We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house - free access to luxurious spa!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakes End Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lakes End Guest House to your Saves list
Lakes End Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Newby Bridge LA12 8ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Newby Bridge B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely guest house - free access to luxurious spa!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed one night at Lakes End Guest House, stopping off on a cycling tour of the Lakes. Room was clean and fresh and the bathroom was modern. Comfortable and cosy bed - which was much needed after a few days cycling. The use of the Swan Spa (across the bridge) was an excellent addition - free access to the pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi. Fabulous food and drink there too. The Huntsmans Inn was also good for food and drink (a little less pricey than the Swan). Breakfast was faultless at Lakes End, nice personal touches like homemade preserves that you could also buy! Great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I had been booked into a '4 star' Hotel halfway between here and Bowness, at more than twice the price, but had refused to stay because of the dreadful room I was offered. Unfortunately I was probably seduced by the swanky website and professionally touched photos of the lake views!! So I called at Lakes End when I saw the 'Vacancies' sign outside. What a pleasant surprise, a beautiful room, immaculately clean, nice big flat screen TV, and a lovely new en-suite shower room. And in the morning, a wonderful freshly cooked to order breakfast. Next time i'm in the South Lakes on business I know where i'll be heading. Many thanks.

Room Tip: I have no doubt that every room in this little gem will be lovely. I had the front room that faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

"A little tweaking required”

Reviewed 6 June 2010

I read all the reviews before deciding on this guest house for our stay and in answer to this review would like to offer an update
We have just stayed at this guest house for a couple of nights. The rooms are lovely, having been refurbished. They are all individual with modern colours & furnishings and beds are fantastically comfortable. They have superb showers and bathroom fittings and we spent a very comfortable couple of nights there.
The breakfasts are terrific and nothing is too much trouble
In spite of its being on an extremely busy main road the building is set back behind trees and an entrance driveway and we were completely unaware of the traffic and were undisturbed at night. Likewise, other members of our family who were situated at the opposite end of the building.
Obviously, as "A Little Tweaking Required" states, recommendation is personal but we would definitely stay again
I would say the only thing that could make this place better would be a lounge in which to spend the evening
Overall, very satisfied

Room Tip: Nothing to choose between them, all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here on route back from Scotland.

Took a chance as it was a last minute booking made on the Internet while on route so no chance to read any reviews.

We dropped on the host was welcoming and full of local info.

The Swan Inn across the road served excellent quality food as suggested by our host.

The rooms were very clean and the bed was super comfy (best nights sleep for weeks). The breakfast was scrumptious and set us up for the coming day.

Would highly recommend to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This is a very comfortable and clean Guest House.Breakfast is excellent and freshly prepared. The owner Frank is very friendly and obliging.
We would recommend this place without hesitation, it is ideally located as a base for the South Lakes.
We will return again to enjoy this quality accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at Lakes End for 3 nights to attend a Wedding at the nearby Lakeside Hotel (super spendy). Everything about our stay was about as good as you are going to get from a guest house. Our room was well furnished and clean with an excellent ensuite. The cooked breakfast was as good as any we have ever had. The owners were very pleasant and helpful and the rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The breakfasts are individually made, the biscuits, bread, and jams are homemade: this is one of the last remaining genuine family-run businesses around. We had to get used to a smaller bed than the one we have, but it was a double so my hubbie and I couldn't complain about that! Lovely location and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakes End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakes End Guest House

Address: Newby Bridge LA12 8ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakes End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakes End is a lovely old Westmorland stone country house set within beautiful terraced garden and woodland. We are located at the southern end of Lake Windermere near Country Inns and Restaurants ideally situated for Lake District and coastal attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Lakes End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakes End Guest House Newby Bridge, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakes End Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.