We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gets better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lodore Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Lodore Falls Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Just gets better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was our third stay at the Lodore & the best one yet. We were given a free upgrade to a lake view room which was modern, bright & airy & had a fantastic view.
We took full advantage of the spa, booking some treatments prior to our arrival & some once we were there. There was an offer at the time giving 4 treatments for the price of 3 but even without this, prices are very competetive & good value for money. The girls in the spa are all very friendly & provide useful advice.
The food was excellent as always with an added bonus of being there on one of the monthly Pudding Club evenings which was a delight. The only drawback was having to choose from such a delicious spread.
The hotel has lots of little extras such as free wi-fi & free canapes in the bar with pre-dinner drinks & the staff are friendly & efficient.
It wont be long before we're back again !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    285
    81
    38
    32
See reviews for
219
688
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hotel location is great but the layout is not customer friendly. The better rooms that overlook the Lake are close to the road and the noise of cars entering the forecourt of the hotel over the cattle grid can be an issue especially at night. Chairs and tables laid out in the garden below the bedroom windows for guests and smokers can be very disturbing especially late at night. The Hotel holds weddings this was an issue for us as the guests took over the gardens and chatted in the garden late into the night, we asked reception to ask them to keep the noise down but nothing was done. There was a lot of staff mostly Eastern European they were attentive enough but with a surly attitude. The lift was ineffective and badly in need of replacing. It was noted as out of order but could be used with the help of a member of staff. As we both needed to use it and were on the 2nd floor it was a nuisance. The breakfast buffet was very good but the quantity of the Cambrian breakfast was merger

Room Tip: ask layout of rooms in relation to traffic noise and 'smokers' areas ask if they hv lift if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We could not fault this hotel in any way. Outstanding service from friendly staff. Lovely setting with excellent food both at breakfast and dinner. Ideal for our walking break didn't need to go anywhere by car.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife and I chose the Lodore Falls hotel to celebrate our anniversary but only booked at the last minute, staying for three nights. We chose a standard room which was very comfortable, clean and well serviced by the chamber-maid, who brought us a dog-bed and feeding bowl, although we had brought our own. All the staff were very friendly, polite and efficient, the meals were very good, the view from the dining room window is wonderful looking across the lake to the mountains, the falls behind the hotel are quite magical. We would have loved to have played tennis and had a swim in the glorious weather we were blessed with. All in all a really memorable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

this was a classic hotel with a modern twist. The hotel was in a lovely location, the food was super, young helpful staff, clean rooms, lovely large lounge overlooking the fells. Indoor swimming pool and spa , tennis court and outdoor pool and jazuzzi. super.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walderslade Kent
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I found this Hotel online when choosing somewhere to stay. I always check on Trip Advisor and it had good reviews. We weren't disappointed with our room, the hotel or the service. The menu was varied and of good quality dishes. The only criticism of the whole week was 1) they like to bring the next course as soon as you finish the one before, leaving little time to digest your food, the outdoor jacuzzi, although bookable, is only for 15 mins and people from the pool do ask to join you, so it's not private as you feel obliged not to say no (even though you have booked the time), there was a funeral wake there for a very popular man who had a fatal helicopter accident when flying from his slate mine out of the valley, this man was a regular visitor to the hotel and when we returned to the hotel from our day out, we could hardly move in the lobby and had to ask to get through the front doors and make our way upstairs. The bar area and restaurant was full of mourners and the widow and his children were on a table not far from ours, and she was visibly crying and upset. It wasn't pleasant to see this. Apart from that, I would go back to that hotel tomorrow if we visited the Lakes again. The Hotel is part of a group of 6 and I believe that they are all of a similar standard. They were flexible in as much as, when we stayed there, we went out for days and couldn't take advantage of one free lunch during our stay, so they made a nice packed lunch for us to take on the last day to take on our journey home. The parking was free just across the road, once you had unloaded your cases and the nice thing was, when you arrive, you check in and a porter comes to the car and takes our cases to your room, a nice touch. The pool and beauty salon we used, I treated my partner to a hand exfoliation and massage as he is a postman and out in all elements and he found it very relaxing and beneficial. One last small thing is the lift is tiny & very old (2 people plus one large suitcase).

Room Tip: We were given the room on the website photo, with a fabulous view of Lake Windermere from the huge w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed for three nights. The room was nice but hot as there is no air conditioning.
We expected fresh food for breakfast, so was disappointed to see most of the fruit was tinned! The bar could do with being modernised along with the restaurant, it's a great look for the 70's!
There doesn't seem to be any local staff that work at the hotel, they all seem to be Eastern European and not particularly friendly.
The location of the hotel was wonderful overlooking the lake. There is a boat that takes you to Keswick which is a very nice market town. That said the hotel is situated in a great location to explore the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. The hotel offers an impressive array of outdoor leisure facilities, with an all-weather tennis court, swimming pool and hot tub. Indoor facilities include a swimming pool, sauna and a well-equipped gym. In the Falls Beauty Salon our friendly therapists will look after your well-being with a varied selection of treatments for both ladies and gentlemen. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodore Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.