We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor bar service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brook House Inn and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brook House Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Boot, Eskdale CA191TG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
North East, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good food, poor bar service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stopped here for lunch after a trip to Dalegarth on the train. Ordered food at the bar and was most disappointed at what could be best described as poor service by an elderly member of the bar staff. She seemed dissatisfied that we decided to eat outside and once we had paid dismissed is twice saying "You can go now" in quite a surly manner,

She could learn a lot from the young girl who brought us the food to our table. She was very friendly and full of smiles. The food (just sandwiches) was well presented and tasted lovely, although a touch on the expensive side.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    29
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
63
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a great place to stay . You are greated by very welcoming staff who looked after us with a smile all weekend. The food was fantastic and the local beers enjoyable after a day walking. The bar and Restuarant have a nice choice of wines and if you like whiskey you are in heaven.
The only down side and the reason I did not give it a deserved 5 was the temperamental plumbing in our room . That said it did not take away from a very enjoyable weekend.
Recommend eating in the bar for a relaxing fun night and the Restuarant if you want it to feel a bit more special , either way you will eat well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
785 reviews 785 reviews
226 hotel reviews
Reviews in 278 cities Reviews in 278 cities
494 helpful votes 494 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is one of the best places we have stayed in for a long time.

We had a wonderful and friendly welcome and got lots of advice about local walks we could do. Every staff member we came into contact with was fantastic.

Our room was perfect, bright, warm, a good size, nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, flat screen TV if we wanted it, and a comfortable bed (which was firm but then I'd much rather a firm bed than one that was too soft). We had tea and coffee making facilities in our room with some biscuits. Shower was hot whenever we wanted one and we also had a bath to soak in after a long walk in the countryside - we were very sore the next day! We had a great view from our room overlooking the fields.

Breakfast was superb. There was a breakfast menu and the food was cooked fresh from the kitchen. There was also a selection of cereals, fruit salad, toast and a choice of fruit juice and jams. High quality ingredients too.

The bar downstairs was fantastic. We had a room just above the bar but sound proofing was amazing - we couldn't hear anything despite going to bed before the pub closed on both nights.

Locations is fantastic. Very picturesque and within walking distance of a other 3 nice pubs if you wanted to walk to them or fancies eating or drinking somewhere else for a bit.

We had dinner both nights and the food was superb definitely the best we had on our trip.

Pack lunches are available to buy if ordered the night before. We ordered a couple and were glad that we did the cake slices were especially good.

Would definitely recommend and am looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the Brook House Inn and can't imagine a better Inn in the heart of the West Lakes area to enjoy all the natural beauty, hearty, fresh food and wonderful ales of Cumbria. The owners and staff make you feel as if you are part of the family and will do everything possible to meet all of your needs. Rooms are simple, but have all you need plus stunning views of the fells. There is always a menu board with the freshest offerings from the chef and the mussels are to die for. And there are always 5 to 7 real Cumbrian Ales on tap,, plus a huge collections of whiskeys to satisfy the most demanding guest. All and all, a great place which we will definitely return to on our next trip.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egremont, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Being extremely competent myself in the kitchen I enjoy eating in places that make food either equal or better than mine, I've got to say the meal I enjoyed (very much indeed) yesterday was absolutely outstanding!!!! Extremely friendly and helpful staff, lovely atmosphere and the cumberland sausage I had was the best I've had for some years (and I'm very particular with my cumberland sausage)!! 3 of us, a small child and a (fussy) vegetarian visited after a lovely walk in need of a cold refreshment (or two) and a good meal. The bar staff were very informative and helpful about the beers and ciders they had and made excellent suggestions. The cumberland sausage came with mash but I asked if I could have chips instead 'no problem'. We all cleared our plates (even my fussy toddler that doesn't eat or like chips)! My vegetarian friend commented that she finds it hard to eat out due to lack of choice and non-appetising meals, as a meat eater myself, her meal looked extremely appetising n she enjoyed every mouthful. As 20/30/40 somethings we feel we're quite educated but were introduced to a vegetable we'd ever heard of or seen before and it was lovely, the waitress explained to us what it was (which was great that she knew). We enjoyed the meal so much we decided that a sweet was the only way forward (as the main meal had been so good), it did not disappoint! raspberry meringue with cream and ice cream to die for and my 20 something friend cleared her hot choc fudge cake and ice cream, as did my toddler (and licked the bowl...surely a sign of a tasty sweet....my toddler not my friend). The atmosphere and surroundings were great too. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever and I would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys a nice beer (or cider) and a beautiful meal. We will be back! we didn't stay overnight but they do have rooms, perhaps we will next time, if staying there is as good as our meal experience yesterday I'd be moving in!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Agree with lots of the comments on this place - great location, good selection of real ales and a fantastic (and decent value) whisky list. But the food was a bit average - nothing to complain about but nothing special either

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Le Street
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed at the Brook House Inn during the week before Easter when there was quite a lot of snow. We were very impressed by the Inn and felt that we had made an excellent choice. The best part of our stay was the delicious food which was of a considerably higher standard than we expected. Due to the fact that the Inn was not too busy (probably due to the weather) we ate in the bar which was warm and welcoming. We had a few dishes from the specials board which were great, this is clearly home cooked food and is not bought in. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was a good selection of well priced local real ales and wines which we enjoyed. While the bedrooms were nothing special we found our room to be cosy and comfortable and we had a nice modern bathroom with a bath which is important to us after having been walking. The breakfasts were good and set us up for our day. We would recommend the Brook House Inn to people looking for accommodation in Boot and will return, hopefully when the weather is better for getting up the mountains!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House Inn and Restaurant

Address: Boot, Eskdale CA191TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook House Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook House Inn offers an ideal base from which to explore the many contrasts of the Lake District. Family owned country Inn and restaurant serving imaginative food, real ales and over 170 malt whiskies. AA 4* Inn Award winning food and beer, West Cumbria Camra pub of the year 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brook House Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Eskdale
Brook House Inn And Restaurant Eskdale, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook House Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.