We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

The Royal Oak Inn
The Square | Grange over sands, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
015395 36259
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: British, Vegetarian, Pub, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Salisbury
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good but pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had a nice lunch sat in the garden by the river. Good service but food fairly expensive - £7+ for a sandwich.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    67
    16
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Ribs are to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Popped in to the Royal Oak for some drinks on a random jaunt out for a few beers in Cartmel and decided to order some food. There were 4 of us and as we were there for the beer more than anything we didn't fancy anything heavy. We opted for the sharer platter, loaded potato skins and some chips to share... The sharer was delicious and the ribs were literally fall-off-the-bone melt-in-your-mouth amazing! All the staff were brilliant too, really friendly great bunch. I will be returning on a rugby-night out after the races in a couple of weeks and would recommend to everyone.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beer garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We hadn't been to the Royal Oak for about a year and my husband and I were pleasantly surprised with the improvements that seem to have been made. A seemingly smaller menu offering a good selection of pub meals - the food that we ordered was well presented and tasty. The biggest improvement though is the beer garden, really well done and a very nice place to sit in and soak up the sun on a lovely afternoon.
Look forward to returning

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Well done to whoever recruits here. All the staff are so efficient and friendly with great sense of humour. We have had both lunch and tea here today and both meals great. Beer garden is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I will start by saying we didn't eat here but the food looked lovely and big portions too a few people came in looked at menu and said too pricey I don't think so as the other pubs were overpriced food wise they were all about the same ... The outdoor area at the back is so lovely you could sit there all day which is what we did

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Inn also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.