We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newby Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Newby Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Newby Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I have just had a two night weekend break at this hotel. The staff, food, rooms,spa, gardens, and the View from our room 35 The Lake excellence and all the Hotel Facilities were top class Very impressed with all the staff especially the reception (Christian) we will be staying hear again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the 5-star review. It means so much that you'll be visiting us again in the future. The staff will certainly look forward to your return! Until the next time, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    367
    186
    80
    82
See reviews for
135
686
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

just returned from this hotel bought a cheap deal 2 nights with food on the 1st night the food i have to say was brill we were in room 3 at the top of the stairs the room was quite small but clean really needs an update great views .but with these old hotels the beds are really small i wish they would put king beds in these hotels could only stay the 1 night husband got called back to work never even got a chance to use the pool gutted but all in all it was nice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for visiting. Shame your husband got called back to work! Thanks for your kind words about our food as well. Next time I'm sure you'll get to use our nice warm too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at this lovely hotel. From start to finish everything was excellent. Our room was wonderful and overlooked the lake, the evening meal included in our Groupon offer was superb and excellent value for money, the food was excellent quality. The breakfast was just as good, everything you could wish for. All the staff were exceptionally polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. When we made our booking we requested a specific weekend and the only way we could do our dates was to have one night in one room and then move into a new room the following night which was no problem to us. We spent our first night in the Windermere room (43) and then the next night in room 18 and our bags were taken to our new room for us without any inconvenience to ourselves at all. We ate in the bar on the second evening and again, excellent quality food and service together with some good beers. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and whilst we were on a Groupon offer we were amazed to have had such good accommodation because on previous Groupons we have always had the cheaper/smaller rooms. Not at the Newby Bridge Hotel. This was by far the best offer we have had and will definitely be returning. Some reviews mention the decor etc., we didnt find a problem with this, it was full of character and charm. Decorating this hotel must be like painting the Forth Bridge, once you get to the end, you have to start again, it must be never ending! No problems whatsoever for us. Just go and enjoy the wonderful hospitality on offer, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic 5-star review! I am so happy you found us to be excellent value for money! You are quite right that there is no standing still in regards to keeping the hotel updated, comfortable and an enjoyable place to visit. Luckily, we have some brilliant staff to help with the latter 2! Thank you so much and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at the Newby Bridge Hotel "& Leisure Centre" for one night on business. Booked through Late Room and got a good rate at a hotel in a fantastic location with great views over Windermere and easy to find straight off the main road. One of the main reasons fro staying here was the advertisement of gym facilities just to "do a bit" before eating and drinking. The gym is advertised as a Mini gym and this might be a bit of an understatement! There are only 4 pieces of equipment and the rowing machine wasnt working at the time either. The problem is its location. The sauna and pool/jacuzzi are separated from it only by a wall/windows and this means the humidity and heat inside this tiny room is unbearable- you will like you have a run a marathon in 40 degree heat after only 10 minutes - fetch your swimming stuff and use the pool and sauna instead unless you have a fetish for sweat and prickly heat. Rest of hotel is very clean and tidy and old fashioned/traditional dependent on your view but the staff are all fantastic and cannot do enough to make sure your stay is a good one. I ate in the bar area and the food was very godd and having San Miguel on draught was also a nice bonus. Room itself was comfy enough and with tea and coffee making facilities and jacuzzi bath had nice touches. Dont rely on tv reception though as signal does tend to go every now and then due to weather and area. All in all a nice enough hotel whose location makes it an ideal spot for visting Windermere and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for this nice review, especially in regards to the staff, food and value. I'm happy you also found our location to be suitable for your business trip as well. The mini gym is suitable for a quick workout and most find it adequate for their needs. Thanks for the comment though; it will help us when we plan for the future. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We've just returned from a 2 night break (Groupon deal). We've had a fabulous time, met some lovely people. Christine the receptionist is a lovely, bubbly lady with an infectious smile and a great "dirty" laugh, having said that all the staff are very friendly and seem to enjoy working there. Our room(34) - I think in a newer part of the hotel was excellent - it had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom clean and modern (only gripe - no toilet roll holder). The food was excellent - both breakfast and dinner. The gym is a tiny room off the swimming pool and a little too hot for exercise. The rowing machine needs a new battery in the display as I couldn't set it. Will we stay again - you betcha.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the lake - so we had a brilliant view - room 34.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Nice review thank you! We really appreciate you choosing to take a mini-break with us! Christine also wants to thank you for mentioning her by name as well as all the staff; they are all pleased! Looking forward to warmly welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Newby Bridge Hotel on a Groupon voucher, a present from our son and daughter in law. We were in the annexe cottage which was only 'alright', no chair and windows need to be replaced. The bar area should be totally refurbished as paper was hanging from the ceiling; the paintwork and furnishings look very tired. The food was satisfactory but not exciting. The whole hotel could do with a lot of TLC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are always working to keep the us a great place to visit in the Lakes. We have done quite a bit of work over the past few months from painting, to complete remodelling and updating. As always, we will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The highlight of this hotel is the main receptionist. She is very helpful, personable and knowledgeable.
The room was not small and contained all that we needed.
The bar food was excellent and the bar furniture photographed.
The set menu was of a high quality, commensurate with the price.
Not so sure about the security of the changing rooms(for the pool/jacuzzi/steam room) and the poolside could be slippy.
The hotel is well sited for the steam train to the cruise centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We appreciate your kind review. Thanks also for staying with us. We appreciate your review of our staff and dining experience. We couldn't be more happy that you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newby Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newby Bridge Hotel

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newby Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newby Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newby Bridge Hotel Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newby Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.