We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXED AND HAPPY EVER AFTER @ NUMBER 84” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thanetwell Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greystoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thanetwell Lodge
Dukes Meadow | Cumbria, Greystoke, Penrith CA11 0XX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“RELAXED AND HAPPY EVER AFTER @ NUMBER 84”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I have just arrived back from a wonderful wedding anniversary at the Lakes. The park was lovely and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The lodge was spotless we didn't want to come home. We are booking up for our anniversary next October. We took our food but sainsbury's deliver.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    34
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
59
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

stayed in what was supposed to be a superior lodge, it was a caravan with cladding, even had the wheels still on it when you looked under it. nothing like in the brochure pictures, and when we complained, we got no where, the guy was actually rude to us, we will never go back and will not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: be warned, the lodges are not like you see in the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed on a 3 night break in superior 2 bed lodge and was not disappointed. Checkin was quick and easy takin only 5 minutes. We then drove round to our lodge and parked right outside it making unpacking the car simple and stress free. The lodge itself was very clean, modern, spacious and the views were truly stunning. The lodge we stayed in came with washing machine, dishwasher , hot tub and ensuite in the double room so these were extras we didn't expect. Whilst on our holiday we had lovely days out in Penrith, Ambleside, Windermere and Keswick which were all lovely places to visit. Hope to return again to thanet well as it really was a fantastic place and have nothing negative to say :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We wanted a get away from everyone and everything type of break and this is exactly what we got. It's very remote so if your after lots to do then this isn't for you. On arrival reception explained the welcome pack and gave us our keys, when we got to the lodge we were pleasantly surprised at how big it was. Everywhere was spotless, lots of kitchen utensils, plates etc. hot tub is a must if going to stay here. Already looking into going back for my bday in march.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Myself and my husband have just returned from a 4 night midweek break, staying in a superier VIP 2 lodge (lodge 2). I have to say that the lodge its self was amazing. Very modern with fully fitted kitchen and very comfy living room space. The view was also beautiful from our lodge and we loved the hot tub although there were downsides to the lodge itself, including no free iron or ironing board. The double bed was sooooo uncomfy. It was hard, springy and creaked. I did not get one full nights sleep and cant believe they have such a bad matress. Also we found the lodge to be very cold. Unlike other lodges we have been, you cant put the heating on when you want. It is on a timer and you can only turn it up or down. We found that every morning the lodge was freezing and when we came in around tea time we were dithering. I dont think you should be dictated to as to when you can and cant have heating. The scenery was lovely however for me it was too far out. It did feel like it was in the middle of nowhere. I have to say that i did feel a bit uneasy at times with it being so far out. It didnt help when the power was turned off on the site due to a local fire and so we were left for a few hours in the pitch black and it was black. We found out off a fellow guest what had happened, we never saw or heard from the staff in this incident and the emergency telephone number went to an answer machine which i felt wasnt a good service. We never even got an apology, infact we didnt even see the staff all week. All in all the lodge was amazing but it was far too secluded for me, the nearest town penrith which was about a 20 minute drive down small dark single track roads. I wouldnt go again.

Room Tip: Choose a superior lodge to get a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the 5th time me and my partner have stayed. First time in a VIP 2 lodge then 3 times in a standard lodge and this last time it was myself, partner and 16 month old and 3 nights in a superior lodge! It was defiantly worth paying £40 more the view was superb! The lodge itself was clean, and modern! Cannot wait to go back as soon as possible!
Staff really friendly and happy to help with anything.
Paid for cot and highchair and they were waiting for us our lodge. Lodge 27!

Only bad (if you can say bad) things were they longer give you an iron and ironing board as standard there is a £10 refundable deposit.
Only 2 toilet rolls in the cabin
And no bedding for the cot but we took stuff just in case.

And if that's all I have to complain about then that's nothing.

Planning on going up next Christmas as a family of 4 :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked a lodge at this holiday park through Hoseasons.
The lodge was exactly as described on the website, clean and well presented with everything we needed. The view from our lodge was excellent and provided some spectacular sunsets. The hot tub provided a few hours very pleasant relaxation. The only down side and this is totally beyond anyone's control was the weather it rained and then rained again and then never really stopped.
We would certainly consider returning, we had lodge number 14.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thanetwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanetwell Lodge

Address: Dukes Meadow | Cumbria, Greystoke, Penrith CA11 0XX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Greystoke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Greystoke
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanetwell Lodge is a beautiful self catering Scandinavian style wooden lodge situated in the heart of the Northern Lakes surrounded by unspoiled countryside and fantastic views. it is the ideal base for countryside pursuits or just somewhere to “get away from it all”... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thanetwell Hotel Greystoke
Thanetwell Lodge Greystoke, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanetwell Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thanetwell Lodge to your Saves list