We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great personal service - especially with the kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodore Falls Lake View Restaurant

Lodore Falls Lake View Restaurant
Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England
01768 777285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Borrowdale
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great personal service - especially with the kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Lodore Falls as a special family treat for my Mums birthday (6 adults and 2 children). The food was fantastic, with a good choice on the 3 course menu that was included in our room rate. I don't know if I would have wanted to pay £35 per adult beforehand, but it would have been well worth it. We ate 2 dinners and had 2 breakfasts and everything was great, no-one left anything on the plate. Best of all was the amazing service. I have never seen so many staff and every one was fantastic. They were very attentive, helpful, cheerful and friendly, which really made us feel special. They were especially friendly with the children (aged 8 and 10), who loved being treated like one of the adults. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole experience could not have been any better - 5 stars just isn't enough!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting, attentive staff and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We were staying at a nearby hotel so cannot rate the accommodation, however we had an excellent meal here on Good Friday.
We booked late in the day and so found ourselves in what appeared to be a separate room from the main (busy) dining room. I was initially disappointed but it was quieter and more romantic.
We chose the 5 course option for £42 each. The first course was a fairly average chef's terrine, and not worth writing home about. Starters followed and were great. My wife's main course beef was not particularly tender though my rack of lamb was excellent.
Desserts were great and the final bill..with an expensive wine was £120. Overall we had a very enjoyable evening. Service was friendly and efficient, food was 8 out of 10.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dangerous road is off putting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Can not fault this hotel at all in terms of accommodation or facilities as stayed here a few times before. As we were up in the lakes last week, staying somewhere else this time, we decided to go for afternoon tea at the Ladore . If we had known beforehand that the diversion that is in place at the moment, is on such a dangerous, winding and narrow road, then we would never have made the journey. The road is steep and has little places to pass and in my opinion does not fit the ' beautiful,scenic road' described in the website about the road closure. It would definitely put me off staying here whilst the diversion is in place. The only way in and out of the hotel is along this road, albeit if you wanted to take a 45min trip out of the way .

    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent meals and the staff were overseen by a most efficient restaurant manager”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Choice and presentation of the meals was excellent. Anything to dislike? No
Waiter/waitress service beyond reproach

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenglass, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excelent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

see main review. go for the 5 Courses ours consisted of a Amuse, Starter, soup, main, and desert. Wine list has some great wines listed

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lodore Falls Lake View Restaurant also viewed

 
Borrowdale, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lodore Falls Lake View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodore Falls Lake View Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.