We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undiscovered Restaurant Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Overwater Hall to your Saves list
Overwater Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Undiscovered Restaurant Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The recent list of the best restaurants has prompted me to review the most excellent dinner we recently had at this hotel. the surroundings are elegant, the staff charming and attentive and the food superb. The husband and wife team who run Overwater can be justly proud of their creation.
We have not stayed here so can only comment on the food experience. The four course dinner with coffee and petits fours is excellent value. There is a wide choice, I had Lobster Thermidore, and the plates are beautifully presented with a good, not skimped, sufficiency of food. Your personal whims about dishes are politely catered for and no comment or fuss made. All in all a great experience which should not be missed on a visit to the north Lakes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    17
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
253
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed for the first time for one night only on 24 October but would have stayed longer had we known what welcome awaited us! Having stayed in many hotels throughout the UK over many years we have to rate this as the best one - the welcome we received, the hospitality throughout our stay, and the food. All aspects of our stay were superb and we extend our thanks to Stephen and his team for making our stay a memorable one. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We’ve stayed and dined at Overwater for over twenty years now and it never fails to disappoint. Over the years we’ve watched as Overwater has become the benchmark for all other hotels to aspire to. Much has been written on this site about the exquisite food, the impeccable service, the stunning location and I would thoroughly echo all those comments. But the one thing that sets this hotel apart from the others is the feeling that you, the guest are special and that your overall experience is the staff’s top priority. This is how a country house hotel should be run! All the staff are equally deserving of praise. They all have a smile for you and address you by name as they pass you on the stairs or call you to the dining room for dinner. Overwater feels like a happy place to work and this positive atmosphere feeds through to the guests. It’ s a credit to the management skills of the enthusiastic owners, who are constantly on hand to ensure that guest’s needs are met with discreet efficiency. A visit to Overwater is always a wonderful and memorable experience. Here’s to the next twenty years at this very special hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, but room 3 have Red squirrels climbing the tree outside the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just back from four nights at Overwater Hall with my elderly mother. We occupied the ground floor garden room which meant she didn't have to contend with the stairs. I did wonder if it would be too quiet for her as she lives alone but we both had a lovely time; as she said it was lovely to be able to sit and read a book in the morning without feeling guilty. We also enjoyed watching the red squirrels and the nuthatches and woodpecker at the feeders.
The food was beautifully prepared and served and the service unobtrusive. It's the little things which make a big difference; Stephen, the co-owner, noticing that we had returned from a trip out and coming to open the second half of the front door to enable my mother to enter more easily.
I'm looking forward to a return visit with my husband to try out some of the local walks. Thank you for creating such a rural idyll.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently had an absolutely wonderful weekend at Overwater Hall. It was chosen partly because of its extensive grounds as we had young children with us. The rooms were lovely and the food was excellent (one of the best!) but what made it special as far as I was concerned was the friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the front and the garden room are lovely - very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in August of 2013, and loved every moment. Our room was on the ground floor and just beautiful. A door leads to a small porch with bird feeder and I spent quite a bit of time bird and red-squirrel watching, and with the views of the mountains beyond, it was idyllic. The en-suite bathroom was large and well appointed. The food is just amazing - we stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every mouthful! The staff were so wonderful and helpful. Can't say enough nice things about this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The ground floor garden room is just lovely and perfect for those with stair issues. Enjoy the bird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have been visiting Overwater ( with our dogs ) for more than ten years. It continues to be our favourite hotel anywhere . The owners and staff are welcoming, professional, and friendly. Over the years, the levels of comfort have continued to improve, and the food - mostly organic and locally sourced - gets better and better.
On a recent mid week visit, the grounds were magnificent in their autumn colours, Stephen and Angela were as usual impeccable front of house, and Adrian took time out of the kitchen to show off his two beautiful Labradors. Food highlights included a perfect fillet steak, and a fantastic trio of game. Overwater remains a magical place to visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Overwater Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overwater Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.