We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel really dog friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lodore Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Lodore Falls Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel really dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday for the night. Being a huge dog enthusiast I was delighted to see in each room were 2 dog bowls each a bed each and a fleece each!
There is a gorgeous waterfall right behind the hotel too, really pretty, the dogs enjoyed that too!
The views were amazing from the hotel overlooking mountains.
The food was amazing, really nice and the staff couldn't be more helpful
Loved my stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    285
    80
    38
    32
See reviews for
218
687
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

hotel nice size with alot of sofas and chairs to relax and chill and even have a large area with open fires. Our room was standard 312 but a really good size. Lovely decor and spotless and 2 dressing gowns in wardrobe. Also a hairdryer if dont want to take yours. Tea tray with very nice biscuits. The pool is warm and clean and has a few chairs and lounges to sit on around the pool. The hot tub is great where it is placed just outside and overlooks the waterfall and the stream with lovely wooded area its a great place to just take in the scenery. The food is to die for. We were on a travel zoo special offer so the evening meals were in with the price and really pleased they were. Not one complaint and i am a very fussy eater. The hotel does not want to loose their chefs ever. The choice at breakfast is great aswell from cooked full english to kippers and waffles with your choice of topping made to order. The staff all friendly and helpful. Just a really nice hotel and will be back. For anyone leaving tips they are shared and the staff really deserve them.

Room Tip: we were happy with 312 which is 3rd floor so you can see from a height and it faced the back of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOLTON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked The Lodore Falls hotel on a travel Zoo deal for two nights. Having always stayed at the Borrowdale further down the road we thought we would give it a try. What a fantastic stay we had. Tea and scones upon arrival. Porter helped us to our room with our luggage. The dog came too and was provided with his own bed and bowls. We paid extra for a lake view - this I would highly recommend, well worth the extra. The meals and service in the restaurant each evening were first class. Attention to detail at this hotel is impressive. Friendly helpful staff who always acknowledge you , even when passing through. Nothing was too much trouble. The leisure centre was great - small pool, sauna and best of all a hot tub. we sat in the tub on our own( you book the time you require) in the rain, looking up at the view of the trees and the waterfall - what a splendid time that was. They also have a beauty spa but we didnt use that. Would I return - DEFINATELY! Would I recommend it - DEFINATELY! We booked room 204 - lovely room, gorgeous views and very comfy bed with a mattress topper on. If you want a couple of days away, nice walks nearby, ability to catch the boat from across from the hotel and sail into Keswick then book the Lodore Falls, you won't be disappointed. A first class stay at a very reasonable price. Well done to all at The Lodore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

my husband and i recently spent a night at the ladore through secret escapes
we had scones and tea on arrval.
the staff are very freindly and the food was excellent.
the only thing was our fell veiw room had a small window it would of been nice to see a bit more of the veiw. but in all we had a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Early April, 2013, overlooking the lake and snow covered hills and mountains, visited the Lodore Falls Hotel for lunch. A very busy, beautifully clean, traditional-style hotel, with roaring fires in several dining areas, we chose what proved to be a well presented, delicious lunch. We tested the locally made beer and our party were impressed! Just one slight criticism, was that the tea was not piping hot, but am sure if It had been mentioned to staff it would have been exchanged for a hotter pot! Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband booked a surprise child free night via Secret Escapes.The hotel is lovely.The room was larger than we expected.The staff were extremely helpful.Scones and tea on arrival.The 4 course dinner was delicious.The breakfast was plentiful.
The walk up to the falls was well worth the view.The only disappointment was heavy rain on the morning of departure and we were unable to see the falls.
We would stay here again if we planned to visit without children.We usually stay at Centre Parc in Whinfell as a family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights the weekend after Easter - our first trip to the Lake District. Our deal was through Voyage Prive and we booked a Fells View room which had a disappointing outlook onto a large flat roof but the view of the hill behind was pleasant! The room itself was a reasonable size with an enormous walk in wardrobe. The lounge for pre drinks was busy but well staffed and dinner the first night was adequate with an excellent wine list. The addition of a recommended wine list was much appreciated and we chose a delicious French Pinot Noir from it. Breakfast next day was basically a buffet but with the option of a cooked breakfast - all freshly cooked to order. The area around the hotel is perfect for walking - the waterfall and the lake make for pleasant ambling and when the weather is good as it was for our stay, the views are spectacular. We arranged to meet up with old friends for dinner at the hotel that night and Monika kindly found a table for us by a window overlooking the lake. The dinner that second night was outstanding - really beautifully presented and using fresh local ingredients. We were sorry to leave the next day - the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the whole ambience was of relaxed efficiency. We would certainly consider staying there again, but maybe in a room with a view this time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. The hotel offers an impressive array of outdoor leisure facilities, with an all-weather tennis court, swimming pool and hot tub. Indoor facilities include a swimming pool, sauna and a well-equipped gym. In the Falls Beauty Salon our friendly therapists will look after your well-being with a varied selection of treatments for both ladies and gentlemen. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodore Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.