We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Overwater Hall to your Saves list
Overwater Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shipley, West Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My husband. dog and I went for a last minute weekend as we wanted to take advantage of the rare British summer and we found this place on the internet; it also came with a very good review from Trip Advisor and with very good reason.

From the outset they were incredibly helpful (phone calls on the way up to ensure we wanted any dinner or extra beds), being met in the car park and managing to get us in to dinner on time (they stop dinner at 8.30pm and we turned up then still in shorts and a t shirt (there is a dress poilcy which really sets the tone)

The setting is wonderful and for anyone travelling with dogs it couldnt be better; there is a beautiful walk around the grounds where we saw dear, rabbits and sheep (dog was a little too interested in them so we didnt see them for long!) and everywhere you look you can see the rolling hills and countryside that make the lake district so wonderful.

As we were walking the following day they very helpfully lent us a map and a walking guide and when we returned there was a large drink served in the garden, a bucket of water for the dog and something to clean the peat bog off of her.

We ate in the restaurant both nights and mornings and there wasnt a thing we could fault. The service was tremendous without being overbearing, the food was wonderful with a great choice of local produce which partly changed each evening so we never felt we were eating "second choice" the next night. Breakfast was one of the nicest I have had in a restaurant (and we have had a fair few!) and again cooked impeccably.

We were in room 8 (one of their cheaper rooms I think?) but it was very large, had a lovely view (although a little overlooked but not really an issue) and the bathroom was very spacious. It was also next to fire exit so we didnt have to trapse the dog through the hotel to get her out for a walk.

The location is stunning though beware of some sat navs, as we followed the good old fashioned sign and ours said we were going the worng way! If you want to walk about and not see or hear other people or the modern world then stay here. If you want an array of pubs, restaurants and mobile service then I would stay closer to one of the towns nearby such as Keswick. We never wanted for anything here and were very sad to leave.

Absolutely wonderful romantic getaway that I would also love to take the family back to as well. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
267
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

An awesome getaway for the city-dwellers. Lake district is a beautiful place and staying at Overwater Hall makes the trip a perfect one.
The staffs were already expecting us at the door when we arrived. We were showed immediately to our rooms, no administrative check-in procedures or waiting. We were also brought to see a few rooms and given the choice to decide which room we like! All rooms are furnished in their unique ways and splendid. Food served at the restaurant was excellent - very delicious and satisfying.
Service was also personalised and great. On our second night, we went back to the hotel late after watching a play at the Theatre by the Lake and the restaurant was already closed. We were planning to settle for some biscuits in our room and to our surprise, the phone rang and we were asked if we would like some omelettes from the kitchen. Thanks for filling our stomach with warm yummy omelettes on a cold hungry and late night!
We were totally embraced in serenity here. It was quiet, peaceful and every morning we wake up to the sounds of nature. The hotel also has a trail to explore the forest/ garden where we caught a glimpse of the red squirrels.
Overall, the hotel gave us an unforgettable and lovely experience - will strongly recommend anyone to stay here. You won't regret it! :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stopped at Overwater Hall for the first time for a weekend break as a belated celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. The phrase "hidden gem" somes this place up, and unlike many hotels we have stopped at in the Lakes, it exceeded expectations on all counts. The owners have obviously invested a lot of TLC in this place and the food is of the very highest quality. This is definitely one place we will be planning to return to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

I chose this hotel as a surprise birthday present as it appeared to fit the bill, and it did so in every way. To arrive back after a full days walking in the mountains to this hotel with its deep baths, thick towels and robes and then wander down to sit in soft sofas with our dogs welcome to join us made us think we had stepped back in time. However it also comes with all modern conveniences as well. The food is modern, generous and really well cooked and presented. It hits the spot every time. A superb chef using great local ingredients.
If you are looking for an hotel away from the crowds then this hits the spot. For some this may be too far away from the action of the central lakes, but for us this was all part of the attraction.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

If you want to have some time as a couple to relax in lovely surroundings both inside and out yet feel at home with excellant food at very civil meal times, friendly staff who never intrude on your time but are always on hand to help, this is the place for you. It is was worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tockholes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

My Husband & I visited the hotel for our Wedding Anniversary. The hotel, rooms, staff and food was wonderful. We will certainley return next year. The food was the best I've tasted in a long time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We live only a few miles away and had never heard of the place until recently. We had dinner there and were very impressed. The food, as many have said, is first rate and the staff are helpful and charming. We could not fault it and will return soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overwater Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.