We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, lovely pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

The Royal Oak Inn
The Square | Grange over sands, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
015395 36259
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 restaurants in Cartmel
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Vegetarian, British, Pub, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Harrogate
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great staff, lovely pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Traditional pub, with great staff, we were really looked after (by Mike). They are owned by the same people as one of the other pubs in the village. Good value, even had late night snack food. The next day they showed us the 4 rooms upstairs which were all en-suite, well appointed and good value (for this village).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    74
    39
    8
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kinver, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great ale!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

a chilled out night in an old pub. the locals were friendly and welcoming. most of all the choice of ale was great and a small meal washed it down nicely! fish and chips were spot on!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely meal on our final night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We decided to go here for our final night I booked the table earlier on in the day and - the woman I can only presume is the manageress - asked if we wouldn't mind pre-ordering as we were a table of 10 which wasn't a problem. When we came back we were seated at 2 tables which was a bit disappointing. The starters then took 40 minutes to come out even though we had pre-ordered I think they knew we were a bit miffed as the mains came out 5 minutes later! Can't fault the food it was excellent and great value for money!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Friendly staff very welcoming food excellent and piping hot .Atmosphere was great especially as it was halloween weekend.We would definately recomend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Dog friendly made our choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We all enjoyed our meal - excellent steaks - George our boxer was impressed too ! The fact that he wasn't left out and could sit by the fire!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Inn also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.