We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little country pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of pig and whistle

pig and whistle
Cartmel, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6PL, England
+44 15395 36482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 14 Restaurants in Cartmel
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great little country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We dined at the Pig and Whistle this bank holiday weekend with friends who live in the local area and had suggested that we try Simon Rogan's new place. We were unsure what to expect from this pub as we have dined at Roganic in london and did not see how this style would translate to the village local.
We were pleasantly surprised, everything from the young lads warm welcome, to the sticky toffee pudding were excellent, great value for money and really well cooked interesting pub/ restaurant food.
It wasn't the usual Rogan experience, so those expecting it should bare in mind that its still the village local and not a fine dining experience.
the only down side is the restaurant is a bit small, but you cant have everything!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    81
    25
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Avoid in the evening”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having heard good reports about the food here, I have to say that I was very disappointed.

For pub grub, it is ok, nothing more. Some of the food in the evening did not seem fresh, appeared to be re-heated from earlier. White onion soup tasted more of sugar than onion. Roast beef was not good.......waitress unsure if it was topside or sirloin.....suspect it was reheated sirloin, reasonably tasty, but the Yorkshire pud was definitely not fresh, and the roast potatoes were horrible!

Did not bother with desserts, coffee was rather strange, the bill was totally wrong also....

Definite potential here....service would improve with a little more polish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
1 review
“Utter disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After looking forward to an evening in Mr Rogan's restaurant I left with a feeling of utter disappointment. The restaruant seating area was cold, the food was bland at best. The only bright spot, this venue is now on my list of places to never visit again!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“oh dear trying hard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

stopped in Cartmel on Sunday 24th March for a bite to eat and chose the Pig and Whistle just outside the village center. O entering we got a warm welcome from the bar staff,unfortunately that wes the only warmth in tyhe place as the heating had broken down,temperature outside was 2 degrees ,anyway we decided to have our lunch here,I ordere the herdwick lamb hotpot and my wife the Sunday roast, the hotpot was priced at £14 and the roast at £8-95 fairley average prices so we thought.we were shown to a table in the dining room which was even colder than the bar area .my hotpot arrived and consisted of some lamb,( 8/10 pieces) five thin slices of potatoe and i mean thin think walkers crisp thin,and four tiny pieces of carrot,I thought a mistake had been made and they had served a starter portion! the roast was not much better 2 small roast potatoes one carrot cut in half and so hard they could not be cut 2 slices of very rare beef and blanched savoy cabbage not good,when asked at the end of the meal we pointed out our concerns to the waitress,to be fair they reduced the hotpot to £8-95 same as the roast ,I have to say that the staff here are hrd working and polite,shame about the food as the pub is a nice old one and i am sure they where caught on a bad day if not they need to do something about it pronto

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend recently visited the pig and whistle after hearing it is now under new management of Simon Rogan. When we arrived the bar tender greeted us as his "bud" and "mate". This wasn't a problem but I find that this is not very professional. The pub wasn't busy but we were told we had to wait for our table. The bar tender wasn't that interested in talking to us as he kept messing about on his phone. When our table was finally ready we were shown around the outside of the bar through a poorly lite corridor. The restaurant wasn't what I had expected and was dark and dingy. The waiter who served us was very pleasant and a told us all about the different food. Me and my friend both opted for the pork. It was nice but salty and not what we expected. It was nice but it wasn't "Simon rogan" nice.
Overall we did enjoy it but we wouldn't come again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed pig and whistle also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to pig and whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage pig and whistle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.