We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lodore Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Lodore Falls Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A wonderful dog friendly hotel with friendly, courteous staff. Every request was met with great service.Food was divine. Location perfect for walking by Derwent water lake and with a bus stop directly outside to Keswick. (10 mins) . Facilities very good. Indoor and outdoor pools well maintained. We had 3 lovely, sunny days over August Bank holiday day and plan to go back in the winter to enjoy the open fireplaces and snowy views. Also looking forward to eating the fab food again! A brilliantly, managed hotel. On the way home we decided to explore the Lake District a little more and drove to the other hotel in the group, Inn on the Lake at Ullswater for afternoon tea. What a difference! Staff were quite offhand, service slow. We were told they could not take our order from the terrace, we had to queue at the bar. The tea arrived then we waited for 50 minutes for our (stale)scones and were told by the manager that it was Bank Holiday, they were busy, we should expect to wait. A completely different experience to Lodmore Falls.

Room Tip: A lakeside, front room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    313
    100
    47
    38
See reviews for
234
772
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Lodore is in a fantastic location and is a beautiful building and very attractive grounds.
We fell in love with it on the outside, so decided to stay for lunch to get a feel for the place with the view to booking a family stay over the Christmas holidays.

The Reception Rooms/lounges are quite grand and impressive. We went to the bar to enquire about lunch. We were told to order from the bar and give them our table number. The menu was quite limited. It was a nice day so we decided to eat outside. It wasn't particularly busy but we had to wait around 40 minutes before the food arrived. We asked for some white bread and butter with my daughter's meal, but was told this was not possible because it was not on the menu. An alarming attitude for a 4 star! The waiter arrived with the food but no cutlery and this took another 5 or so minutes to arrive. Unfortunately after he had gone we realised there was no condiments either. We decided to go without as it would be easier! I had ordered prawn sandwiches with marie rose sauce. The prawns were few and the sauce was watery with a lot of chunks of apple in it. (I like apple but it just didn't go with it) - the supermarket type bread was dry, big crusts left on and not buttered - quite awful really. If anyone had asked how our meal was, I would have told them, but there was no one around and I got the distinct feeling they wouldn't have cared anyway , so we just left and decided not to book our stay with them over Christmas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Suzie P

Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore Falls Hotel on this site.

I very much regret that we failed to live up to your expectations when you visited recently and do wish that we had been given the opportunity of discussing and rectifying the issues with you on the day. We do pride ourselves on great food and outstanding customer service and are consequently devastated by your review.

I would be very pleased to have the chance to discuss the matter with you and would ask that you contact me on 017687 77285 or stephen@lodorefallshotel.co.uk if you feel able.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here last night for our 3rd wedding anniversary using a deal off travel zoo and I would highly recommend. Hotel is in a lovely location and beautiful. Our room was smaller than expected but clean and comfortable with a view of the lake. Toiletries and drinks were available in the room. We had treatments in the spa and used the facilities. I would definitely recommend booking the hot tub and having a glass of champagne while in there for a little treat. My massage was heavenly and the staff were lovely in the whole hotel. Our meal was beautiful but service was a little bit too fast so we felt rushed slightly. Breakfast was very good too. We will definitely stay here again, probably next year if not before

Room Tip: Although a lake view room was lovely lake is further away than we thought and possibly not worth £40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My boyfriend booked this as a surprise night away and we both thoroughly enjoyed it! After check in we found our room, we were on the first floor so not too many stairs. Our room was wonderful, plenty of space and the bathroom was lovely and also very clean. Only slight downfall was that we were over the back overlooking a roof but I suppose there are only a limited number of lake view rooms.
We spent some time in the pool/sauna/jacuzzi which was lovely, brilliant that you have to book out the jacuzzi so you're not in there with strangers.
As we had the travelzoo offer we had our meal and sparkling cocktails in the restaurant and it is safe to say the standard of food in the restaurant was superb! One of the best meals I've ever had. We both decided to upgrade from the offer menu to the standard menu for just £6 each which I thought was very reasonable.
After the best sleep in the most comfortable bed ever we headed down for our breakfast, this was cooked to order and was very nice. Good choice of continental buffet also but we were too full to even try any.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and would definitely return, food and location were amazing! All o the grounds are kept beautifully and the short walk to the falls is most definitely worth it. One of the best birthday presents I've ever had :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding. Service was excellent throughout, both at the wedding and during our stay. The 'Fell View' room was clean and spacious and even had a little outside seating area that we were not expecting.
Breakfast was very high quality with a wide range of hot and cold food available. The service from the staff was superb.
I personally felt that the hotel was a little expensive - we were originally quoted £229 for the room after I enquired about special rates for wedding guests. After deciding to not book at that price we were fortunate to catch a 'pre-pay' rate on their website for £158 a couple of months later - a much better price but still more than I've ever paid for a single night booking.
As is common with hotels, the bar prices were quite expensive. I'm not sure how it is justifiable to charge £3.90 for a pint of Coca-Cola (a few pence more than premium lager!)
The hotel has a free car park for guests, but it is across the road - getting between the hotel and car park requires guests to cross the road on a blind corner. There are curved mirrors on the walls to try and help you see oncoming traffic, but it still felt dangerous, especially while guiding my young son. Hotel staff are available to help with luggage if needed and it is possible to park outside the main entrance temporarily if needed.
Overall we enjoyed our stay - it is a lovely hotel in a good location. Since returning home we have received an email inviting us back with some 'perks' - although obviously a mail-merged letter, it was still a nice touch as they didn't have to offer anything at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My family and I (husband, wife, two children aged 12 & 6 and small dog) have just returned from a really wonderful seven night holiday in the Lake District staying at the splendid Lodore Falls Hotel. The intention of my lengthy review is to help prospective guests get a full idea of the hotel rather than just the basic points but the jist being that it is a lovely place and well worth a visit.

Keeping the best til last, firstly here are the bad points:

As is typical with all large quality hotels these days, far too many weddings were being held to the detriment of the paying guest. One afternoon the tennis court was closed for four hours because of a drinks reception being held on the opposite side of the stream. Whilst you can understand it being closed during the ceremony, why close it when the guests are getting loud and drunk? It meant that - without warning - we could neither sit in the hotel garden nor use the court that afternoon. Rather annoying since we had planned our week to do certain things on certain days. Parking in the private hotel car park was also very limited if you came in from a tiring day out and found it full of wedding guests cars.

A notice outside the hotel clearly stated no smoking by the front door or within 10 metres of the door yet this was blatantly ignored filling the lobby, reception and bar with cigarette smoke and yet the staff ignored the perpetrators. Likewise, there were no parking signs in front of the bar and dining room windows (presumably because of the lovely view) and yet cars were parked there obliterating guests enjoyment of the beautiful lake and fells (even worse that one morning it was the wedding organisers van!)

For some reason, loud music was being pumped out of speakers around the outdoor pool. This was not only wholly unnecessary but very unpleasant when you are staying in a hotel with beautiful views and sounds of nature/stream/waterfall.

The very attractive decked seating area by the little bridge overlooking the beautiful stream adorned with hanging baskets rather strangely had all the chairs and tables padlocked together and only unlocked for wedding guests use!

Service was occasionally slow in the restaurant, orders even forgotten at times (no amuse bouche served one evening!) and in the bar one of the barmen was utterly obnoxious which was a shame given how marvellous the other staff were. We have always enjoyed pre-dinner drinks both as a couple before our children were born, and now sitting as a family since we have had the children - either chatting about the day or playing cards.

Irritatingly, despite booking a table after breakfast each morning for a specific dining time that night, we were pestered and chivvied into the restaurant every evening which did test our patience after it became "the norm" and was a very poor reflection on the hotel's "relaxing break" pitch and website comment "... in the early evening enjoy a drink in the bar ...". Several times on entering the bar, we were immediately asked if we would go into dinner earlier than booked. Our polite response was no thank you, but we were annoyed to be asked as it was not a relaxing start to the evening after a busy day out. The waitresses would even interrupt our card game and literally state "perhaps you'll come in after that round"!!!!!

We had booked a "Family/Twin Room" with a "Fells View". This stretched the imagination somewhat as you can see from the photos that you could only see a fell (Catbells) if you leaned out of the window and looked to your right (when you could also see the lake which was a bonus!). The "view" was of the trees opposite. Use of the word "Family" room was also rather glamorous. Given the price charged, the room was utterly insufficient in space for a family of four (thank goodness we only have a small dog!) There was nowhere to hang four wet towels, wet walking gear and swimwear and totally inadequate space in the bathroom for four of us to put out even a small number of toiletries. Why refurbish the bathrooms so nicely yet not put up shelving and more towel rails?

The room was very hot and despite being on the second floor, the window only opened a few inches. The hinge on our window was broken and so it kept closing and we had to wedge a water bottle in it for the entire week just to get some air. Room service left everything neat and tidy daily and only on one day did they turn up so late that we had returned from our day out and had to ask them to come in. However, a dead fly that was present on arrival was still there at the end of the week!

BUT, THE GOOD POINTS ARE:

The location of the hotel is excellent if you wish to go walking or see any of the attractions the Lake District has to offer. It was approximately a 30 minute drive into Windermere and there were regularly queues to get in/out of Ambleside (that isn't a complaint, just a warning!).

The hotel has an old-fashioned charm to it which we really liked. Although a young'ish couple with two young children, we much preferred this ambience and decor to the modern, busy style of many hotels these days. It was almost impossible to get a signal for mobile or WiFi from the hotel!! The hotel lift was of the old-fashioned variety with a grill gate. The children loved the experience of this. I can understand some of the reviews commenting on its small size but, in defence of the hotel, porters are readily available to assist with pushchairs and the disabled.

The Lodore waterfall itself is absolutely stunning. We even managed a very tricky climb to the top. There was an easier path down which we did not find on the ascent!

We were thrilled that the hotel is so dog friendly. It can be hard to find quality hotels that are both children & dog friendly which can make holidays for families difficult, but the Lodore Falls looked after their canine guests well with Mason & Cash food and water bowls provided, comfortable dog beds and two doggy waste disposal bins.

The room, whilst too small, was comfortably furnished with large comfy twin beds pushed together, two good sized put up beds for the children, dressing table, tea/coffee tray and biscuits, hairdryer and two bathrobes that made using the pool facilities and beauty salon more comfortable.

The restaurant waiting staff were very polite and the food was superb, hence its AA Red Rosette award, although the menu was the same all week but with daily "specials" offered (we have stayed at a number of quality hotels worldwide). To our amusement one evening the main table d'hôte menu offered "Lemon Tart with textures of raspberry" whilst the chef's daily specials had "Lemon Tart". For fun we each ordered the tart but off separate menus - they were identical desserts but for a bit of coulis & fruit on one!! It didn't bother us, but a little strange to have a "chef's specials" offering basically the same thing?

Although the restaurant was naturally quite formal being a four star hotel, both our children know how to behave and no one was bothered that our six year old took her portable DVD player & headphones in so she was entertained quietly once she had finished her smaller meal. In fact, several couples smiled and chatted with us and one couple came over to compliment us on our children's lovely behaviour during the week. One waitress, Orsi, particularly focussed on our six year old daughter and looked after her very well by encouraging her to try new foods and had the chef make up off-menu items especially for her as she is a fussy eater. Our 12 year old son was also invited to partake in the sorbets each evening and was fascinated by the whole fine dining experience. We were thrilled to have a lake view table all week and felt very spoiled because the view was stunning. [However, very clever placing of mirrors at the back of the restaurant meant if you were seated with your back to the windows, you could still glimpse the view].

We had booked the Dinner Bed & Breakfast option which included the full five course table d'hôte menu every night (amuse bouche and sorbets!) but noticed that many had a much smaller meal. The B&B option is probably better if you don't feel you need to eat five courses for seven nights as there are plenty of places to park & eat in Keswick and we would probably book this if we return. A full English or Continental breakfast was available each morning - waiter service for hot orders rather than the too-often seen "hot buffet" selection used by many hotels now where eggs go hard and bacon goes greasy! Picnics could be supplied and we made use of this a couple of times so we could go out walking without worrying about finding lunch for the children.

The hot tub was wonderful - located just outside of the indoor pool and overlooking the stream with bookable private 30 minute time slots for guests included in your stay. You could order drinks to be brought out at the time of your booking. This was a real treat and the "no children" policy was relaxed for our well behaved two making it a pleasant family time-out after a tiring day.

The hotel grounds are beautifully kept and even the stream has been planted up with summer bedding plants.

The Keswick Launch - a little passenger ferry/taxi service stopping at various points around Derwent Water including Lodore Falls jetty and Keswick - was great fun and very useful. A day pass could be purchased from Reception at a discount and meant you could hop on and off on the way round as you please. WARNING - there is no sign by the Lodore Falls jetty warning you to stand at the end of the jetty and wave at the launch if you wish to board (although there are signs on other jetties). On our first morning, along with three other separate parties, we all politely waited on the beach for the launch to moor and allow passengers off. The driver and his assistant obviously saw us. It turned out that no one wished to disembark so instead of stopping or his assistant calling to us, he simply turned the ferry around and sailed off. We had to wait another 40 minutes for the next! [There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel straight into Keswick].

A privately owned company offering kayaking, sailing, canoeing hire and/or tuition is based at the Lodore Falls jetty and we enjoyed our first attempts at kayaking with our two children! A very wet experience and useful to be able to have a go outside the hotel, rather than go to Keswick and travel back with children in wet gear.

There is so much to do in the immediate locality of the hotel and the hotel itself, that using either the ferry launch or by foot/bike you could manage a week without ever getting back in your car.

This was a super holiday at an excellent hotel and I would recommend it but beware of room sizes if you don't book one of their very pricey suites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is very welcoming and well equiped. We stayed with a dog which was made very welcome with its own bed, blanket and dishes. The room was very hot but it was probably one of the hottest days in the Lake District and not viable to have air con for so few hot days.
The evening dinner was the highlight in the dining room which looks out to the lake. For vegetarians we were offered a complete replica of the main menu with several choices for each course, not just the usual one or two options at the bottom of the main menu. The breakfast was also very good as the hot food was cooked to order rather than being from a hot plate. This is a good choice of hotel for a special occassion stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. The hotel offers an impressive array of outdoor leisure facilities, with an all-weather tennis court, swimming pool and hot tub. Indoor facilities include a swimming pool, sauna and a well-equipped gym. In the Falls Beauty Salon our friendly therapists will look after your well-being with a varied selection of treatments for both ladies and gentlemen. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodore Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.