We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay at the Newby Bridge Hotel by Jim the Westie.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newby Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newby Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Newby Bridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay at the Newby Bridge Hotel by Jim the Westie.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Nights of 9th to 11th June 2012.
Hi, my name is Jim and I’m a West Highland Terrier (a Westie. Me and my “guv”(Norman) have stayed at the Newby Bridge Hotel on a number of occasions and each time we stay it gets better and better. I can confirm that the four poster bed (with lovely white sheets) in room 4 (main part of the hotel) is comfortable since I once jumped on the bed when Norm wasn’t looking to test the mattress. Cant have Norm not having a good nights sleep as it makes him grumpy and he growls at the other guests. The “table dote” “menu is superb. I know this is the fact since Norm allows me to have a taste of his supper as I am lying under the table when he is served dinner in the bar area (the salmon and trout dish this week was fantastic as was the strawberry meringue) . Apologies to the staff for the mess under the table but I’m a bit of a messy eater……but so is Norm. However it was always cleaned up quickly. Cant write a review without mentioning the staff. They all remember me and want to tickle my ears……Norm likes the same but the girls only talk to him. They are always so friendly and pleasant and I wonder how they keep so cheerful under pressure when a coach load of visitors arrive 3 hours earlier than planned. So I give the Newby Bridge Hotel and the staff a 5 “woof “rating. Norman also thinks it’s a great place to stay and we are both looking forward to next years visit.. The Newby Bridge Hotel yet again came up to our expectations as being a dog and human friendly hotel.

Room Tip: We always stay in room 4 overlooking the car park but there is very little noise at nights and so sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
I think this may be the best review we have ever received!
Thank you very much Jim for making the effort to review our hotel, I'm sure it must have been difficult to type with your fluffy paws. We're very pleased that you enjoyed Norm's strawberry meringue, our chef is obviously good at catering for all tastes. Our staff love having you and your owner to stay with us, you brighten up our days! We really appreciate your 5 woof rating, and are already looking forward to your next visit.
P.s. If Norm has Facebook, tell him to enter you into our Pet Idol competition! The pet with the most votes will win a free stay and a goodie bag of treats! (Visit facebook.com/bestlakesbreaks and click on the Pet Idol tab)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    381
    190
    81
    83
See reviews for
138
708
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I recieved a telephone call out of the blue last night informing me that we would not be able to stay at the Newby Bridge hotel because their new extension was still being completed and this is where we would have been staying. I had made the booking for two double rooms back in April via Groupon for my partner's birthday. The plan was for us and another couple to visit the hotel for two nights with dinner on the first night. We were really looking forward to our stay but were contacted (with 9 days to go) by the hotel who informed us that our rooms would not be ready for our stay due to bullding work. We were informed that we could stay at a sister hotel in Kendal. With due respect if I wanted to stay in Kendal (which for the record is very nice - I have family living in the town) I would have booked a hotel there. I was also told that other than that there was nothing else they could do. The tone of the message was very much "couldn't care less". I have also since found out (although I'm sure this is purely coincidental) that this would have been a very busy weekend with various events taking place including the great lake swim. As I said I'm sure that this had nothing to do with our discounted Groupon break being cancelled. I realise that sometimes things happen due to unforeseen circumstances but the way in which the hotel handled things was very unprofessional and was done with a "its not our fault" tone. The four of us had booked time off work far in advance for this trip and as many people will appreciate, time off from hard to come by jobs is very much appreciated in these challenging economic times, so to be treated in such an off hand way was very disappointing indeed.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We are very disappointed to read this review, as it is not an accurate description of how the situation was handled. We did unfortunately have to cancel this gentleman's booking due to delays in the building of a new block of rooms. We understand the disappointment caused and extend sincere apologies to the customers affected. Our receptionists spoke to the gentleman's wife, and handled the situation very professionally and politely. Good alternatives were offered, but it was decided that cancellation was the best option. We are very sorry about the situation and can assure guests that this option was a last resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HALE, CHESHIRE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Newby Bridge hotel a couple of times, and we have had a lovely relaxing break both times.
The main feature which drew us to the place was the fact we could enjoy a mini break away in the Lakes and bring along our 2 little amazing pugs. They just love it from the minute we pull up in the car outside, they are spoilt rotten.
The hotel is friendly and the service from all staff is professional. Part of the rooms in the hotel are refurbished and the other part of the hotel such as the four poster rooms are very old in decoration and the jacuzzi baths which you have to pay extra for all need replacing. We had a bottle of champagne to enjoy in the jacuzzi just to find horrible bits come flying out the jets. Not a nice feeling at all considering I was already in it when it happened plus we had paid extra for it!
The rooms are decent enough for a couple of nights but I think if I stay again I will request a refurbished room albeit they are the smallest and possibly wouldn't have a view of the lake which is part of the main attraction. You will have to weigh up what's important to you. Larger old room with nice view of the lake or a smaller room with no specific view but nice and refurbished etc...
The main element we love about the Newby bridge is the evening dinner. The food is fantastic. Traditional English meals served elegantly and in an atmosphere where you jsut want to take your time over a bottle of wine. All the meals we have had were superb, very tasty, compliments to the chef. The breakfast is a help yourself full English amongst all the other bits you would expect to find such as jam, toast and cereals etc. You won't be going hungry in this hotel...
There is also a nice bar area where we tend to relax in the evenings with a nice glass of wine and make polite conversations with other guests while all the dogs can get to make some doggie friends.
Overall a lovely mini break - great for people with or without dogs...

Room Tip: Ask to see both a newly refurbished room and the larger lake view rooms before making up your mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We loved having you and your lovely dogs to stay with us, and we are pleased that you also enjoyed your stay. Your fantastic comments about the food are much appreciated and will be passed onto the chef. We do apologise about the issue with your jacuzzi. This is not a common occurence as the baths are on a strict cleaning schedule, and yours has been given extra attention to ensure that this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel last weekend. After reading some of the comments we were concerned about what to expect. We booked the break through groupon and booked an extra nights stay for 2 out of the 3 nights we had arranged to eat at the hotel. The review had been mixed and we decided to make up our own minds when we arrived with the conclusion that we had not booked or paid for a 5 star hotel. The hotel car park can get a bit tight at the weekend. The reception staff are friendly and we were impressed at how they remember your room number, having your key ready when you walk in. The corridors, lounge and pub are a bit worn around the edges but full of character. They are obviously upgrading part of the hotel but the buidling work is unobtrusive. The room was a pleasant surprise, with an excellent view of the very well maintained garden and wonderful rotunda annex. Although the bathroom is small it is fit for purpose and clean. The shower wasnt great but I think that was the luck of the draw as the people we came with had an excellent shower. We enjoyed using the pool and gym. The food was lovely with a great choice and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Value for money this was an excellent stay and would certainly stay again. It is a great location to travel around the lake district.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations of our hotel. We are very proud of our reception staff, so it is great to hear your lovely feedback about them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a brill few days at Newby Bridge, there was some building work going on but even that didn't detract from our short break. The food was brill really top notch, the room was very clean and comfortable although the bathroom was somewhat small. The staff were very helpful and friendly - I suppose the only downside was the big tv in the reception area which showed the leisure pool and jacuzzi - it was off putting knowing that anyone coming to reception could see you in the pool. But apart from that we really did have a great time. We will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
What a great review, thank you. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Newby Bridge Hotel. We really appreciate your comments about the food, and hope that it isn't long until your next break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

stayed 3nights for phil,s birthday. rooms spacious, warm and clean, kingsize bed with flatscreen tv on the wall.enjoyed the swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room, also the bar with its inviting log fire just the job considering the weather.staff very friendly and helpful,food served in the restrauant was exceptional, will most certainly be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for this fantastic review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your jubilee break with us, and that Phil enjoyed a lovely birthday. We really appreciate you having taken the time to review our hotel, and hope that you come to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We came here for the very reasonably priced sunday dinner which was an all you can eat starter with lots of lovely fresh fish followed by a carvery. The food was excellent, very tasty and obviously fresh. The servie was average, when we arrived we asked to be moved to a different table because we were in the middle of the cramped room (the tables were far too close together) in front of the carvery so we had lots of people passing us to get to the food. We were told that we couldn't be moved as the rest of the empty restaurant had been set up for breakfast the next morning. It wouldn't have taken much effort to let us have one of the breakfast tables but apparently they couldn't be bothered to move us.

Apart from the average service, the food was good and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of our restaurant. We appreciate your feedback and are very pleased that you enjoyed the range of fresh produce on our Sunday Carvery. Your comments about the service are highly unrepresentative of the usual customer experience and will be recorded for staff training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newby Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newby Bridge Hotel

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newby Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Newby Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newby Bridge Hotel Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newby Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.