We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel except the bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Borrowdale Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Borrowdale Hotel to your Saves list
The Borrowdale Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
frodsham uk
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“lovely hotel except the bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend.a lovely hotel,just the job for a quite relaxing break.Only downside was the bathroom,which was far to small.Shower was not what you call a power shower.The upside was the dining room which was superb both in food,choice of food and service.The hotel is situated perfectly for touring the north lakes,or all the lakes as we did.There is plenty of parking space at front and secure parking at the rear.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    160
    58
    31
    14
See reviews for
68
400
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We recently spend a three day break at the Borrowdale Hotel having stayed at Lodore Falls twice I would re-iterate what has been said previously. Having paid to upgrade room to superior it did have a lovely view and room was spacious however, it looked as if the bathroom had been updated the room did not, bits of wallpaper torn and furniture definitely had not been updated. Most of the staff friendly and very curtious but receptionist was not happy to provide extra two tiny packs of milk (questioned the need) and would not give us extra packet of biscuits - apparently they are only supplied on first day! I really dont think this is value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

the Hotel is looking better than ever. My wife has been visiting this hotel for the past 34 year so is hard to please. The staff are as friendly as ever, the refurbishments have given a new life to both the public areas and the bedroom which was stunning.

As ever the restaurant makes this Hotel in our view the bestplace to stay in the Lakes, there are so few places in the UK where service is an art and carried out so well. i could really do with the Hotel being closer to london so i could use it for my business entertaining.

I have to credit all the staff when the hotel lost power during Sunday Lunch service, there were no problems, the staff just got on with it. In the evening the electricerty company had to turn the power off for a while so they could re-set the mains supply, all the staff were getting lanterns for the guests and Charlie the barman was still serving drinks by the light of a single lantern.

We are returning next month with some friends for a special bithday celebration, can't wait,

Well done to all the staff, you really make a great place for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0mmelier, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2009
Thank you for you comments , they have been passed on to the staff and Charlie in particular.
We look forward to meeting you again next month
Stephen Wilcock ms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

My partner and I decided to give the Borrowdale another try after staying there a few years ago and being very unhappy with the hard beds and pillows,but, the food/service had to be the best in the area!
We returned after I had specifically asked the receptionist on the phone before booking re "the beds"..she said the hotel had been refurbished and she could genuinely say the bed in our allocated room was not going to be like a mortuary slab (as before).
We took our two small grandchildren and went off quite happily....
Bedtime became a nightmare-my partner had to get up and sleep on the floor at 3am,closely followed by myself-the bed was worse than the last one and the pillows were like rocks...both our backs were aching terribly-something we don't ever have!
The following night we slept on the girls' camp beds and they slept in the king size bed together.
Warning-if you don't mind sleeping on a mortuary slab-fine but at least take your own pillows!
Other than the beds-food is delicious,gardens are beautiful and staff friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

I first stayed at the Borrowdale Hotel in 1990 and I've been back again on eleven occasions since then. Whenever I visit England I try to include some time in the Lake District and when I do I always stay at the Borrowdale Hotel.

The hotel is situated in the Borrowdale valley some 4 miles from Keswick. It's a country house, built in the 1860s and furnished accordingly with antique furniture in the public rooms. Two lounges on the ground floor, as well as the bar, have cheerful upen fires burning in the winter months which provide a welcoming feeling to the establishment. It's the sort of house whose upstairs floorboard creak under the carpets as you walk along the corridors.

I've occupied both single and double rooms while staying at the hotel. The rooms were pleasant enough, all ensuite and containing all the basic things that one would need while staying. Housekeeping at the hotel is of a high standard. The new owners are undertaking a refurbishment of the rooms, so I expect that although the room dimensions will remain the same, an update of facilities will be evident.

The single thing that makes guests return regularly to the Borrowdale, myself included, is the standard of food in the dining room. This spacious room is divided into two halves, by a wall which has cut out arches. Tables are positioned throughout both halves of the room and are sufficiently far apart to ensure privacy. The tables are attractively set with maroon under cloths and are topped with white tablecloths. The room looks very inviting. Interesting antique implements are displayed on the walls as well as a nice collection of 17th century Ogilby Road Maps. The food is outstanding and the dining room is managed by Kath, a 30+ year veteran of the hotel. Kath is a working manager and is a wonderful asset to the hotel, who always remembers her regular customers.

Copies of the dinner menu for the day and wine list are located in the bar and dinner orders are taken in the bar by the hotel manager. You can then make your way to dinner at your leisure. By the time you get to the dining room appropriate cutlery for your selection has already been placed on your table. The food is of a consistently high standard, whether it be silver service served by the waiting staff, or carved from the silver trolley by one of the immaculately dressed chefs. Some of the dishes I have enjoyed there have set the standard by which all similar dishes have been judged ever since. Coffee and home made fudge and chocolates are available for self service after dinner either outside Reception or inside the bar and these are enjoyed by the guests in the lounges or conservatory.

Whenever I've stayed at the Borrowdale it has always been on Dinner, Bed and Breakfast terms. An excellent choice of items is available on the breakfast menu, including the vast Borrowdale Grill, which appears to include everything contained in a Full English and more. Certainly the breakfast sets you up for a day in the outdoors.

The hotel is the sort of establishment where fellow guests actually talk to each other and almost always it is revealed that this is by no means the first time that fellow guests have visited the hotel.

Ample parking is provided in a secure area behind the hotel and in the open at the front of the hotel.

Rooms suitable for mobility impaired guests were built a few years ago. I haven't seen them, but a gentleman in a wheelchair was occupying one of them during my last visit.

Dogs are allowed in the hotel and a convenient dog walking area is available in the grounds of the staff house located across the road.

Unfortunately the weather in the Borrowdale Valley is not always perfect, so a drying room is provided on the first floor of the hotel.

I love to visit England. I love to spend time in the Lake District and most of all I love the Borrowdale Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Visited partway through the refurbishment - minimal inconvenience.
All staff were friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately we had to make some use of the drying room - much needed.
Great stop during our tour of the lakes, Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass, Keswick and Ambleside following son's wedding.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

We stayed here for a weekend, and found the hotel very well furnished with good sized rooms. The best part however was the silver service dinner on an evening. The location is a bit "out of town" so can be expensive on taxis if you are going into or out of Keswick late on. The only drawback was we felt a biy young to stay here !!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this completely refurbished 4 Star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Warm and welcoming fires in the Winter and cool drinks and Lakeland cream teas on the lawns in the Summer served with a smile. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The restaurant has been refurbished to a very high standard and is very elegant and comfortable. It also now boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms have all been refurbished within the last 3 years all have TV, telephone and hospitality tray. There are also 2 extra large, easy-access rooms too. If you are arriving or leaving on a Sunday make sure not to miss the famous Sunday lunch - it is well worth trying, but remember to book your table well in advance, as it is particular popular with both locals and residents. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well behaved dogs. Please contact reservations for information about our dog friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Borrowdale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.