We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A couple of days away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newby Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newby Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Newby Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A couple of days away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited the newby bridge as a stay away for a couple of days. The hotel is in a beautiful area, although a bit tired inside. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had room 28 to start with on the first night, a big room that was very comfortable ,but found out in the morning that the shower was absolutely useless. This was reported to reception in the morning and we were told that it would be fixed whilst we were out, but it wasn't, so we asked what we could do about this, we were told we could use another rooms shower, but unfortunately this was on the other side of the hotel. Room 8. I couldn't envisage myself in my pyjamas trotting across the Hotel from room to room so obviously we had to Change room. A least the shower worked in this room. There was a strange smell in this room which we noticed every time we woke in the night. Don't know what was the cause of this , maybe it could be investigated. The food in the bar was good and the breakfast was well presented and more than enough buffet style. The spa was small but enough for what you need to relax. I had one major problem with the spa though. There was a sign in the spa that said under no circumstance were any cameras or videos to be taken into the spa , but as your walked into reception there was a large screen tv showing live feed from the spa. Surely this is an infringement on people's privacy , this needs to be sorted.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us and the location of the hotel. I do apologise that your shower had issues whilst staying with us. It has since been fixed. I also appreciate your other constructive feedback and we are already on the case! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    368
    186
    81
    82
See reviews for
135
687
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I am sure it was lovely when decorated originally, but very tired and dated. Having arrived looking forward to a relaxing break we were taken to our room, in the cottage annex, and straight away it was not what we expected. Very cold. However, we put the heating on, yes no central heating but electric heater. Went off to the bar and returned an hour later, still very cold and the bathroom even colder. There was no way I would consider having a bath or shower, cold and damp. We asked for another room, and were moved. Although warmer still disappointing. However, thought we would give it a go, The evening meal was lovely,service excellent and comfy in the bar in front of the log fire. Then to bed. Unfortunately, bad night, too much noise from the bar and a yapping dog! Up early, not slept well at all and decided to leave, did not want to stay the second night. However, had the breakfast which was good, hot and no concern at all. The staff are friendly and helpful, it is just the tired and very dated decor which looks like the cleaning staff have a difficult job on their hands. Would not recommnd this at all and will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I am very disappointed to read this review not least because of how lovely these guests were. It would seem we were not the hotel for them, but we do appreciate their review. We always take reviews very seriously as they are always helpful for us. Of course, this review in no way reflects what we aim to achieve at our hotel and we work ever harder to ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at Newby Bridge Hotel, taking advantage of a voucher deal. As we enjoy walking, this hotel is perfectly situated for trips out and walks almost on its doorstep.We stayed in Jasmine Cottage, room 5, a very good sized room, ensuite, clean, quiet and warm as toast.
All staff very polite, cheerful and pleasant. The meals are delicious and beautifully presented with ample quantities. Breakfast is on a self service basis and there is a very good and plentiful choice. We had an excellent stay which was extremely good value for money. As the weather was good for walking we did not take advantage of the spa facilities. We will be returning.
Adelaide O.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful 5-star review. You are quite right to say we are in a great location of walks and for visiting everything the Lakes has to offer. Thank you for mentioning our lovely staff as well; they have enjoyed reading your review! I have no doubt we will be seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel was pleasent however could do with a make over, it was in some places very tired, the swimming pool is small and the changing area is like a cupboard to say the least, 4 people in it and its full, no where to put your clothes or keys glasses ect.

the satff in the resturant were all very nice and helpful with a lovely smile as they worked very hard.

i would like to see this hotel in two or three years time if it has a makeover, would i go back again, yes i would it was alright for the money.

George and Colin

Room Tip: ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent stay. Everyone is pleased your group had such a nice weekend and all of the staff appreciate your kind words. We will continue to keep the Newby Bridge Hotel a great place to stay and, as always, return the profits to the business. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just returned from a lovely two night three day stay in the lakes stopping in the Newby Bridge Hotel, after reading the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor I was a little concerned about what we would find waiting for us, but we need not have worried. Yes the hotel is a little dated in places, but overall it was a pleasant experience, The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food excellent, both the evening meal and breakfast. Our room was a large, clean and well presented, this was in the cottage annexe apart from the main hotel. It was at the side of the A591 but wasn't that noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
How lovely you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thanks for visiting and for posting this review. I am happy you enjoyed your accommodation and dining experience as well. We hope the next time you are looking for a break in the Lakes you will book with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Absolutely fab hotel where the staff were really friendly and always had a smile of their face when you approached the reception. The food was fantastic and enjoyed dinner on both nights and the breakfast was also fantastic. I will be back for another break to chill out in the Spa - and would recommend this hotel for 1st class break. Our stay was Friday 7 & 8 Feb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for this excellent review. We appreciate the 5-star rating as well. Friendly staff and good food (among a few other things!) is what we are about here. Everyone is pleased that you had a relaxing stay and we do hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

we have just returned from a 2 night groupon deal which was great value for money as other reviews have said decor is a bit dated and we did end up on the third floor which is not good so if you get offered this you would be wise to decline and go on a different date but i have to say the food and staff made up for the short fall in our expiriance so didnt even complain. in fact we paid for a meal the second night which was 24.95 per person with a free bottle of wine and again worth every penny oh and the breakfast was brilliant i saw a review that said the breakfast was not good which is what i allways expect in a hotel esp when its a buffie style but let me congratulate the hotel on the breakfast it was verry fresh and tasty not many hotels this busy will take time out to make freshly poached eggs on request but they did and worth the wait. the only downside they charge £5 extra for the steak on the first night which was part of the deal ie free 4 course meal but in fairness it does state this on the menu i just did not think it would apply to the deal but hey ho i got over that and will return but not on the third floor

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for this great, 5-star review! Everyone is so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the staff and food. We appreciate your wonderful comments about our breakfast as well; they say it is the most important meal of the day so it might as well be done right! Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newby Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newby Bridge Hotel

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newby Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Newby Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newby Bridge Hotel Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newby Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.