx 10-15 emails to sort refund.they agreed to do so but after 5 weeks still waiting.if this is the "service" given off the p.a to the director and manager of hotel god help anyone who goes. Make sure you pack flea spray also.look at room before checking in. The swan hotel across the road is beautiful, and busy at all times. Not like a graveyard at newby bridge. Think that speaks for its self.

Room Tip: There are none. One without wildlife would be good!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Some people just cannot be pleased and this reviewer, unfortunate to say, is one of them. After making their unhappiness known, staff went out of there way to try to make their stay enjoyable, including complementary dinner, wine, etc. Obviously, this was not enough, so we even refunded the stay. The refund was carried out last week, which to be fair took longer than normal, but if they still haven't received it then it is an issue with their card at this point. On the back of the original complaint, we realised that one of the housekeepers simply wasn't working out so we had to let them go. When the reviewer was informed that the housekeeper who did their room was let go, they even complained about that! In short, the hotel is in no way as described by this reviewer. TripAdvisor members can spot a mean-spirited review when they see one and it reflects more on the reviewer than on the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights back in February 2010. We had very kindly been upgraded to the four poster room and it did not disappoint. It was a beautifully appointed, clean and comfortable room and I only wish we were able to spend more time in it!
After our first nights three course meal we decided we would not bother eating out any evening during our stay as we had the finest food and atmosphere at our hotel. The bar was perfect for a night cap and felt more like entering a quaint country pub than a hotel bar.
Breakfast was the very best we have experienced in a hotel and we especially appreciated the quality sausages and perfectly poached eggs.
We are returning at last on sep 16th for three nights and we really cant wait. We don't plan to wander far from the hotel this time round and defiantly plan to spend more time at that terrific bar!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for this review of your stay from 2010. I'm pleased you had a good time then and hope this time you do as well! Looking forward to seeing you...and your next review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newby Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newby Bridge Hotel

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newby Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Newby Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newby Bridge Hotel Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newby Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.