We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - A perfect bank holiday weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seascale Cumbria, CA20 1HP a595, Gosforth CA20 1HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosforth
Norwich
1 review
“Fantastic - A perfect bank holiday weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

My partner and I (both 21) had the most wonderful stay in this hotel. We both decided we needed a relaxing weekend away together in the Lake District after finishing a stressful year at uni and, after trawling the web for ages, we came across this perfect hotel - it was fantastic! Friendly, comfortable, relaxing, excellent range of lovely food and wine, delicious breakfasts, brilliant staff, beautiful room and location ... the list is endless! The owners are fantastic - very helpful, warm and just lovely people. They even had a cup of tea (and a brandy!) waiting for me after I had been involved in a small car accident on my way there (it wasn't my fault!), helping to ensure it didn't affect our holiday! I honestly can't recommend this enough, whatever your reason for staying here. We will most certianly be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
crowborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We recently stayed at the Westlakes which made our visit to visit my family even more memorable. .Debbie and Geoff and their superb staff could not have been more helpful in ensuring that both we and our guests on the last night (enjoying a superb dinner !)enjoyed our stay .I would not hesitate to recommend Westlakes Hotel to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Easy to find - I received a warm welcome from the owners using my first name, with a refreshing lack of form-filling and card-swiping. Well decorated room with good bed, shower & flat-screen TV. Friendly, well stocked Bar (great selection of Whiskies) and beautiful countryside to enjoy a drink in. Food was FIRST CLASS - smoked haddock risotto for dinner was perfect, and their excellent Full English breakfast included two really good sausages, thick rashers of bacon, egg, black pudding, beans, mushrooms, fried bread and tomato - next time I'll try the porridge with Drambuie!

All in all a lovely break from the bland, faceless hotel chains, and I will definately be returning as soon as I can! WELL DONE!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Beautiful country house hotel with lovely bar and dining room. The room itself was kitted out with the biggest bed in England, and the staff and management were excellent.

BUT - who the chuff tiled and fitted the en suite? I didn't know you could tile in so many directions - in, ou, up, down, left, right, and then grout and mastic with a blindfold on!!

Smashing place but you need to sort details out like that in a competative market.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

A really nice comfortable place to stay with a very warm welcome and their "Full Cumbrian" is one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Comfortable beds and very good value. I would stay there again and hope to one day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

A jewel in the West Cumbrian wilderness. We arranged to meet up with friends for a night out and chose Westlakes as much for it's convenience as its tranquility. We were more than pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome we received from the owners Debra and Geoff. The hotel was warm and our room was very well appointed with a large en suite bathroom. We made our way to the guest lounge that houses a well stocked bar and enjoyed a drink sat by a roaring log fire with a good selection of music playing softly in the background. As we had booked in for dinner we were introduced to the chef, Rob who explained about the local produce available that evening. The meal was superb and the wine list comprehensive but not expensive.
After a good nights sleep and a wholesome breakfast we strolled round the gardens to knock a cobweb or two away and admired the proprerty that we had failed to see in the dark the night before. It is a lovely old building with a character that defies the blend of traditional and modern comforts that lie within.
All in all we had a very enjoyable evening and are planning to return soon. I urge you all to sample this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Just returned from a one-night stay at The Westlakes Hotel and what a lovely stay it was! A large-ish country house type of place, we were greeted at the door by the owner and shown to our room on the third (top) floor. It was contemporary and inviting with the most fantastic view of the mountains. A double bed with a range of ikea furniture, and modern shower room - it was obviously newly refurbished.
We had a drink in the bar with the owners prior to our evening meal in the restaurant which was very good, served by a very jolly waitress!
The breakfast was a choice of cereals, toast, and a country breakfast, or selection according to preference. We had poached eggs on toast - with fantastic eggs from a local farm (we went & bought some on the way home they were that good!)
The situation of the hotel was on a fairly busy crossroads but no traffic noise could be heard with the windows closed.
The public areas did look a bit tired but the friendliness of all the staff, the fine room, good food and view to appreciate more than made up for it.
As my husband described the hotel - "the place has got soul!"

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Only a double bed!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Seascale Cumbria, CA20 1HP a595, Gosforth CA20 1HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Gosforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gosforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlakes Hotel Gosforth
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant Gosforth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.