We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to return to again and again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boot Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boot Inn
Save
You added The Boot Inn to your Saves list
Eskdale Valley, Boot CA191TG, England (Formerly the Burnmoor Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Boot B&B and Inns
yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One to return to again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed 2 nights and would definitely return here! The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfy. We stayed with our dog and had our own door exit to take her to the loo. No mobile or TV reception here but that just adds to the remote get-away atmosphere. The views from the Inn are lovely and the staff so welcoming, especially to the dog. There are several very well kept real ales and it's a hit with the locals. We ate here both nights and the food was fantastic - I recommend the steak & ale pie! It's ideally placed for short car trips to some of the more well-known Lake District places but there are some great walks just 2 minutes out of Boot itself. If you're looking for a secluded, friendly, picturesque break, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    44
    18
    14
    9
See reviews for
23
78
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Although we did not stay in the Inn but at a campsite up the road we thought the food and atmosphere in the Inn we great.

The conservatory is lovely and airy with a big comfy leather sofa and also tables for eating, this was the perfect place to relax after a long day's walking.

Both the staff and locals are very welcoming and make you feel like friends. The Brook House down the road just doesn't have the same feel about it at all.

We would definitely recommend here and will be back the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We stayed here for just the one night - and we were relieved it WAS just for one night because the room was terribly small and cluttered to the extent it was impossible to move around without consulting each other what our movements would be, plus our view (which was extolled on the website) was obscured by the extractor fan on the kitchen roof. The landlord was very friendly and welcoming so full marks for that, but the room was sadly lacking. Yes, we had a dog with us so weren't expecting a luxury room, but our double room bed and breakfast cost £90!! Shabby furniture, crammed into a room that should have been a single, with a fairly basic en-suite bathroom. However, the bed was very comfortable and we had an excellent night's sleep.

The atmosphere in the bar was really good - on the Friday night we were there it was full of locals as the pub was hosting a "Chip Shop" night. It was basically fish and chips, chicken and chips, sausage and chips..........my vegetarian choice was cheese and onion pie and chips. I wasn't impressed - the chips were very nice, my husband really enjoyed his meal, but there was just nothing on the menu for me. Call me fussy, but I prefer to eat something that's not deep fried in lard and I would have liked to have had the choice of something a bit less greasy on the menu.

So a mixed review - location brilliant, deep in the "proper" Lake District, and a brilliant walk straight from the door the next morning (to walk off the chips.....), very friendly and welcoming staff, comfortable bed and very quiet location, but the room was desperately in need of a bit of TLC. If I'd have paid £50 for it I'd have been well pleased, but it was just too expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

A great little pub and small hotel, made us and the dog feel very welcome.
The rooms aren't massive and because of it's remote location there are no TV's in them either. The food and drink were great and was the host's.

Forget the older poor reviews I'm glad I did while booking it.

If coming from the south forget sat navs and drive to it via Ulpha Fell

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We headed for the Boot Inn purely for the New Year celebrations with friends. Word of mouth was that the owners really push the boat out at New Year and we were not disppointed. We did not stay at the hotel as it was fully booked, but certainly aim to in the future as we were very pleasantly surprised by what we did see. Some reviews were critical of the rooms but I understand that they have been recently refurbished and certainly appear to be much better value than other more expensive accomodation in the area. Good beer , very reasonably priced food, an original menu and excellent locally brewed beers. Locals people were friendly and the staff very efficient and welcoming. The new year fireworks could rival the Edinburgh Hogmany, absolutely first class display. Free buffet and a fanntastic location. I can only asssume that the poor ratings for this hotel are dated and have not taken into account the improvements that the new owners have made.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

My stay in the Boot Inn was a no frills very friendly experience.
I was glad i did not take any notice of some of the reviews on here.
I went there with my husband and 10 month old dog who all the staff made a huge fuss of.
Our room was not very big but i was not expecting it to be having stayed in other inns around cumbria.It Was cleaned every day
I was in the room over the kitchen and there was a fan that was on during cooking time but then was switched off.
I thought the sheep made more noise.
The food was freshly cooked with real potatoes and fresh veg nice home cooking and the smell when you passed the kitchen was to die for.Breakfast was more than adequate for a long day walking on the fells,The evening meals were large and i thought i was going to split my sides my stomach was so full.
There was a good range of beers and spirits at the bar all served by friendly staff .
There is a lovely beer garden and childrens play area.
Being a walker i could not think of a better place to stay in Cumbria and i have stayed around the lakes many times.
I think i have found the best place i have stayed in and when i visit again the Boot Inn Eskdale will be where i will stay.
The walks around Eskdale valley are for most ability's and well sign posted for myself who loves being on the top of mountains i was spoilt for choice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed at The Boot 5 years ago and enjoyed it, so were happy to return. The location is fabulous, in a small village on the quieter western side of the Lake District, which we prefer to the Ambleside/Windermere side, always filled with hoards of tourists.

The Boot changed ownership 3 years ago, we discovered, and is now owned by Robinson's' Brewery. The bedrooms have been brightened up, but the range of real ales offered has reduced because of the brewery tie-in.

If you need a modern, large, comfortable hotel room then go elsewhere: The Boot's bedrooms are olde worlde, our bed would have been too firm for many, the room was too warm at night (with the heating off!) and the shower temperature was very difficult to regulate. There are no TVs in bedrooms because, they say, the reception is poor in the area.

However, there are compensations: staff members are welcoming, cheerful and helpful. Breakfasts are superb: a full range of fruit juices, cereals, yogurts , Cumberland sausages, English bacon, eggs any way you like, tomatoes, mushrooms and beans.

We paid £40 per person per night for bed and breakfast and £20 for our daughter sharing our family room. We thought this was a little expensive compared with other places we've stayed.There is a dinner bed and breakfast option but bear in mind that there are lots of other places nearby which offer good dinners. Perhaps our opinion of The Boot's dinner was spoiled by the fact that they had sacked their chef the previous day and brought in an agency chef who was still finding his way around. Waiting for an hour for our main courses and only receiving a late apology did not impress us!

The Brook House Inn is a 3-minute walk down the lane and offers a wider range of real ales, at lower prices, and we had a good meal there one evening. An even better meal was found on our final night 5 miles away at The Bridge in Santon Bridge.

Overall, a nice place to stay for a short visit but if you can find better at a similar or lower price in such a fabulous location grab it.

  • Liked — The great location and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Bedroom too hot.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boot Inn

Address: Eskdale Valley, Boot CA191TG, England (Formerly the Burnmoor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Boot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boot
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boot Inn nestles in the tiny hamlet of Boot, deep in the heart of the Eskdale Valley. Within easy walking distance of The English Lake Districts largest and most majestic fells, yet only 7 miles from the sea. We provide first class food, drink and accommodation with nine letting bedrooms, bar, conservatory and snug areas, we also have ample car parking and a large beer garden. The inn itself has been catering for the hungry and thirsty travellers since the 17th century, offering a selection of traditionally kept cask ales, fine wines, sprits, continental beers, soft drinks and excellent food. At the Boot Inn we endeavour to source as many of our ingredients and most of our produce locally including the almost legendary cumberland sausages. Everybody is welcome included our four legged friends. With real log fires for those chilly autumn, winter or even summer days, a warm welcome is always guaranteed. The valley provides a wealth of opportunity for outdoor activity with Scafell, Great Gable, Harter Fell, Bowfelll, Crinkle Crags and many others all within walking distance without having to cross a single road! Cyclists can pitt themselves against the Hardknott and Wrynose passes, the steepest section of road in England leading to the Duddon Valley and Langdale. For those of a more spiritual and historical interest there is to be found the remains of a Roman Fort in the upper reaches of the valley and the beautiful 14th century church of St Catherines only a short stroll away. Slightly further afield attractions such as Muncaster Castle and Eskdale Golf Course are close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boot Hotel Boot
The Boot Inn Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.