We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Power failure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeside Hotel to your Saves list
Lakeside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4 for 3
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Power failure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the delightful Lakeside Hotel, sitting on the edge of Lake Windemere. Excellent
service and room. Sadly at the end of our evening meal there was a power failure and the electricity never came on until 11 the next morning so our stay was somewht ruined. The hotel
staff managed as best as they could . Without having to complain the hotel have kindly offered
us a complimentary stay in the future.

Room Tip: Eak for lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    192
    51
    17
    17
See reviews for
170
396
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

For me, the two signs of a good hotel are if you return and how they react in adverse situations. Having just returned from our third visit and from talking to fellow guests the first is obviously ticked( one couple on the 23rd stay and other arrivals were obviously known to the staff).
We stayed in the country house which is attached to the far end of the hotel but reached by a corridor. A very comfortable room with a great view across the garden and lake to Gummers How.
All went well until the second day when it snowed and snowed and snowed. Stranded guests were collected by staff and the dining facilities were a little stretched but all well well until 10:30 pm when a complete power failure struck the area. Operation candle was immediately and smoothly executed and at least we had light and spirits! Power cut lasted until 11 am but bacon buttes were provided for breakfast from a barbecue across the road at the conference centre. Some of the morning staff could not reach the hotel for their normal shift and some had been stranded overnight but service was well maintained.
I cannot believe that a recent reviewer found the staff unfriendly - the level of service has to be one of the hotels strong points. Make the effort and say good morning with a smile.
To cap it all we received a phone call from the hotel tonight offering us a free overnight stay due the power failure so I will definitely be returning again!
My only criticism is that the room was slightly too hot - will turn the thermostat down a couple of degrees on the next visit.

Room Tip: A lake view is the best - avoid the courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were celebrating our friends 25th wedding anniversary with a short break, 3 couples. The hotel was extremely comfortable and welcoming and the food was excellent. We will most definitely be coming back in spring

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went to the Lakeside for my 60th Birthday a gift from my son. The location is fine and the Spa is good. In the room the sink was cracked and the walls are thin as we were kept awake by snoring from the next door room. Luckily we didn't include evening meals in our room price just breakfast. The scrambled eggs were overcooked hard and the toast was cold, I found the staff in the restaurant unfriendly and stiff except for the apprentice waitress who had a friendly smile. The menu in the restaurant in the evening is limited and overpriced, charging £22.00 for fish and chips hardly gourmet. We visited the local restaurants and found them to be of good value and friendly with atmosphere

Room Tip: Try finding a room that is sound proofed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just had silver wedding celebration absolutely perfect six friends with us also delighted with everything
Definitely stay again and reccomend
Excellence in every area would happily pay a premium to stay here, will be back very soon

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here during August and had lovely stay. Staff very helpful. Hotel Beautiful. Ideally located for access to the lake. Beautiful. Good pool and great gardens. Breakfast excellent. Good access to amenities and great walks locally. Afternoon tea was spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as part of a group at this hotel for the weekend.It has such a lovely location by the lake.The hotel and staff were very attentive and made us feel welcome.It was nice to be shown around on arrival.The only disappointment was the size of starter and main course meat/fish portions at evening meal which were minuscule and not value for money.Also there was very little vegetarian choice.The breakfast however was excellent and efficiently served and the desserts very good.Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.