We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanity returns with this tranquil hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New House Farm
Save
You added New House Farm to your Saves list
Nr Cockermouth, Lorton CA13 9UU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL RATE FOR APRIL
Ranked #1 of 5 Lorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Billingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Sanity returns with this tranquil hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you need a break from the pressures of life, work or just want to get away from it all then this is the place. Greeted by roaring fires and a host who's smile lights up the grayest day it is a haven in a valley. The bedrooms are amazing as are the bathrooms with nice touches like bath robes for the hot tub in the extensive gardens and toiletries which are to say the least unique. A set three course meal of Potted Solway shrimp, a scrumptious lamb casserole with the lightest mash and fresh vegetables with a fluffy crumble to finish all washed down with a nice bottle of Pinot (taken into the lounge to finish off with freshly brewed coffee and mints in front of a roaring fire Ahhhh! I thought I was in heaven. No TV but a radio if you want it Never missed the TV at all The tea rooms are worth a visit as well with fresh cream scones and tea a must. Good walks in the area and if you overdo it the hot tub will refresh those aching muscles. Book early you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    23
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
322
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for a night in Mid October 2012 and were met by the 2 friendly dogs who are part and parcel of the set up. After that, it was tea and cream scones. The staff couldn't be any more helpful and the setting is magnificent. We enjoyed the hot tub later and the local pub for a meal that night. Overall the stay was excellent and will hope to go back again some time. Lake Buttermere is only a few miles away with some of the best views you will find in the Lake District.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Amazing no other words to describe this wonderful place.My husband and i stayed here in early october the views on our way there were fantastic and when we arrived the views impressed us even more. The rooms are gorgeous the bed sooooo comfy and the en suite bathroom was supereb we had a double shower but best of all was the hot tub laid looking up to the stars at 11pm at night in october was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have recently made a fourth visit to stay at New House Farm. Hazel is a brilliant hostess and always goes that extra mile to make everyone feel welcome. The rooms are excellent, we have stayed in The Old Dairy and The Stable Room so far and are due to go back in 4 weeks time where we are staying in Lowfell, but every room has its own special merits. My husband and I love to go walking with our labrador, and the great thing about New House Farm is that well behaved dogs are welcome in the rooms, and Meg, our labrador has even sat in the lounge with us in front of a wonderful, cosy fire...heaven! Would highly recommend it to anyone. Meryl Z.

Room Tip: All the rooms are warm, welcoming and beautifully done. I believe The Old Dairy is the largest, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for two nights (15/16th October 2012) in the old dairy room for my boyfriend's birthday.

He has never been to the lake district before, so I wanted to take him somewhere unique. New house farm is certainly that... with a big beautiful room including a four poster bed and a slipper bath, it felt like luxury.

The house itself is stunning, full of antiques and roaring firms which are lovely on a cold October day. The gardens surrounding the house are well kept and stunning, with lovely views of the hills.

There are a few pubs nearby (driving distance) namely the kirkstile inn which serves amazing food and local beers. Definitely worth a visit as you can even take local bottled beer including casks time with you.

The surrounding areas of cockermouth and buttermere are stunning, Keswick isn't too far away either. Even though we did have rain, we had an amazing time.

The hot tub in the garden is a massive bonus. We used this at 9pm at night (open 24 hours) sat sipping local beers. The sky was clear and full of stars (that you just don't get in Manchester). A night to remember... and as the water was so hot you don't feel the cold until you get out.

Hazel was very welcomming and the cream tea on arrival was superb. Lovely friendly dogs too :)

Thanks Hazel, we hope to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were warmly greeted not only by Hazel the proprietor, but also by the most welcome wood-burning stove on a chilly October afternoon. The atmosphere of New House Farm is lovely -beautiful furniture, paintings, and antiques can be found in every room, as well as, to our utter delight - wood burning stoves !
Our bedroom for the night was in the Old Dairy which was beautiful and luxurious, having a four poster bed and a slipper bath. Hazel even thought to leave hot water bottles for a chilly night, although the cast iron radiators throughout did a pretty good job.
We were served afternoon tea in the very relaxing lounge, the scones were the best ever, and everything was perfect, we were pinching ourselves for making such a fabulous choice!
Breakfast the next morning totally lived up to our expectations, and was served by a very attentive, but not intrusive Hazel.
Before leaving we took a walk around the beautiful garden and watched the horses being groomed in the stables, all of the staff were very friendly and were happy to answer questions about the stables and the location in general.
After many years of travelling we have wracked our brains to recall a place where everything exceeded our expectations and only New House comes to mind.
You could think this all sounds too good to be true, but really New House is that good - in fact it's perfect. Trip advisor needs more 'dots' to click because it's better than excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on the 6th oct 2012. On arrival we were instantly excited at how lovely everything looked, there were stables, a beautiful garden (complete with hot tub that Hazel will let you use at any time!), a lovely tea room with real log fire burning. It was just lovely, the perfect place for a romantic break. The tea room was lovely and cosy with great service by Aaron, not to mention the extensive selection of cakes available to chose from. All staff were welcoming and the dogs that live there are lovely and friendly and seemed to love a good belly rub next to the fire. There is a downstairs lounge area which is great for mingling with other guests (even if we were the youngest by a few generations :). ) There is a pub about a mile walk down the road called the Wheatsheaf which serves nice food but bring a torch as the walk is pitch black. Our room was called Whiteside and had an amazing jet bath. Gutted to only be staying for one night we did'nt want to leave. Anyone who thinks that this place is anything but excellent is probably the miserable type that doesn't like christmas. Thanks again Hazel we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Farm

Address: Nr Cockermouth, Lorton CA13 9UU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lorton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lorton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Lorton Valley this 17th-century former Farmhouse offers deluxe accommodation, hearty food and stunning views from every window. Polished antique furniture in every room together with the original exposed beams and flagged floors transport you back in time. Each bedroom is spacious and en-suite with luxurious beds, including two with hand carved oak Four Posters, roll top baths or double jacuzzi baths. The hot tub in the garden beckons at the end of a long days walk. Why not end the day with a bottle of champagne gazing at the stars - many do! We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New House Farm Lorton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New House Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.