We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned - in a good way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeside Hotel to your Saves list
Lakeside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4 nights for price of 3
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old fashioned - in a good way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This place is one of those lovely old fashioned hotels in the most incredible location right by Lake Windermere. The service in the dining room is a little on the slow side perhaps, but that's the only fault I can find (and to be honest, if you have driven all the way along the winding Lakeland roads to get here, you're not in a hurry). The food is anything but old fashioned though. It is very fine indeed. Ingredients and attention to detail is impeccable but it's unfussy and quite excellent. I was much more impressed than I expected to be. The latest addition to the menu was a wild strawberry "cannelloni" with lime meringues. Remarkable. And for half the price you'd expect given the opulence of the dining room and level of attention you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    220
    58
    19
    17
See reviews for
189
445
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Being local to this hotel I was amazed at the prices being charged when I attended a function. Having ordered a small white wine and a single gin and tonic the barman asked for £13.65. When I asked him how much the small wine was he did not want to tell me in front of other astonished customers, on pressing him he produced a till receipt showing the small wine was £7.75 and the gin and tonic £5.90. He also stated that the prices went up at 5.00 but had no reason why. In the local area in good establishments a G & T is £3.20 and a small wine around 3.50. This is a tourist destination and I and the others agreed this is the sort of profiteering that drives down the reputation of the Lake-district. Another customer asked to speak to the manager about why the prices had risen at 5.00 but he would not come to the bar. The Lakes are a wonderful destination and you expect a premium for their position but this type of pricing reminds me of the bars in Rome where only the unwary sit down.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just back from a rather wet weekend in The Lakes. Despite the weather we had a fantastic stay at The Lakeside Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - and it was good to see there were plenty of them.

We stayed in a lake view ground floor terrace room which had sliding patio doors onto a small terrace with a table and two chairs - would have been ideal if the weather had been kinder to us!
We had dinner both nights in the sin restaurant and the food was excellent.

I used the pool, steam room and sauna which were nice and quiet.

The valet parking when you arrive was a good idea. The hotel has evolved over the years we have been going and the Brasserie restaurant was a nice alternative for breakfast. We were lucky to be treated to a surprise champagne afternoon tea by our son which was excellent.

Our only negative was, as other people have commented,it is a shame that the hotel charges such high prices for drinks. I am sure that if prices were more reasonable people would stay and have a drink after dinner rather than disappear to their rooms.

We will certainly return

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are lovely but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

6 Girls for Birthday celebration and Spa break. Nothing was too much trouble. Cars parked for us and bags taken to the rooms. Birthday girls upgraded. Downstairs rooms each had a terrace with views onto Windermere. Tradional styled hotel but modern touches with furnishing, art and lighting which avoid it feeling 'stuffy'.
Lovely spa . All immaculate . Staff helpful and friendly. Made us most welcome. Spa treatments are expensive compared to prices locally.
Private part of the Bistro for our meal. Friendly, attentive service.
Plenty of seating in the public areas to relax and soak up the atmosphere even with a small wedding party milling around.

Delicious breakfast. High quality, fresh ingredients, mainly locally sourced.

I'd happily also go back with my family for a short break. We'd like to book for next year. Better start a fund to pay for all the wine!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

this hotel is in the most idyllic location right on the shore of Windermere with its own private access. the staff are brilliant and cant do enough for you and the food, both at breakfast and dinner is excellent. Can't fault it and I've been here with a group of workmates on a team event and also a leisure break with my wife.

Room Tip: all are very good, roomy and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good Points:
Free Parking, excellent service, lovely room with a lake view, bottles of water in room, nice shower gel/shampoo and large shelves to sit wash bags on, good sized swimming pool which you can walk to on the ground floor wearing robes, fantastic quality food; freshly squeezed orange juice, served breakfast, dinner menu was delicious, hotel is close to steam boats for trips across Lake Windemere.

Bad Points:
A simple sandwich lunch for two cost £24!!, bottle of wine at dinner no less than £28!!, extra thick duvet was extremely hot, swimming pool wasn't very warm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a rather sad stay at the hotel to attend my Mum's funeral nearby. Having stayed there several times in the last 18 months in order to visit Mum, we have got to know the hotel staff quite well. As soon as she knew the purpose of our visit, the hotel manager Lorna was on the phone to me to offer any assistance she could. During our stay, the staff were fantastic as ever and it was lovely to stay with people we knew rather than strangers. The whole team at the Lakeside Hotel are wonderful and it would be wrong to single any out for individual praise (well maybe Mr Wilson!). If you are looking for a lovely hotel with genuinely friendly staff, look no further. Thank you so much for looking after us this week - it made things a little bit easier at a difficult time.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#5 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
5.3 mi away
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.