We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calsfell View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calsfell View B&B
Save
You added Calsfell View B&B to your Saves list
Allithwaite Road, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7SB , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Stockport
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First Class accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here over the Jubilee Bank Holiday and can highly recommend this small 2 bed roomed, dog friendly, B&B. The proprietor, Caroline was very helpful, approachable and made us feel very welcome. There was nothing at all to fault, rooms were very clean and comfortable, location was excellent - just a couple of minutes walk into Cartmel square, quiet and nice finishing touches such as complimentary sherry. Cartmel itself is very attractive place to visit and has the additional attraction of the races. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

we spent 2 nights at Calsfell view as a gift for my partner Caroline was very hospitable, our room was lovely and comfortable and in a perfect setting for our trip to the races.
Breakfast was very good with locally sourced produce.
I would certainly stay here again and will be reccomending it to my friends
Thankyou

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at Calsfell a few days ago on an anniversary trip to L'Enclume. Caroline is the perfect host and made us feel welcome and at ease straight away - she even went the extra mile to figure out local petrol stations for us that may not have run out of fuel in the recent panic buying crisis. The B&B is modern and decorated to a high standard and the room we stayed in was bigger than most hotel rooms.

The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and sourced from fresh local produce including locally blended coffee which was a great greeting first thing.

Situated a few minutes walk from the village centre and the priory we were in an ideal and picturesque location.

Would highly recommend Calsfell and Caroline's hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a bed and breakfast that really gets everything right. Cartmel is a fantastic part of the lake district and Calsfell View has a good location on the edge of the village. The rooms have very tasteful decor and the breakfast was good. There are many thoughtful touches like a torch as the village has no street lights. What really sets Calsfell View apart is Caroline; she was very helpful and welcoming, she couldn't do enough for us. We had a fantastic stay and would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed here on Friday night and would definitely stay here again. Nice modern room - original artwork on the wall, making a change from the usual guesthouse decor.

The complimentary sherry was a lovely touch and was just the job as an aperative before our dinner at L'Enclume.

Breakfast was really good too.

The guesthouse is dog friendly, but if you don't like dogs (and I don't) you will see no trace of anything doggy - unless you catch Caroline about to walk hers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here so much we stayed for an extra night. The rooms wer clean, modern and comfortable. They were well equipped with everything you need for your short stay. The breakfasts were of a high quality. The ingredients were all locally sourced. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

If you are going to Cartmel, this is the place to stay. Caroline is an absolute credit to her profession. Her attention to detail is extremely high and nothing is too much trouble. Thanks you Caroline for a lovely weekend, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calsfell View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calsfell View B&B

Address: Allithwaite Road, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7SB , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Calsfell View B&B Cartmel, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calsfell View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.