We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeside Hotel to your Saves list
Lakeside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Price Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“30th Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Upon arriving on our first day we were met by the most friendly and helpful staff with a dose of humour great consierge shown to our rooms then the leisure complex which was a joyto use sometimes twice daily ,the bed was out of this world large and comfy the room was spotless a great credit to the cleansing staff A choice of three places to take evening meals each one as great as the others in food and drink quality and top top notch service, early call then swim sauna plus jacusi with steam room for the ladies then onto breakfast which was to die for great choices and once again great staff The weather was kind to us as we explored the gardens lake and surroundings, Great venue a must to visit by all We already booked fantastic quality and relaxing

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must for ambiance ,All ground floor and side rooms have a private patio plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    178
    46
    16
    17
See reviews for
158
365
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is really a lovely place to stay, it has everything you could want, beautiful bedrooms, stunning views and a lovely warm welcome.We stayed for two night's and wished we had been staying longer.Meals are expensive but beautiful, would certainly be going back in the furture.
The only fault was the massage I had, which was a full massage at £79.00 it was the worse one I have ever had, should have complained at the time but didn't.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Everything very much as the majority view on here. Arrived Saturday friendly reception staff who arranged for luggage to room and car to be parked. Given a quick tour to orientate ourselves. Went for a late swim a few children no problems getting in jacuzzi, steam room or sauna. Children soon left and got the place to ourselves. Gym totally empty. Tried to book the A La Carte Restaurant and told that it was fully booked for the duration of our stay but they would put us on the reserve list. Room clean with side view of Lake very quiet and relaxing. Bed and pillows super soft all geared to a de-stress.

Went down intending to go to Ruskins stopped and had a look at the ALC menus. The Head Waiter with glasses asked if we were ok, said we were disappointed not to be able to visit him. He said "Just a minute", went in Restaurant came out and said 'I'll fit you in give me 5 minutes", took us into Conservatory got us a drink and then fitted us in. Great service nice touch. Wine list a bit pricey though.

Fantastic breakfast all local produce cooked freshly, fresh squeezed orange,super service even breakfast time. Walked to High Dam then steamer to Bowness. On return went to pool absolutely nobody there at all whole place to ourselves till 1915 then just two others, gym empty. Had dinner at Ruskins superb service yet again, steak and ale pie to die for. Had a chat with the pianist bit of a character !

Went for breakfast at ALC restaurant could not fit us in but lady in charge took us personally to Ruskins and got us sat down at a table, again over and above the call of duty. Super clean Hotel with obviously very experienced staff who enjoy giving service, bet the staff turnover is low. Would certainly take a break here again.

Room Tip: If you are just on a short break don't worry about trying to find somewhere else to eat the Rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Went here for bank holiday weekend break, the place had been recommended to us. First impressions good, lovely location and well kept hotel. Great tour and welcome, but not very excited by our room for 220 a night. Small touches like a fridge and fresh milk would be the least I'd expect for that price.
Spa didn't win many prizes for me - pool a good size and facilities fine but no supervision on a BH weekend meant children everywhere - in the saunas, steamroom, hot tub, swimming lane... Should have been more supervision to ensure everyone got to use the space. Gym is also tiny and should be at least 2 running machines as there's no way to run outside due to no pavements.
Breakfast amazing in this hotel, one of the best I've had, if lacking in space when hotel full. Sandwiches are lacklustre for lunch and over priced. We didn't have the full afternoon tea but it looked delicious.

A mixed bag but nice enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I travelled to The Lakeside Hotel for a 4 night break during the Easter Holidays. We were greeted and shown around the hotel and spa before we were shown to our room. As we stayed in the lodge our car was brought round to the lodge for us and our bags were delivered to our room. The view of the lake from the lounge was amazing and the garden area was very neat and tidy. The staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for us during our stay. As my wife is pregnant, we were a bit fussy when it came to food but the staff were more than happy to tailor the food to our needs. We had a small problem with the heating in the lounge area not working and this was rectified whilst we went for dinner. A temporary oil heater was installed and we were given the option to move rooms that night or wait until morning or make do with the heater (this was all at 10pm) the porter was very helpful and didn't rush us with our decision. The manager of the hotel was very helpful and made sure our stay was enjoyable. We dined in the John Ruskins Brassiere 3 times during our stay. At first I was hoping it was nice as there were no other restaurants/places (the closest being in Bowness around 10 miles away) I was pleasantly surprised at how good the food was and as mentioned before, this was where the staff tailored the food to the needs of my wife. The room was turned down each night and the nights that we were in the room, housekeeping would call to ask if we would like a turndown service that evening. I liked this as they didn't disturb us by barging into the room. The hotel also called us to let us know that a gardener was coming to mow the lawn and tidy the garden area and apologised for the noise. Again this was something which just added the extra touch to the service we received throughout our stay. We would both defiantly recommend the hotel as well as the restaurant in the hotel and also the afternoon tea. It was a peaceful holiday where we were able to relax and we will be going back there when we visit that part of the country again.

Room Tip: We recommend one of the lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. Spent 1 night in a garden room, very comfy bed & a fantastic shower. Had dinner in the restaurant, food was excellent. If you are in the lakes this is the place to stay, would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We only stayed 1 night but it was a wonderful experience. We arrived early so our room was not available, however we were still checked in and given a tour of the hotel and facilities. Our car was parked for us and the keys returned when we returned to access our room The beds are the most soft and comfortable bed I have ever slept in. A nice touch is the turn down service which also provided a card with the forecast of the next days weather. We also requested an iron and ironing board which arrived almost before I had replaced the phone. Excellent service.
The pool area is first class. Very soft towels.

Staff were - sorry - are first class and nothing is too much trouble. Food is excellent also. Especially enjoyed breakfast with the fresh orange juice.

We had room 104 which was a lake view room with a small patio area. A great view of the lake and woke up to a view with a light mist rising from the lake.- magical.

We will be back such is the impression a 1 night stay made. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.