We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little more TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lodore Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little more TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A May bank holiday break for 2, with our dog, to the Lodore Falls hotel was lovely. We enjoyed a lakeview room. The hotel was very nice with elegant decor and roaring fireplaces but larger than the sister hotel Armathwaite Hall, Bassenthwaite, which we both felt was superior. We dined on our first evening - scallops were overcooked and duck arrived well done despite having asked for it to be pink but both were immediately rectified. Breakfast was silver-service which we always look out for when going away for a few days and was very good. The pool and sauna were a little tired and the outdoor hot tub was very tired. Overall, could do with a little more TLC.

Room Tip: Highly reccommend a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    259
    76
    38
    32
See reviews for
212
644
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
geordie land
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We enjoyed a two day stay at this excellent stylish hotel set in wonderful grounds in a superb location. The staff were friendly, attentive and efficient, the food excellent, the public areas extensive and relaxed. Our room was perhaps a little compact, especially the bathroom, but very comfortable. Minor criticisms small lift, small indoor pool. We shall certainly revisit the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Lovely room with wonderful view of lake and fells, very friendly service with a smile. Will definitely be returning to take launch into Keswick again.gardens are very pretty, walk up to falls recommended,sheep are noisy early morning

Room Tip: Ask for twin, second floor front for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I surprised my partner with a night here for his birthday. It was the first time we had left our daughter overnight and it was a well earned break! On arrival we had our room upgraded and found a box of Belgian Chocolates in our room. The leisure facilities were great and having booked the hot tub we spent 45 mins relaxing with a glass of prosecco in the hot bubbles whilst it rained on us...bliss. The food was delicious with so much choice, an employee recommended dishes and she was spot on, we were not disappointed. The only complaint was the bed wasn't very comfortable but on the grand scale this is insignificant. We are looking to return in June and take our daughter with us. This is a fabulous hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We can only underline the many positive comments of recent reviews with just a couple of minor niggles. The positives being great customer service, beautifully prepared and presented food and very comfortable public areas. Our 3rd floor Fell view room (310) was well appointed with a lovely view of the waterfall and well maintained gardens. Our room décor was traditional with good quality furniture and really comfortable bed. However, we were surprised that the en-suite bathroom looked tired with cracked floor tiles and very poor finish to the grout.

The highlight of our stay was the evening dinner service. The quality and choice of food was outstanding and the well-trained attentive staff superb. Breakfast was also very enjoyable. The only food we did not like was the tea & scones on arrival. The scones were just too big, tasted doughy and fell apart, maybe they had been reheated, or just not to our taste.

Another minor gripe is the inconsistency of message regarding wi-fi. On arrival we were told that wi-fi was available in the bedrooms. This was not the case in room 310 nor I suspect in some other bedrooms based on anecdotal comments from guests. It was absolutely fine in the public areas.

In summary we thought this was a well managed, impressive hotel that delivered a great customer experience through its motivated and very professional staff. The duty manager Jeanette was particularly helpful as she went out of her way offering us a range of ideas for walks and local attractions.

We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Fell view room 310 worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We are local to Cumbria and occasionally dine at the Lodore for a treat. The food and service is always first class. On our last visit we found a new chef on the team, Loredan Gargalac, and the menu even more interesting, eclectic, traditional with a twist, and nothing too much trouble. We particularly enjoyed the local roast venison with a port and chocolate sauce.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel enough. The staff are all so friendly and the place has a real welcoming feel. We have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. The food is always of a high standard, the location is so scenic and only a short drive from Keswick but far enough away to be extremely peaceful.
For those considering a wedding here I can highly recommend the service that the Ladore Provides. Our daughter and son-in-laws wedding reception was held here last August and was a perfect day which has to be a credit to the amazing staff and there organizational skills. They really have wedding receptions off to a fine art!
Some hotels of this standard can sometimes have a stuffy feel to them but one of the things I like most about the Ladore is the fact that it has such a relaxing friendly vibe to it.

Room Tip: It's worth ringing ahead to book the hot tub if you require a certain time as it does get booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. The hotel offers an impressive array of outdoor leisure facilities, with an all-weather tennis court, swimming pool and hot tub. Indoor facilities include a swimming pool, sauna and a well-equipped gym. In the Falls Beauty Salon our friendly therapists will look after your well-being with a varied selection of treatments for both ladies and gentlemen. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodore Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.