We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for walking.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kirkland, Ennerdale Bridge CA26 3YA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Slough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great base for walking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good and Roger and Chris were very welcoming. Great views and a perfect base for walking in the Western Lake District. We will be back (and maybe the weather will be kinder to us next time).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks Andrew for a lovely review.

Shame about the weather. Like most people I wish we could predict (and market) some of the glorious sunny days we get here. I hope you come again and can experience the lakes in all their sunlit glory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for three nights, party of three, myself and my husband plus my elderly mother. It was a trip back to her roots for my Mum. Chris and Roger were so welcoming, and even moved my Mum to the ground floor room, so it would be easier for her. Rooms very comfortable and cosy, we were there during the worst September storms for 30 years. and we were snug and warm. Bit off the beaten track, but well worth the effort, and lovely views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks Yvonne for such a nice review. Sorry about the weather, we try to arrange good weather for our guests but it seems to have got the better of us this year. Better luck next time. We are really glad your mum was able to see the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Ghyll Farm earlier this year whilst our friend was exploring her family history. Roger and Chris were wonderful hosts, helping us with directions and contacts. We found the accomodation of an excellent standard, clean and roomy but with a homely feel. The view was terrific. The breakfast set us up for the day and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. If ever we return to the area, we would stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for the review Richard. We are pleased that we were able to assist Althea on her ancestry search, even to the smallest extent. I hope she finds all the information she needs and hope you are able to return and give us the details sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We loved our one-night stay in the attractive barn-conversion room. A huge comfortable bed with pristine bedding, a sparklingly clean bathroom with walk in shower, flat-screen TV, good hospitality tray and then a delicious breakfast...what more could you ask?! Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks Irene for a great review, We are so glad you had a comfortable stay and look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at Ghyll Farm for the first night of our Coast to Coast walk. Our room was lovely, very clean and tidy, and the bed was really comfortable. The room was in a separate annex and had just been renovated. Roger also very kindly picked us up from Ennerdale Bridge and dropped us back in the same place the next morning. Breakfast was good and proved plenty of fuel for day two of our walk, and the homemade cake in our pack lunch was also delicious!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks Ann for a lovely review. It will be great when you can come back and spend more time in Ennerdale. Sorry we've been full when you've tried to re-book. I am sure we will find some dates free when you next want to return. I think we might be able to save some cake for you too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Thanks for putting us up for the first two nights of my Coast to Coast adventure. Fantastic rooms- modern, clean, well equipped with brolleys, hairdryer, well stocked refreshments tray. This may sound odd but the towels smelt absolutely gorgeous! They really were fresh, clean and fluffy! Not something I would usually notice!

The rooms in the converted barn looked out over the valley and the views on a morning were excellent.

Chris and Roger were really helpful and friendly. The cat is possibly a little too friendly and was quite persistent in its efforts for attention one morning when I went out to get some early morning pictures.

Lovely breakfast, great packed lunch with delicious home made cake.

The only thing letting this place down is its location, which is just a little too far outside of Ennerdale Bridge with a rocky, stony drive which may prove difficult for some cars to get up. It is definitely worth the journey though. This was probably the best accommodation I had on the whole of the Coast to Coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Helensuz

Thanks for the great review. We try to provide the things you need for a restful break during any holiday, whether it’s a Coast to Coast adventure or just getting away from it all for a bit. Sorry about the cat, give him the slightest encouragement and he can’t get enough attention.

With regard to location, all of our guests so far have said they prefer the tranquillity (and a good nights undisturbed sleep) to a livelier establishment. Most walkers like to get their heads on the pillows long before the pubs shut, must be the country air! We can arrange collection (by prior arrangement) from the village for Coast to Coasters and so benefit of peace and quiet outweighs the extra 1.6 miles and it isn’t normally a problem.

Anyway, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the cake. I hope the C2C lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed your walk. We hope you can come back soon and enjoy all the walks in this unspoilt corner of the lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our hosts were very hospitable and helped enormously when we needed a last-minute accommodation. Host came to get us at Ennerdale Bridge pub. The rooms were lovely and the beds nice and comfortable when finishing the first day of the Coast to Coast walk. The breakfast was excellent. Roger was very helpful with practical tips and even gave us a lift to Honister House when we had to pass on the second leg of the walk. Recommend this establishment highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P, Owner at Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks Steve and family

We are really glad we were able to offer you a comfortable stay and practical advice. The weather and circumstances looked set to give you difficult start and it was great to be of assistance and help to get you on track for the walk. So glad that you made it to the end in one piece. The photo was great and the girls look as though they are ready to turn round and walk back again?????

Next time you come back, you can stay longer and see the best Cumbria has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Kirkland, Ennerdale Bridge CA26 3YA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ennerdale Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ennerdale Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghyll Farm is in the heart of Ennerdale with easy access to the Coast to Coast route. It has comfortable AA Rated 4 Star accommodation in one of the most peaceful valleys in the English Lake district. We have two double/twin bedrooms and one three bed family room. All bedrooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast Ennerdale Bridge, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghyll Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.