We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Westlakes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seascale Cumbria, CA20 1HP a595, Gosforth CA20 1HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Gosforth
Manchester uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay at Westlakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We arrived on Friday evening to a warm welcome, advice on local restaurants and the good news that we had been upgraded to the four poster room as we were the only people staying that weekend.
Our stay could not have been better, Debra is an excellent host and all the staff are friendly and incredibly hard working.
Breakfast both mornings was perfect and we ate in the restaurant on the Saturday where the food was great, with a varied choice, and the atmosphere was made all the merrier with a large group booking in the main room.
The house is absolutely beautiful and not too disimilar to Lady Violet's in Downton. The inside is decorated to an exceptional level and very clean! The owners clearly love this house.
If you want a cosy night in, there are a vast number of DVDs in the collection to borrow.
We loved our stay and will be back!

Room Tip: The four poster room is amazing, including the bathroom with a beautiful roll top bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
23
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I brought an American colleague to this hotel and we were looked after extremely well. The room was spacious and well equipped and the bed was magnificent. The food was as good as I have experienced in any restaurant in the world. They even coped with my annoying food intolerances with a minimum of fuss. The staff made us feel wanted and cared for - what more could one ask? Please don't go there, I don't want it to be full next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

just got back from a nites stay with friends at the westlakes,geoff and debs were the perfect hosts,warm friendly hotel in beautiful grounds and the views from the bedrooms are fantastic.the restaurant is lovely and the food has to be some of the best we have had and we like to it at good restaurants.geoff and debs seen to all our needs.highly recommend this hotel therooms are all different and beautfully decorated our bed was so comfy we struggled to get up for breakfast but thank god we did as breakfast was fab .will defo go back to stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room no 3 and had a roll top bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Our family visits gosforth every year in november to remember my nana and grandad who lived there. We stayed the weekend of my grandads funeral 2 years ago and both geoff and debra were the perfect hosts. They catered to our every need and debra even offered a shoulder to cry on. Just got back to leeds today feeling relaxed and refreshed after yet another lovely weekend. Always feel like we have been staying with family when we stay there as nothing is too much trouble for geoff and debra. Highly reccommend the westlakes to anyone who rads this review. Thanks again guys see u next year :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, Cumbria, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My Daughter and her Husband decided on the Westlakes for their wedding breakfast and evening reception. The Hotel owners, Debbie and Geoff (both excellent throughout), worked with them from beginning to end to get every detail exactly how they wanted it.

The Hotel was for the exclusive use of the wedding guests and I believe that the Hotel even prefers to not take bookings the night before if possible - to allow them to prepare the Hotel.

The staff were friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed the night and the room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. Lovely views over the gardens and beyond. The Hotel is very tastefully decorated throughout and the grounds are pleasant to stroll around.

The food at the wedding was excellent - drinks were reasonably priced.

Our breakfast was very good, quick out of the kitchen and good quality local meat on the 'full english'.

Whether you are looking to stay in the area or as a potential wedding venue - definitely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a look at most rooms when we first considered this Hotel as a wedding venue and they were all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a great stay at Westlakes and were made to feel very welcome by Geoff & Debra.
We had a great comfortable double room with lovely views over the open countryside and our breakfast was superb.
We will be back in the area again soon and would not think of staying anywhere else.
Would highly recommend staying at Westlakes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

For the price we paid I wasnt expecting much.

Arrived late (later than planned after getting lost in the mountains) and we're welcomed by Geoff, the owner, who offered a much needed glass of wine and we were instantly made to feel totally at home.

Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with good views. Breakfast was good, and dinner was really reasonably priced and delicious with plenty of choice.

Would deffinately recommend this hotel, just make sure you follow their directions on the website!!

Would return - great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Seascale Cumbria, CA20 1HP a595, Gosforth CA20 1HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Gosforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Gosforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlakes Hotel Gosforth
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant Gosforth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.