We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it completed a great weekend (part II)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eskdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Save
You added King George IV Inn to your Saves list
Eskdale Green, Eskdale CA19 1TS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“it completed a great weekend (part II)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's me again guys.
Sam, Sue & Bill (The Lakeland Terrier), if you remember, I wrote a review earlier on in the year saying that we would be staying at the pub.
FANTASTIC!!!!!! sums it up really. We stayed in The Apartment for the weekend which included us three plus another couple. It was even better than the lodges we used to stay at down the road. The apartment was just what we needed even though we didin't use two of the bedrooms. Everything you could want and need for a relaxing weekend away, with all the mods cons needed to eat, drink and sleep without any distrubance from the outside world.
As I said in part 1 of my review, the staff, food, and the locals were all as friendly as the first time we met them. The local feel and atmosphere really makes it all worth while.
Our next trip away to see the guys and gals at the King George IV is already in the planning for 2013.
With a quick look at the web site you can (as we do) check out all the great events planned for the year. http://www.kinggeorge-eskdale.co.uk/
Just a quick thank you to Jonty and all the staff for yet another memorable weekend.

Room Tip: A different view from each window, lets see just how fantastic the lake district is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    23
    5
    8
    20
See reviews for
43
72
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burbage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Of all the places we could have stayed no expense spared for my 50th birthday, I was in my element here with the things I love the most.
My wife, our big black puppy and the most welcoming landlord Jon and his staff waving an ever changing selection of the best kept beers at me, to wash down proper portions of, freshly cooked tasty no nonsense meals. In my favourite landscape.
We booked the downstairs flat, which looks a tiny bit dated, but was very comfortable and we were able to properly relax.
We will definitely visit again, All power to your pint pulling elbow Jon, keep up the good work

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in the self catering flat for three nights. It was ideal for a weekend walking in the Lakes. Peaceful location (a bit of noise from the dining room but Landlord Jonathan's family was having a get together) apart from that 100% perfect. Good pub food, great real ales and staff were very helpful. Is was also nice to see local people coming into the pub and Sunday evening was entertaining with 'Play your cards right'. We will 100% be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for three nights walking in the Western Lakes, location is spot on being close to the high fells of Eskdale and Wadale.

The flat for two was clean and well equiped, some of the bathroom fittings were a little worn but there was always plenty of hot water for the bath and shower. It is below the pub so you may hear a bit of noise when they are clearing up at night but nothing major. TV reception is good and the pub had decent orange phone reception too which is a plus.

The best thing is definitely the pub itself, great beer and a good selection of well cooked tasty pub meals. Not gastro type meals but just what you want when you've been out on the hills all day. Its a real locals pub too which is great to see.

Very dog friendly which was a key factor for us in chosing to stay here.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe Northumberland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

A group of 18 of us took over most of the hotel for the weekend in order to climb Scafell Pike for charity on the Saturday. The rooms including self-catering accommodation were perfectly clean and well-ordered. The food was excellent and with a great selection of real ales and wines. But what was truly amazing, to someone who has travelled around the world, was the fantastic hospitality of the staff. The owner was a human dynamo. Nothing was too much trouble. He met everyone with a constant smile and provided a standard of service which you seldom see these days. Not only that, but his whole staff acted in exactly the same way. One member of staff came in on her evening off on the Saturday just to say goodbye to us, as she was not working on the Sunday. Absolutely fantastic. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

From mid August to the end of August we stayed at Fisherground Camp Site. The King George IV pub was within walking distance. What a fantastic pub. Dog and child friendly, superb staff and an ever changing selection of real ales. Also, the real ales are not just from the Lakes area, but from further afield. When we visted, they had Flat Cap on from Bank Top brewery in Bolton (our home town), among many others. Jonty has a great team of staff and they were extremely friendly and helpful. The food is all home cooked and really tasty, especially the beef and ale pie. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Visited the King george lV for the weekend,all the staff were very attentive and polite.The food was delish especially the breaded poach eggs with smoked salmon and asparagus,soo yummy ,we will be back,oh and the bed was so comfy too.Thankyou to all the staff. happy customer Leeza..xx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Address: Eskdale Green, Eskdale CA19 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George IV Inn, Eskdale Green, is a centuries old traditional Cumbrian Inn offering good local food, lots of local real ales, malt whiskies and a choice of self-catering accommodation and B&B en-suite rooms. Here at the King George, we extend a warm welcome to all visitors to the Eskdale Valley, whether you're staying with us, having a meal or simply stopping for refreshments on your journey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Eskdale
King George IV Inn Eskdale, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George IV Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.