We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lodore Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Lodore Falls Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have stayed with Lake District hotels many times at Inn on the Lake and thought it time to try another. We were not disappointed. Our room was on a corner at the back but had wonderful views of the fells and also with a slight head twist the lake. It had been newly refurbished and the standard was excellent, with nice toiletries in the bathroom.
The hotel was very busy , it being Easter, but the food at dinner and at breakfast was of a very high standard and beautifully presented. The staff were courteous and helpful, so why four stars, some of the public areas were a little tired, worn carpet from the first floor on parts of the stairs and some paintwork in need of attention. Am I being picky? no I don't think so, the sister hotel has had a total refurbishment and looks great and this one has a higher room rate. We would must definitely stay again, ideal spot to leave the car in the car park and just walk.

Room Tip: Some fell view room do not have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in the Lake District. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodore Falls or any of our sister hotels in the very near future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    285
    81
    38
    32
See reviews for
219
688
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Booked in for Mothers' Day lunch before we came down to the Lake District for a week's break. Despite the fact that it was very busy and it was a celebration day, the service was superb and the food was amazing! Four courses for £27 and flowers or chocolates for the mums. There were half portions (for half price) of the adult four course menu for my hungry nine year old son which he loved. Great value, great food, great staff, great location. We'll be back!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your visit to The Lodore Falls on Mothering Sunday. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your lunch with us and the little gifts for the mums.

I hope it was a memorable day for the whole family and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had been looking for a mini break up in the lakes for a while and came across this hotel on secret escapes for a very good deal. We chose a lake view room and it was definitely worth paying the extra money for. Our room was lovely and had the only balcony that was great to sit on with the sunshine! The service from all the staff was great. They were all very friendly and ready to help at all times. The choice for breakfast and evening meals was good and the vegetarian options for evening meal were amazing! The only slight complaint was that breakfast took a while to be served on 2 out of the three mornings so be wary if you need to head off quickly. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for the delightful review you were kind enough to write following your Secret Escape with us. I have passed on the comments you make regarding service to my team who always enjoy hearing how much our guests enjoy their stay.

I am sorry to hear that the service of breakfast wasn't as prompt us usual, we pride ourselves in the service we provide, so I will investigate why this was on that particular morning. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I hope that we will welcome you back to The Lodore Falls in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have stayed at many top hotels and this is an absolute gem.
There was 40 of us staying, as a 'business' party. The quality of the food was excellent, the best Venison ever! The staff very friendly and professional. The rooms are of a high standard, clean, comfortable and quiet. And as you would expect in the Lakes, stunning views. We will definitely be staying again. To prove how good it is, this is the first time I have left feedback on any hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at lodore falls 13042014 it had been bought us a gift through amazon local. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in the lakes and this is definitely now on our favourite list. Recently refurbished our room was modern and comfortable , we were greeted by a friendly welcome and the offer of complimentary tea and cake . Our evening meal was delicious , one of the nicest we've had with good choice of wines and breakfast didn't disappoint either. Small but clean pool and outside hotub which I would recommend booking for . We are planning on returning soon after our relaxing night away .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Quality hotel situated by lake Derwentwater. On check in we were upgraded to a lake view room which was well furnished will all the usual guest requirements.The staff are friendly and well organised.
We had dinner in the restaurant on both nights and were delighted in the presentation and quality of the food.
I fully recommend this hotel and we hope to return later this year.
Thanks to the management and staff for making our stay so pleasantly memorable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Location stunning. Welcome average, room comfortable, but the description 'fell side' was rather ambitious, when we spoke to the receptionist she was rather dismissive and again on checking out it was obvious that this had been highlighted before from the stock answer. The restaurant was excellent, the food was extreemly well presented and they carried an interesting wine list, the staff were attentive at all times. Would certainly return but would be more discerning about room outlooks!

Room Tip: Choose a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. The hotel offers an impressive array of outdoor leisure facilities, with an all-weather tennis court, swimming pool and hot tub. Indoor facilities include a swimming pool, sauna and a well-equipped gym. In the Falls Beauty Salon our friendly therapists will look after your well-being with a varied selection of treatments for both ladies and gentlemen. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodore Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.