We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, just brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeside Hotel to your Saves list
Lakeside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4 for 3
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant, just brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had seen the hotel on many visits to the Lakes and as a treat booked for wifes birthday, only staying on night as quite expensive and didnt know what standards to expect, oh what a fool, we wish we had gone the whole hog and stayed the full weekend.
From entering the hotel to leaving we were made to feel most welcome, the porter took our cases to the room, parked our car and was given a quick tour of the main areas, the pool looked great.
As soon as we unpacked in the very clean and spacious room it was down to the pool. Warm and relaxed, it was ours for over an hour, We were disapointed when others arrived!!
The meals, though expensive were well worth it, with quick and attentive staff, The blackcurrant souffle is a must, (take my word for it)
The weather was good and we sat on the lawn with a pot of coffee, at £9, thought it was over priced but we had around 6 cups out of it so really good value, A tea cozy however would not have gone amiss. A small pot would have sufficed.
The breakfast, Honestly, one of the best I have had, doesnt look a lot but I was full afterwards, full english with a choice of cerals, fruit or yoghurts either before or after, cannot fault it.
The staff were all good mannered and attentive.
Cannot fault in any way

So good we are planning on our next visit, which will be a full weekend, it will be worth it

Brilliant, just brilliant

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    195
    51
    17
    17
See reviews for
170
398
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We only had a snack in the restaurant with cappuccino and hot chocolates but were blown away by the service, surroundings and quality of fare. We shared a plate of a medley of fish - smoked salmon, smoked haddock, soused herring with wonderful salsa, rocket salad and potato salad. The hot chocolate was served as hot milk with a solid chunk of chocolate to melt into it with a hint of cinnamon. Yummy! A pile of assorted shortbreads came with the drinks. All utterly delicious as we gazed out over Lake Windermere from a tasteful sun room attached to the front of the hotel.
Can't wait to go back, try out dinner and maybe stay the night. The pool looks wonderful in the brochure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home after a lovely three day stay in this fabulous hotel. The view from our room (404) was stunning, looking over the lake.
From the moment we arrived to the time we departed we found everything to be first class, great service, cleanliness, great facilities and yummy food!
Last night we had a meal in the brasserie and I've got to say it was amazing, packed full of flavour, and looked fabulous too, the waitresses were very attentive too, all round we would highly recommend this hotel, big thank you for making our stay special x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Although we have seen this hotel numerous times we had never stayed. An impulse made us book as our favourite hotel - the swan was fully booked. Unsure what to expect as the hotel seems to be part of the car park at lakeside, we were delighted to be met by a very obliging door man who not only took our bags, parked the car but gave us a tour around the hotel ! First impressions were good. Large clean bedroom although we didn't get a view. Lunch in the conservatory was very good and the staff friendly and eager to please. We had dinner in the main Resterant , food was beatifully cooked and well presented. Staff again were friendly and polite. Breakfast was very tasty. We didn't try the pool , but it looked inviting.
A truly charming , very traditional hotel, we will be back !

Room Tip: A room over looking the lake would be ideal, ground floor rooms have access to patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had dinner here as a special treat and the whole evening was simply wonderful. The service, ambience and decor are fantastic but the star of the show is the food.
At £42 a head for a 3 course meal you expect it to be good and you are not dissappointed! My starter of pork belly with scallop was simply the best thing I have ever eaten, I can't comment on my wifes starter as she refused to share! Main course of Lamb to die for and a dessert of Rhubarb prepared 7 ways was incredible.
World class food that I doubt you could find anywhere else in the Windermere area, not cheap but then it is "high-end" dining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Freezing cold day and into the bar/restaurant for some heat and grub. Took a while to get service and there weren't many in the place. Eventually got our drinks and placed our order for 2 rounds of sandwiches and a portion of chips.

Took an endless amount of time for our order to arrive. If it were warmer we would have left and gone elsewhere.

Was it worth the wait? No. Definitely not! Sandwiches were dry and uninteresting and the chips had seen better days and everything was overpriced.

Staff were apologetic but the damage had been done. Perhaps they had a problem in the kitchen. Perhaps proper direction was needed but as we wont be going back.....we'll never know!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We just walked in for a bite and had an overall great experience. My starter (cheese souffles) was the best I've ever had. The mean course was fine (but I would have preferred another couple of the souffles!). Very nice kids menu, kids can create their own meal, selecting different ingredients! Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.