We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langstrath Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrowdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Langstrath Country Inn
Save
You added The Langstrath Country Inn to your Saves list
Stonethwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Borrowdale B&B and Inns
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

wow! what an amazing place to stay - stunning location away from all the mayhem of some parts of the lake district. perfectly situated for many beautiful day-long walks from the front door. bedrooms are individually styled with quality furnishings and a hint of luxury. no tv, no phone signal so no interruptions to getting away from it all. new owners very friendly and accommodating; food really good; some seasonal foreign waiting staff who struggled with the language but very willing. the bar area is small but can eat in the restaurant or outside. so perfect we have been twice already and have already booked to return next year!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    29
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
61
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
old windsor
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

It would seem obtuse to complain about The Langstrath it is set in one of the most beautiful places in the world, the food is good,and the beds are comfortable. I have stayed twice before when it was under a different owner. This time the landlord was only seen once and that was enough. He served breakfast on our first morning I asked if he had any yoghurt to which he sarcastcally replied "No just about everything else" I then asked if I could have hot milk with my coffee "No the machine isn''t on" I asked if he could boil me some, I wasn't having a cooked breakfast so I didn't think it would be too much trouble, his answer was again "No..what if everybody else wanted it" After this I looked at Trip Adviser and see he has a bit of a reputation for lack of hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Warm and friendly welcome, great food, good beer and atmosphere. A great place to stay if you are on the Coast to Coast as I was or just touring in the area. Fantastic location with clean and comfortable bedroom.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Our second trip here and it certainly won't be our last.

The Inn itself is in a beautiful spot on the very edge of the fells in Stonethwaite. You can be on a footpath in less than a minute and if you closed your eyes the noises of nature would have you believe you were in the middle of nowhere. There are epic walks on your doorstep, and gentle strolls along the valleys and by the rivers without needing your car.

Parking - plenty of it and if you're very unlucky and find it packed, we witnessed one of the managers moving his own car to some unknown location down the road to make room.

The room was 'fantastic'! Our view was onto the fells, with the sheep and newborn lambs literally in the back garden. The bed was comfortable, bath was *huge* and a great overhead shower. It was quiet at night and pitch black in our back bedroom.

The bar is well stocked with great ale (Jennings Cocker Hoop being my favourite), and has a beer garden opposite that's a real sun trap and great for relaxing after an 'epic' walk (and for people watching).

As for the food - well it was second to none to anything we've had in the Lake District. Both nights the food was truly excellent. Gressingham duck in plum and port sauce was one of the best meals I've ever had, followed by the pear tatin that we had to wait 20 minutes for because it was being cooked to order - how fantastic is that!

Finally, can't close the review without passing comment about the managers and staff. Nothing was too much trouble, they were at pains to make sure we were comfortable and happy, without being overbearing at all. There was no air of formality, it really did feel like you were welcome guests, and this was from *everyone* we met.

It would be honest of us to say that we didn't find fault in *anything*; we'd happily live there if we could!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t555ade
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Visited late summer for 3 days. The food was excellent and the rooms were well presented. There was a great atmophere in the bar at night and there were beautifuls views in the day. Keswick just 10 mins away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

The Hotel is in a very lovely location, rooms are nice but the bathroom bin had not been emptied from the previous occupant and a half filled glass of water was left by the bed which was not a good start We had a pleasant meal but our entire weekend was spolied by the rudeness and agression of an appalling propriator / manager. Example ( of similar exchanges) we spent about 20 minutes on the Internet in the louge before breakfast, with the manager in full view, We then went to the dining room for breakfast at 09.17. He had had ample opportunity to say we would be late for breakfast, but didn't. When we went to the dining room ( the next room as its a small hotel) he then advised in a very unpleasant manner that breakfast was over., and that we had been warned that breakfast finished at 09.15 ( we had not been). When we registered some surprise we were advised ' what do you want us to do? keep our kitchens open all day for people who wander down late for breakfast'. We left immediately to find somehwere else. 3 other couples in our partly did the same.
We expect country hotels to have a nice welcoming atmosphere, but this man was positivly hostile. Never again !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We had eaten once before at this inn set in the wonderful Borrowdale Valley, so had no hesitation in booking a room for one night on our recent trip. Once again the food was great and we ate in the cosy bar area with open fire. Our room was basic with pillows that had seen better days many years ago. The bathroom had a bath with shower over, however the shower didn't seem to work properly. There was a lot of noise from the staff working below us as well as doors continously banging. The best thing about our room were the views it offered. Breakfast the following morning was very disappointing. There wasn't much choice on the menu which we found to be unusual after the excellent lunch and evening meals we had had previously. My husband asked for a boiled egg but this wasn't possible, only what was offered on the menu.
All in all we would still recommend the Langstrath for the meals but if you are looking for a comfortable room with a good nights sleep, book elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langstrath Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langstrath Country Inn

Address: Stonethwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Borrowdale
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Langstrath Country Hotel Keswick
Country Inn Keswick
Keswick Country Inn
The Langstrath Country Inn Borrowdale/Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langstrath Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.