We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakes Aquarium

Lakes Aquarium
Lakeside, Newby Bridge LA12 8AS, England
+44 (0)1539 530153
Website
Improve this listing
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit to the aquarium. An interesting selection of marine life and other animals to see. We listened to the talk on the otters and saw them being fed. It was all very informative and just right for my 4 year old boy who has a very limited attention span.

The quiz was great for drawing attention to the marine/animal information next to their enclosures and tanks and our little ones loved the medal at the end for completing the quiz.

No complaints regarding cleanliness as we went at 10 am. We unfortunately got stuck behind a large group or school party so we couldn't see the last attraction as they were answering questions and had taken over the whole area. That was a disappointing end to a very enjoyable wander around. Perhaps the aquarium need to think about these large parties spoiling the experience for other paying visitors.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    75
    49
    21
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Something Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Aquarium whilst work was being done so were charged kids prices. To say a large section was closed off I thought there was still plenty to do and plenty to see.

From the demonstrations/talks I've learnt a lot more about marine life. This will be more of a benefit to people with an interest and who are keen to learn. The guy doing the talks is very knowledgeable.

Spent a good 2 hours on our visit and at a reduced rate it was well worth the money.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“not what i expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

going by the name i thought i was going to see fish and water wildlife from the lake district area, so i was suprised to see pirana fish and monkeys. most of the exhibits were in tiny tanks which i do not like to see. i think maybe a review and update needs to take place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok for a rainy day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Visited th aquarium at Windermere today as it was rather wet outside.My 2yr old daughter loved it and had an enjoyable hour there looking round.The otters are the major attraction and luckily were out when we were there .Personally its a bit tired and over priced for adults and needs quite a bit of work to update.It was right on lunchtime and the cafes opposite are poor and don't look at all appealing.Our visit wasn't helped by being behind a school party which clogged up the route round a bit.Car park fees are well over the top as you only need an hour and have to pay £2.20 for an hour and a half!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Small but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoyed this attraction on a rainy day, and didn't find it overpriced at all. We booked online so that made it a bit cheaper, however wasn't impressed at having to pay £2.20 to park the car for an hour and a half. It's only small and takes around an hour to walk through but the otters were really cute and it's worth waiting around to watch them get fed and hear the talk. Didn't combine the ticket with the train or boat as it was pouring down, but would have definitely done this if it was nice weather.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakes Aquarium also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Backbarrow, Lake District
Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
 

Been to Lakes Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakes Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.