We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Overwater Hall to your Saves list
Overwater Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have been going to Overwater Hall annually for the last six years and cannot fault it. From the minute you arrive you are made to feel so special. Adrian, Angela and Stephen (and Luke) work so very hard to make your entire stay absolutely perfect. This year we took my parents as it was their Golden Wedding Anniversary. My mother struggles with stairs so we let them have our usual room (The Garden Room which is on the ground floor) and we were given Room 6 - a beautiful four poster room with wonderful views and a lovely bathroom. The special touches in all the bedrooms make it so special - homemade shortbread, a homemade liqueur as a nightcap, fresh fruit, bathrobes and Soames & Gilchrest toiletries. Prior to our visit I asked if flowers could be arranged for my parents together with a cake. Both were arranged without any fuss - the cake was decorated beautifully and tasted delicious. The food at Overwater takes some beating. Adrian deserves a Michelin star for his amazing food - lots of long walks are needed to be able to cope with the quantity of food but its definitely worth it. We normally (although not this time) take our two spaniels who are greeted like long lost friends - I've yet to come across a hotel that is as dog friendly as Overwater Hall! I would like to personally thank Adrian for finding my diamond earring which got lost down the side of the sofa on our first night. He went to great efforts to find it and contacted me after we left to say he had found it and would post it to me. I can't thank him enough for this - I can't imagine any other hotel making such an effort (he had to take the base off the sofa to find it!). Finally, we tried to book The Garden Room for our anniversary in November next year to sadly find it already booked - a testimonial to how good the hotel is and how people book so far in advance to guarantee the room they want. We have now reserved the room for 2014! The only downside to writing a glowing review is that our hidden gem will soon become so popular we won't get in!

Room Tip: If you have dogs the Garden Room on the ground floor is perfect - it has it's own tiny balcony t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
267
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is a gem. We spend a lot of our time in nearby Uldale so Overwater Hall is very close. We have been very impressed with the beautiful, creative yet classic style of the restaurant. You are greeted by name as you arrive and nothing is too much trouble. We would always recommend Overwater Hall! Looking forward to visiting in 2013!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Overwater Hall never disappoints, the service, rooms, location and the food... Oh the food, just spectacular. The a la carte choices are all locally sourced and without exception beautifully prepared. Together with a great wine list you will not be disappointed. We have stayed in rooms 3 and 6 and both have fabulous views. Can't wait to go back Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

From the moment we stepped out of our car we were looked after by Stephen, Angela and Adrian. On arrival we had a bottle of champagne on ice on the lawns overlooking the beautiful gardens.
The entire house has an old charm about it retaining period features whilst having all the amenities anyone could need. Wi fi in the bedrooms and no phone signal was a blessing.
Breakfast was fresh and lots to choose from, dinner of a five star service in an intimate setting. The staff were aware we were on honeymoon and gave us a window seat on the first night.
After returning from our long walks Stephen greeted us with cold water and beers, just what we needed it was 30 degress!
The gardens of the manor house were delightful. overlooking fields for miles, little rivers running through the woodland. Each morning we woke to red squirels climbing trees outside our bedroom window and the sounds of sheep and birds.
On returning home a letter was awaiting us wishing us well for our married lives together and asked how the rest of our honeymoon in had been.
Simply stunning, we cannot wait to return for another break on our anniversary. One couple we met have been going every year since there honeymoon over 30 years ago.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights; we booked after reading other's reviews and we were not disappointed. it is a charming hotel, elegant, beautifully appointed, super public rooms downstairs and a great bedroom upstairs. We didnt have dinner in but breakfast was excellent, limited choice but well presented and nicely cooked. It is well worth taking a walk round the grounds - the gardens are lovely! Its not cheap to stay but its not often you find such a nice hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Overwater a number of years ago and returned in March this year. We had such a special time, that we rebooked and stayed again in September for yet another 4 nights indulgence. The food is totally masterchef quality so 4 nights is absolute maximum!

This hotel has its own charm and character with guests who return year on year. It has that personal touch which larger hotels cannot offer. Dinner is so relaxing with no mobile phone signal.

It is totally dog friendly and set in lovely grounds to explore and see the deer or red squirrels.

Stephen, Angela and Adrian are so proud of their hotel and quite rightly so.

Room Tip: The turret rooms are special with 4 huge windows. Some rooms have a separate sitting area but all ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a fabulous stay at this hotel at a friends wedding. The staff were most attentive without being intrusive. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. Food was delicious and service brilliant. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overwater Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.