We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fold Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Fold Guest House to your Saves list
The Fold Guest House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Fold Cottages Kirksanton, Kirksanton, Millom LA18 4NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Kirksanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our first visit to The Lake District and won't be our last. Spend 2 nights at The Fold and what a great choice. Kevin and Rachelle are lovely people. Spotless rooms and tasty breakfast. Thankyou for suggesting West Lakes to visit what a fantastic place, and for the anniversary card and love hearts was a thoughtful touch. Also the wood burner was a nice welcome home on a chllly evening. Thankyou we would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

when we arrived we were very pleasantly greeted by Kevan and Rechelle. They were very friendly and accommodating, even helping us carry our heavy suitcases upstairs. The room was very nicely decorated and clean. The beds were very comfortable as well. Breakfast was very tasty with nothing too much trouble.
I would definately stay there again if I am in the UK.
thanks also for the loan of your hiking boots Rechelle. We walked up the black Coombs for about six hours that day! The views were spectacular, though the paths should have some more signs showing the routes.
Highly recommended.

Lily
Western Australia

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay as we were visiting attractions in the area and had a fantastic experience. The Bed & Breakfast is extremely well maintained with the utmost attention to detail. Keven and Rachelle were on hand to greet us on arrival, provided us with lots of information about the area and made us feel very welcome. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean and the breakfast the following morning was one of the best we have had. We would have no hesitation in recommending this property to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed her for 2 nights and couldn't have asked for more. Breakfast was fantastic. Room was just right. Clean and tidy and such a cosy wee room downstairs to chill out.
The owners were very attentive and nothing was too much. Fantastic little gem and couldn't of asked for more.

Room Tip: Room 2, view from window of mountains and view from bath room to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at this guest house for one night whilst visiting family in the area. It really was a treat . The owners are very friendly, the bedroom and en suite were immaculate and the bed was as comfortable as any I have slept in. Breakfast was perfect and I will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went for a two day break after our wedding at the beginning of April and it was lovely. The welcome we recived was really warm and friendly, the room we was in was first class really clean and well presented. In the morning we were made to feel welcome, and the breakfast was out of this world, really set you up for the day. The only downside was having to leave and come home but we will be going back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

if youre looking for bright lights and cold atmosphere look elsewhere, this guesthouse is one of the most delightful and very well presented on the market, from the moment of booking youre treat like a real friend and where nothing is too much trouble, i was informed that room 1 was the small room but with a BIG view over the fells to far make up for it, extremely clean room and well presented with a firm bed comfy pillows, the owners were so friendly and made you fell very welcome, i will certainly return and soon for another weekend break , didnt try local pub for food but was assured it is one of the best for steaks. overall 100% for everything, i have traveled the world and mainly solo and stayed in nice places but never really been moved to write or comment but felt this guest house needed a mention, looking forward to my return and booking room 1 again
thankyou xx

Room Tip: may be small but room 1 has fantastic views x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fold Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fold Guest House

Address: 1 Fold Cottages Kirksanton, Kirksanton, Millom LA18 4NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Millom > Kirksanton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirksanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fold Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit us at our 18th century cottage in this idyllic part of the South Lakes. Situated at the foothills of Balckcombe and Whicham valley - gateway to the Lake District National Park. The historic hamlet of Kirksanton with its own standing stone's is ideal for a peaceful relaxing break for either business or pleasure, minutes walk away from our unspoilt blue flag beach which runs alongside the Cumbrian way. Enjoy a meal at our local pub, just a few minutes walk down the lane. Retire to our well furnished bedrooms for a relaxing nights sleep. Our hearty full cooked English breakfast will prepare you for all the attractions the South Lakes has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Fold Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fold Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.