We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thanetwell Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greystoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thanetwell Lodge
Save
You added Thanetwell Lodge to your Saves list
Dukes Meadow | Cumbria, Greystoke, Penrith CA11 0XX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Having stopped in these lodges by the same company in Yorkshire previously, we looked forward to our stay at Thantwell.

Unfortunately we didn't feel the standards were as high, the lodge appeared clean and was well equipped but the mattress needed replacing it was lumpy and you could feel the springs meaning a very poor nights sleep. None of the furnishings matched it appeared tired and had dirt marks on the blinds and walls. We then found a dirty plate yuck not pleasant. A stray hair in the shower was rather an unpleasant find.

The area was pleasant and very peaceful but there is no phone signal not the parks fault but paying for an internet connection that constantly cuts off should be pointed out before you purchase.

I wouldn't return to this particular park as I felt the standards were not high enough for the price paid.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    39
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
75
74
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HIGHWORTH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at Thanet Well. The lodge was lovely and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves it had everything we needed to be able to cook even had a full roast dinner on Sunday!! The shower in the ensuite is amazing a computerised one it has a radio and lots of different ways of showering, it had a normal shower head or one in the top of the pod, a spray to wash your feet and even a back massager!!! The beds were quite comfy although only double beds and we are used to our superking so was cosy. The location is far our from places but a perfect retreat for a chilled break with gorgeous views over the fells.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay overall. Warm, leather furniture good quality. New kitchen appliances. Very well appointed great views with windows. Warm and comfortable.
Would've got 5 out of 5 except patio doors had dropped and wouldn't completely closed and extractor fan flaps sometimes slam shut in high wind which woke me up a few times during the night.

Overall high standard

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have been a few times now and decided to take the baby on his first holiday (at three months) the lodge was spacious enough to store the "mountain" of baggage a baby travels with. The walk in wardrobe was an idea place for his travel cot - there is additional storage in the master room and the other two rooms also have wardrobes so we didn't need to live out of our suitcases. The cleanliness and towels supplied exceeded our expectations - the decor still looks as good as new and the views are still breath taking, even after a couple of visits. Having a baby with us we thought we would be limited on what we could do - but we were welcomed at every bar, cafe and restaurant we visited. We even managed to fit in a couple of good walks. As always, I'm looking forward to returning.......

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a vip2 superior lodge there was an easy check in and lodge was modern clean and cosy. Hot tub was great too. Good pub meal in the boot and shoe in greystoke.
Only negative was the beds being on the small side my feet reached the bottom of bed being 5 ft 3 more of a problem for husband being 6 ft 3!
However dont let this put you off as it is a good quality resort.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My first impression of your lodge was excellent, our lodge was number 75 and it was right in the corner of the park really private, when your in the hot tub. The equipment in the lodge was good, the en-suite bedroom was nice and clean. The only gripe I could have is you've to pay for the wi-fi, for what they charge I think it should be included.

Room Tip: Lodge 75 is very private when using the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just returned from a Monday to Friday trip to Thanetwell Lodge and had a fantastic time,, couldnt fault the lodge at all,, everything we needed, home comforts, washing machine,dish washer, lovely kitchen,... beds so comfortable and all immaculatly clean.Excellent heating system and hot tub with views over Carrick fell... Nothing more to ask for really,,, Location was about 10 to 15mins drive to main town with morrisons,sainsburys but stayed local as had all we needed,Twin room with bathroom/shower and also double room with excellent ensuite with walk in shower and dressing area.Parking directly outside of lodge right at front door,,, and excellent stay all round,,, will definatly visit again..

Room Tip: lodges facing the fells are not overlooked at all....privacy for hot tub superior 2 lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thanetwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanetwell Lodge

Address: Dukes Meadow | Cumbria, Greystoke, Penrith CA11 0XX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Greystoke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Greystoke
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanetwell Lodge is a beautiful self catering Scandinavian style wooden lodge situated in the heart of the Northern Lakes surrounded by unspoiled countryside and fantastic views. it is the ideal base for countryside pursuits or just somewhere to “get away from it all”... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thanetwell Hotel Greystoke
Thanetwell Lodge Greystoke, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanetwell Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.