We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gosforth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday
Save
You added Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday to your Saves list
Wasdale Rd, Gosforth CA20 1ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Gosforth B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three days for my mothers 50th and had such a nice time. The family is lovely and the service was brilliant. My parents stayed in the Yurt and it looked awesome!! Would highly recommend it to anyone who visits the Lake District.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Rainors Farm was recommended to us by my daughter who enjoys hillwalking in The Lakes. She was very impressed with her yurt holiday and thought we would love the unspoilt beauty of the surrounding area and the appeal of Rainors.
How right she was! we loved the rustic farmhouse and were allocated a room with en suite overlooking the farmyard and hills beyond.Original features had been preserved and traditional furnishings all added to the character of the Farmhouse.
Next morning we were treated to a lovely English breakfast, including freshly laid eggs and locally made sausages. Other guests staying in the yurts joined us for breakfast in the large kitchen as they have the option of a Bed and Breakfast board basis.
Afterwards accompanied by the hens we looked around the other accommodation Rainors offers and were very impressed with the holiday cottage and yurts.
The scenery around Wasdale is spectacular; single track roads with passing places at the foot of the mountains, ideal for hillwalkers and those who want to be off the beaten track.We had fantastic weather in August so could see the peak of every hill!
The Screes at Netherwasdale was our venue for our evening meal. The food was fairly good ...huge portions and my husband tried a pint of the local brew.
The Hardnott and Wrynose passes are a must, but be warned they are not for the faint hearted, but you are rewarded with amazing views! stop off for a coffee or maybe something stronger at The Hardnott Inn on the way up.
We absolutely loved the warm welcome and unspoilt character of Rainors Farm nestled in one of the most beautiful parts of Britain.

Room Tip: Recommend the ensuite room at front of house, amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just home from a long weekend in the "Yurt by the paddock".
Its a long drive for us up from Surrey (apx 6hrs from Guildford) but the view and the welcome were worth it.
Despite no doubt being asked the same question hundreds of times by the many guests over and again, John & Debbie always made you feel like it was a pleasure to help you.
The yurt itself is warm and cosy (great log burner) and very comfortable. Basic cutlery/bbq equipment is available as well as drinks glasses. If you plan to self cater, and cook, you should manage fine without having to bring too much with you, although bare in mind the fridge is a 5minute round trip.
There is little to no mobile signal in the area. Personally this was great for us - enforced relaxation.
There are some lovely pubs and restaurants nearby. As well as great ale and fresh local home cooked food in the pubs you'd expect from the area, John's sisters place "Wild Olive" in Gosforth is a modern Italian with some great fresh pizza's should you fancy a change.
You can book a taxi when you arrive at the pub/restaurant (despite the area's remoteness, dont be tempted to drive after one or two drinks - police patrol the pub routes regularly) and if you ask nicely John will run you back to your car in the morning.
Breakfasts at the farm were splendid, and set you up for a good days hiking. Going up Scarfell is a must do, but this is also a great base for vists to Seascale beach, and we highly recommend the outstanding Hard Knott pass to Coniston.
We went late September and we had one dry day (and did Scarfell on that day), but doing the Hard Knott pass when the rain is falling, the wind whistling, the waterfalls gushing and the rivers high was arguably more beatuful than any sunny dry day.
We popped to the South Lakes wild animal park late on which was empty due to the weather and made for a great afternoon out depsite the rain.
If you're looking for something different, long for the fresh outdoor air, quiet and fantastic views which sometimes make you question whether you really are still in England... then check out a Yurt at Rainors farm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here in July. Very nice staff. A great location if you intend to walk in the Wasdale valley Scafell Pike etc. The chickens are very entertaining, you'll know what I mean when you get there!

We stayed in the suite (not the main B&B) which was very private and felt like you were not attached to anybody. We are a couple with a 14 Year old son and had a couple join us for an evening, more than enough room. We will be staying here on our next walking holiday in the area.

The Yurts look great for a couples weekend retreat.

The suit

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A wonderful first getaway with our 10 month old Joshua....my parents joined us too! Debbie made us feel welcome immediately and did everything she could to make us feel at home. The b&b rooms are a good size and the views just priceless. Breakfast was delicious and again service with a smile......(best service I've had in a long time and I've done some traveling) x Ideal location for walks and close to Gosforth Village where we enjoyed meals and had a look around the gift shops etc

We will definitely return to Rainors Farm and hope to take my grandparents and brother's family x Between us we'd like to experience the cottage which we were shown around and one of the Yurts! x

Thank you for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We enjoyed two comfortable nights in the B&B rooms with lovely big beds and showers and good wholesome breakfasts! The rooms have all the mod con's you need whilst the character of the house has been retained. The flooding prevented us climbing Scafell Pike so a return visit is definitely on the cards!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent one night here in both B&B rooms and had a lovely stay.

Only downside was that neither room has a bath, just huge showers and mattress little too firm for me but others slept fine.

Very close to Wastwater and Scar Fell Pike

Room Tip: Others staying in the Yurts said they were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday

Address: Wasdale Rd, Gosforth CA20 1ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Gosforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gosforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rainors Farm Bed And Breakfast And Wasdale Yurt Holiday
Rainors Farm b&b And Wasdale Yurt Holiday Hotel Gosforth
Rainors Farm B&B And Wasdale Yurt Holiday Gosforth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainors Farm B&B and Wasdale Yurt Holiday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.