We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Overwater Hall to your Saves list
Overwater Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This restaurant has without a doubt the best service of any place I have eaten at (and that includes a couple of Michelin starred places) - polite, discreet, attentive but not invasive. The wine list contains a good selection at reasonable prices and the decor and surroundings are grand and fitting of the situation. The food was for me exceptional, however my wife who is a little more fussy struggled to find things she really wanted on a menu filled with game and delicacies such as foie gras and things such as oxtail. Her loss, but a warning to the less open minded! Having chosen food it was also worth noting that then betroot tarte tatin that accompanied her main course was a little over powering. All these things are of course trifles...of which there were none on the dessert menu which totally outclassed the savoury courses in being truly outstanding and without fault. They were also so beautiful I should have photographed them but lack of any camera prevented this from happening.
All in all a great night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
267
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

As soon as I booked I was contacted by a manager with very helpful advice. Nothing was too much trouble. Country house decor (no duvets) superb bathroom. Good food. Red squirrels and red deer on tap. The room (although smaller than most) was still plenty big enough with views of the grounds and a spacious bathroom. Only criticism was the picture in the dining room which was not to my taste and out of keeping with the decor. Also I was so full after the five course meal I had to go straight to bed to sleep it off.. wonderful. The sun shone all the time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The worst thing about Overwater Hall is finding it. It is down several country lanes, and Sat Nav fails you completely. And when you get there, there is no mobile phone reception.

Everything else about this hotel is however quite superb. The welcome is warm and genuine, the rooms are elegant and extremely comfortable, and the food fully deserves all the many accolades it has received. The staff are very helpful indeed and nothing is too much trouble.

And the garden has red squirrels in it to complete the enjoyment of the visit!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is on the ground floor, so good for those who don't like stairs, and it has a wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

In summary: a lovely hotel with fantastic rooms and attentive service. Absolutely fantastic food, easily on a par with any other top restaurant I can think of. No, really. Beautiful location, just be prepared for that Cumbrian weather ;-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at Overwater Hall many times and I have loved every single moment I have spent there. The hotel is gorgeous, the grounds are beautiful, the food is exquisite and the staff are delightful. It is very remote and provides the perfect retreat from city life. I cannot praise this wonderful hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a lovely hotel in such a peaceful and relaxing location. Service was fantastic - probably some of the best we have ever had, right from arriving, through dinner and right up until we left. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was so slick - Steve and his staff were all thoroughly attentive without being overbearing. The food at this hotel is out of this world - you really should eat here in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My (now) wife and I decided we wanted to elope to Gretna Green. The challenge was to find a location within an hour of the Scottish border to have a lovely long weekend and return to as a married couple. After considering a few hotels we decided that the overwater looked like the business.

We arrived late on a Friday to a warm welcome and offer of help with our luggage. We stayed in the garden room, the only bedroom on the ground floor, it is a sort of mini suite and we loved the room. On saturday we enjoyed a beautiful full Cumbrian breakfast that rates as the highest quality full breakfast I have ever had. The black pudding is amazing! The poached eggs - perfection. We went off to Gretna, got married and came back. The welcome was lovely but not too in your face. I had requested Champagne in our room and it was there, and for the house Champagne it was delightful, and very reasonably priced.

The food is to die for, absolutely fantastic. We have eaten some amazing meals in our time and this was up there with meals I've had in Paris, New York and London. Real fine dining but without pretension. It was some of the best food we've eaten.

This was obviously a very special weekend for us, and we just wanted a friendly, suave place to enjoy our first few days as a married couple. We got it, completely. We will recommend this place to friends and family for years to come and definitely return for future anniversaries.

Friendly, top class hotel.

I hope you decide to book and enjoy.

Rob and Gabby

Room Tip: The garden room has it's own outside terrace and a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overwater Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.