We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwater in winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Overwater Hall to your Saves list
Overwater Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overwater in winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent 2 nights in late January at Overwater for a short R&R. It achieved what we needed with a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, very nice room, DVD television, and super food. We evn saw a red squirrel and the cat, but not at the same time or place. Relaxed in the sitting room with a good fire for a large part of the day. Unobtrusive service on hand whenever it was required.

Room Tip: .worth paying a little more for a superior room at least in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
267
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have visited Overwater on a number of occasions & always really enjoy our stay. It's a bit of a backwater, away from the main centres & most popular walks but having said that we always find walks to do & often don't see anyone else. The hotel is very comfortable & the staff attentive, without being fussy. The rooms are well appointed & have some lovely extras, such as good quality toiletries, cafetiere coffee, fluffy towels & bathrobes & fresh fruit & flowers in all rooms. Recently we had a back room but we had a lovely view of red squirrels running backwards & forwards from the feeders. The food cannot be faulted - well cooked & plenty of choice. When the plates are presented they look like a work of art! The evening meal isn't cheap but is very special & we wouldn't dream of staying without taking the evening meal option. The public rooms are very comfortable too & Stephen & Angela are always happy to make a pot of tea when returning from a walk or a trip out. The bar is well stocked too if a cold drink is preferable.
The recent visit was even more special as we celebrated a friends 60th birthday & Stephen, Angela & chef Adrian pulled out the stops for us all. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is ideal for guests with limited mobility & the Turret Rooms are huge with four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Really like the place and the area and it did feel a bit like staying at someones house. The weekend weather was generally lousy but we managed to get two walks in - it's a quiet but lovely part of the Lakes. Thought the food was great and the hotel was what I hoped it would be when we booked. Also we were offered a free upgrade as we arrived

2 very minor quibbles

would have like the same lovely bread we got for dinner for breakfast as well rather than the standard white we got

Shower never really very warm - but minor gripes and loved it and given we never mentioned the shower no one had the opportunity to put it right

Room Tip: cant remember which room we had but it was fine - bathroom was enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A pleasant stay but wouldn't rush back - the room was nice (I think we only had a basic room), a bit tired in places but some nice touches - complimentary homemade shortbread and liqueur in the room. For breakfast my boyfriend ordered the full English which arrived huge and apparently very good, I ordered poached eggs and smoked salmon and the smallest plate of food appeared - was just a bit disappointing especially compared to the full English!

Room Tip: Upgrade the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We've been several times to Overwater Hall, quite simply because it's our 'haven of tranquility', our 'bolt hole'. My first review described the Hotel, staff and food as perfect, how do you improve on perfect? I don't know how they do it but each time the service, food and general ambience gets better and better, it must be 'uber-perfect' by now!
We were lucky enough to stay for 6 nights over Christmas, the Hotel is always spotlessly clean, the welcome and service from all members of the team friendly and impeccable and the food, well, sublime! We've dined in Michelin starred restaurants and the food that Adrian and his team produce not only equals but surpasses some of our Michelin dining experiences. It's the little touches that make the difference, like the small, real Christmas trees in each of the bedrooms, as well as the usual home-made shortbread and fruit liqueur, gorgeous!
Unfortunately, the weather wasn't good during our stay, culminating in gale force winds on Boxing Day and a subsequent power failure in the region during the evening. Angela, Stephen, Adrian and the team rallied round and a huge supply of candles appeared from nowhere. Fortunately, they have a generator to power the pump for the heating / hot water and they cook by gas, so apart from the lack of lighting, it was business as usual and what a great job they made of these rare and adverse circumstances! It really demonstrated their huge commitment to customer care. For us, having a pot of tea in front of a roaring log fire, by candlelight, was a wonderful and atmospheric experience that we'll never forget.
We love Overwater Hall and can't wait to return soon. Thanks everyone for your hard work, dedication and commitment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Scottish Borders
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have revisited Overwater for the n'th time. I have to admit I find it difficult to add to my previous reviews. This hotel is world class.

The meals are quite incredible - beautifully prepared and presented. Every course is a work of art on a plate but not (like many places) in any way over-the-top or pretentious.

The hotel is dog friendly, but if you don't like dogs (and we really don't) don't be put off. Dogs are allowed in the hallway and the bedrooms but not in the lounge and (obviously) not in the restaurant. But (I hear you say) the bedrooms must smell of dog. They don't!! No I don't know how they do it either but somehow they manage it.

Every single one of the staff from the owners Adrian, Angela and Stephen and their assistant Luke, to the waitresses and the cleaning lady are so caring, helpful and friendly and knowledgeable that you simply cannot help but enjoy your stay.

The wildlife in the garden is a bonus. Red squirrels (now quite rare in the UK), loads of great tits, coal tits and blue tits as well as nuthatches are everywhere. If you are very lucky you will also see the resident deer and badgers.

Please don't go to Overwater - just leave more room for us!!

It is simply fantastic!

Room Tip: We really like the turret rooms 3 & 6 and the Garden Room but there are no inferior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place this is, the food is the best we have ever had in this country. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners or staff. Great selection of traditional and seasonal cocktails. We love this place and travel over 3 hours to get there but it's worth it. Its such a relaxing break it's really worth a visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overwater Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.