We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Irton Hall
Irton Hall
Irton Hall
Broughton House
Copeland House
The Clock Tower
The Clock Tower
Eskdale
|
Rental Home – 
19 Bedrooms, Sleeps 54

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DonnaAnth...
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miss the place already !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing place! I hired the clock tower cottage for a long weekend for my 30th and had an amazing time! We fit 12 people in comfortably and barely felt the need to leave the place!
The cottage is lovely with a lot of character! And the amenities were brilliant (from kitchen utilities to the bathroom extras).
It is on a manor with a pub which does great home cooked food! And the guy running it, Tom, was amazing! He couldn't do enough for you and made the weekend!
And although there were other cottages nearby, the way the cottage is set out meant you could make as much noise as you wanted without complaints....
I can't wait to go back as I really couldn't fault it!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kevin N
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed overnight in a deluxe double room in the main house on a B&B basis.
The room was slightly on the small side, but there was a lot of storage and wardrobe space. The bathroom was a delight with an excellent shower and a jacuzzi bath, which was wonderful!
The bar area serves good local real ales and good quality pub-style food in generous portions. We could not fault the breakfast the next morning and overall we received excellent friendy service from all the staff.
There are plans for a much larger restaurant and lounge area, but apparently these are currently stuck in our wonderful planning system!
There are a few ground floor rooms available in the main house on a B&B basis for anyone with disabilities / mobility issues, and at least one of the self-catering properties has a ground floor bedroom, so please ask for one of these if this is required.
We had no problems getting here, my Garmin satnav delivering me right to the front door.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Milloscam...
Nanjing
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Great spacious place with multiple options for kinds of groups. Friendly staff, great for family get togethers. There is lots to see around. We had a very nice time.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Space and grounds
Liked least: Creeky floors
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
NicianLon...
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay, amazing location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We chose this venue for my partners 50th birthday. We hired Pele tower and Copeland House.
There was 20 in our party, so more than enough room for the occasion. This place is a fantastic find, situated in gorgeous walking grounds. If you stay here not not many miles away from Wastwater and the steam train. We went to both area and had truly amazing days.
The tower is as it states "a tower " with an exceptionally steep spiral staircase, however the


friends that stayed in that room greeted the whole experience with excitement and humour.
The facilities were good. Certainly enough space for everyone.
On our last day, the birthday, we requested to eat in the hotel part. This was yet again not an issue to the Irton Hall team. Our breakfasts for the 20 was served together very well, with grace and ease.
Could I take this opportunity to thank you all at Irton Hall. You have a fantastic place up

there in Cumbria. Coming from Surrey to visit for a weekend was the only negative for me,

however I soon forgot about the journey after encountering the Hall, and it's surroundings
Would we visit again........ Absolutely without hesitation, and for a weekend

Would I recommend for an event? Definately, Pele Tower truly amazing.
Would I recommend for just a couple? definitely do the smaller places if you want SC. Or go for the hotel.
We will be going again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SandyB_28
Batley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Will be going back :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Having read good reviews prior to our trip we were not disappointed. Irton Hall though a little off the beaten track is idyllic. Very comfortable room and friendly helpful staff. The bar had a real local feel and was not over priced. A short car trip, or somewhat arduous walk, to the amazing Wastwater is a must if staying here.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: architecture, quality, location and jaccuzzi
Liked least: faulty kettle in room - only a slight niggle which I'm sure if I'd reported would have been replaced immediately.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Andrew S
Horden, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Already planning return visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We (myself and 11 friends) spent a long weekend there at the end of January. The place is awesome, the photos don't do it justice. The staff are excellent and very hospitable, the views are breathtaking and the local area contains everything you could possibly need. I would without reservation reccoment Irton Hall to anyone. I'm so glad I went in the middle of winter, the scenery was stunning.. can't wait to go back again later in the year!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything, the views and the accomodation itself, equally perfect.
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Doyzer
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place, we would highly recommend staying here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Lingard Cottage at Irton Hall.
It gets 5 stars all the way, it is a self service holiday let, but ALL facilities are included, and the on site manager is very pleasant, friendly and approachable.
Location is a matter of preference, on this occasion quiet and scenic was ours.

As our first trip to the Lake District we found this gem online. A semi detached cottage to the side of the main manor house. We missed the email from Andy (manager) letting us know where the keys were, so it was a good job he was there to meet us. Not in the main area, but in one of the other side cottages. Obviously the cottages are not as impressive as the manor house, and not that amazing from the outside. Andy did tell us it was due a repaint, however inside was much better and more than we expected.
A modern fully fitted kitchen, full gas cooker, oven, grill, fridge freezer, washing machine, dish washer, microwave, kettle & toaster with enough tablets for our weekend stay. The kitchen is fully stocked with more than enough of everything to cater for more than 8, let only 4. You just need to bring the food; there was a nicely stocked welcome tray for coffee and tea also, there was also a BBQ set and the small garden area had a “pub style” bench table (albeit a bit worse for wear, it was better than not having one). The bird feeders attracted many types of birds, well, main blue and great t1ts, which was a nice touch... The other end of the cottage’s lounge had a log burning stove, with plenty of logs supplied, not that it was cold enough to even think about using it.
The kitchen dining table easily sits four and leads to an open plan sitting room with a selection of DVD and CDs, if you wanted to stay in. The Sky box had all the basic TV channels, and the 24” LCD DVD/TV combo was fine, you don’t go to the Lake District to watch telly, so I was not expecting a 42” 3d plasma screen and movie channels, also when the daughter found the portable TV with Play Station 2 and games in the twin bed room, I was worried we would not get her out. Our room had a good size and very comfortable double bed. Just FYI, there was no TV in our room; again this was fine for us.
The Bath room has a full size bath, double size power shower, loo and sink, towels are supplied. Plentiful hot water supplied via emersion tank and heater.
There were a couple of marks on the walls and windows; however I am being picky here, as everywhere was generally VERY clean and fresh. There was a slight musty taint when we first arrived, but a bit of airing and all was fine. Whist I am being picky, the stairs and floor boards were a bit creaky. There is nothing bad about this place, I try to do an honest review, we would definitely go back here and we are so glad we did not opt for the B & B options given the value for money Irton Hall provides.
There is not much in the way of entertainment, especially for Kids, there are plenty of books & games provided, plus the PS2 (only one controller). There is a bar in the manor house that is kid friendly and Andy is a good host, the prices are very good also, the local ale was £2.60 a pint and felt a lot stronger than 3.8%. The bar area is quite new, and was not busy during our stay. There are plans for a restaurant which if price as good as the bar, should be a great hit.
With lots of large lets and being fully booked we were worried it may be noisy, we hardly saw any of the other guests, and we certainly didn’t hear them, there was also hardly any noise from the cottage attached to ours.
If, like us you were looking for a quiet, peaceful base to tour the Lake District, we think you would be hard placed to find a better stay than Irton Hall. We had a crammed weekend touring the Lake District, originally we were going to stay at Windermere (about 1 hour 20 minutes from Irton Hall,) it was heaving busy, a fair and ferry trips were the main attractions, of course there is great scenery. Trip adviser rejected my first attempt to review Irton Hall, as i listed all the places we had visited around the area... Andy recommended visiting a Zoo near the South Lakes, which was on the way home, this, was a good shout, thanks Andy.
In summary, I think we stayed in the least impressive part of Irton Hall, and we loved it, we would definitely go back again, and we would definitely be happy in Lingard Cottage, if I had a larger party I would have no hesitation booking the larger accommodation in the manor house, the tower does look a great place to stay also.
The only drawback for us is that Irton Hall is nearly 5 hours away for us... ;-(

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: So much more for your money.
Liked least: outside of cottage needed a bit of paint.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$6,808
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Steve C
44 1946726025
Speaks English
Listed since : Dec 2012
Response Rate: 25 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 54 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing