We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Present” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lodore Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Lodore Falls Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Present”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Our stay was a present for my husbands's 65th birthday - it was our first time visiting the Lakes and the Lodore Falls Hotel was the icing on the cake.

The staff were courteous, fantastically friendly and contributed to our enjoyment.

The food was delicious, beautifully presented and served by young men and women who gave the impression that they enjoyed their employment.

I would love to come back - thank you for a lovely three day break.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2011
Many thanks for your wonderful review of our beautiful Lodore Falls Hotel.

I can think of few better places to celebrate such an important milestone and am delighted to read that we didn't let you down.

Thank you once again for your kind comments.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    314
    100
    48
    38
See reviews for
234
774
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We arrived on a busy Sunday afternoon. But we were soon made to feel at home. When we walked up to our room I could tell that our room was not going to be looking out over the lake, but when I opened our door I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was very well decorated (possibly not to my partners taste-she would have prefered a more modern decor) the room was large and looked out across the waterfall. It was clean and very comfortable, with a large en suite (including a bath).
We were served in the lounge with afternoon tea & scones which went down very well.
We stayed for two nights and dined in the restaurant on both evenings. The food was excellent and all the staff were extremely helpfull and friendly, a credit to the management team. Well done and we will be back next time we visit the North Lakes.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

I am incredibly proud of each and every one of the team here at Lodore Falls and it is great to read that they have once again exceeded customer expectations with their superb work ethic and terrific personalities.

Many thanks once again for your kind words, I do very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our beautiful part of the world in the very near future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

it was agreat stay hotel great and food and staff the room was big comfty warm towels dressing tea and coffe and biscuits went in the hot tub brill

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Many thanks for your fantastic review of our wonderful hotel. It is so rewarding for us all here at Lodore Falls to know that our hard work is being appreciated.

I do hope to welcome you back to this glorious part of the world again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I arranged a weekend stay at the Lodore Falls for my partner's birthday. The weekend was wonderful, we had a really lovely relaxing time. The hotel is in a great location only five minutes drive into Keswick but far enough out to feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. The outdoor hot tub is a must! We had massages in the spa and whilst they were very enjoyable, I would question the customer service skills of the lady who greeted us at the spa reception, rude is probably the best way to describe her.
Aside from her attitude the rest of the staff were extremely helpful and polite and we simply couldn't fault the hotel. We'll most certainly be returning in the summer when it's a little warmer!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on this site.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend with us and have passed on your very kind comments to the team here as we really do get a buzz out of knowing that our hard work is being recognised.

Your comment regarding the attitude of one member of the team does worry me and I would be grateful if you contact me with her name so that I can ensure corrective training is given. My e mail address is stephen@lodorefallshotel.co.uk or telephone 017687 77285.

Many thanks once again for your kind words.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

we had booked direct through the hotel for three nights and could gladly have stayed longer but for prior engagements ,i cannot fault this hotel in any way the staff were first class ,our lake view room was superb would have prefered a walk in shower but you cant have everything ,the food was excellant this is our second visit to the ladore hotel and we hope to return in march and again june for our ruby wedding with family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Lodore Falls Hotel on this site.

I speak for the whole team here when I say how delighted we are to read of your satisfaction with the service, food and facilities at our wonderful hotel, it really is so gratifying for us to know that all the hard work we put in is paying off.

We would love to welcome you back in June for your ruby wedding anniversary and Tanya, our sales and events manager, or I would be pleased to discuss your requirements and ensure that you have a memorable celebration.

Thank you once again for your kind comments.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

On arrival we were given a small cramped room that overlooked a rooftop,for such a beautifully located hotel we were both so dissapointed and asked to be moved,which was not a problem,however not a good start either.
On booking through the travel agent i was informed that the evening meal consisted of 4coursesi didnt imagine it to also consist of what was to be one of the most embaressing moments of my life! A very abrubt waitress on producing the menu informed us and the guests sat close by that due to booking through SuperBreaks the package only included 2courses,not 4,pointing to what we could order, and then have her strip the table of all cutelry that wasnt needed for the courses that we wernt allowed!!!
Needless to say even though the food was lovely we were far too upset to enjoy it,along with the added fact the candle had gone out on our table,and we had run out of water which nobody noticed yet other tables were very well looked after,obviously not SuperBreak customers.
Overall....beautiful place and surroundings,excellent food,but unfriendly staff to the point of been ignorant,which ruined it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our fantastic hotel on this site.

As a valued Superbreak client you paid a £25 supplement to upgrade from bed and breakfast to dinner, bed and breakfast. Our menu consists of 4 courses @ £36 or 2 courses @ £28, naturally we offer our Superbreak clients the 2 course @ £28 option meaning that they get the added value of a £3 saving from the normal price. We always offer our Superbreak clients (as you are aware) the option to pay a further £8 to upgrade to the 4 course option.

You will recall that on Saturday morning you visited the reception desk to complain about only being offered the 2 course option, the above was explained to you and, as a gesture of goodwill, we offered you the 4 course option at no extra charge on the second night of your stay. How strange you neglect to mention this, and the birthday card and chocolates we gave your partner, in your review!

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

After arriving at this great location we parked the car at the front of the hotel to unload. (only disabled parking and loading/unloading at the front). Our cases were taken in by the smiling helpful porter. The receptionist welcomed us and gave some information on the hotel and facilities. we were shown to a small but quaint lift and our cases were taken to the room for us. The room was very light with views up the fell and waterfall at the rear of the hotel. we went to the lounge for afternoon tea and scounes all included. We then had a walk aroung the grounds and waterfall which were fantastic. That evening a first class meal in the resturant with very attentive staff was most enjoyable. The following day started with a good breakfast and was followed by a trip out and about returning later. We then went into the hot tub which was outside overlooking the river and falls (what a great way to unwind).
We will be returning and will tell all of our friends. Well done to all the staff and managment.
We asked for two items. One was a light and airy room due to health issues. This was done prior to arriving. The other was on going to use the hot tub (needs to be booked ) the leisure reception desk was unoccupied but had a polite notice on how to contact them. We did this and within 2 mins the tub was open and ready for use.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Many thanks for your wonderful review of our beautiful hotel on this site.

I am delighted to read of your satisfaction with all aspects of the hotel and very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodore Falls Hotels in the not too distant future.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. The hotel offers an impressive array of outdoor leisure facilities, with an all-weather tennis court, swimming pool and hot tub. Indoor facilities include a swimming pool, sauna and a well-equipped gym. In the Falls Beauty Salon our friendly therapists will look after your well-being with a varied selection of treatments for both ladies and gentlemen. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodore Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.