We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Lodore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lodore Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Lodore Falls Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We loved the Lodore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderfully relaxing weekend at the Lodore Falls. The experience begins with the warm welcome from the reception staff.
Our room was overlooking the lake and the view was fantastic. Food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was beautifully prepared and served by knowlegeable and attentive staff.
We couldn't of had a more relaxing weekend and will be returning in October.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    312
    100
    46
    38
See reviews for
234
771
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife, daughter and myself stayed here for a few days during half term and we all had a wonderful time, aas you drive around the winding roads around the water you suudenly see a beatiful building emerging through the trees with a wondeful hillside back drop and thats where the excitments starts. Once you get to the hotel which has fabulous outlook of the Lake and the mountains you really could not be anywhere better in the world for a relaxing couple of days, especially when the temperature was in the mid 20 degree! We got there well before check in time, but I thought I would ask if we could leave our bags, we were greeted with a wonderful lady who was so helpful and friendly, she checked us in even though our room was not ready and we left our bags there and off we went. On returning we picked up our bags and went to our room, very spacious and clean looking over the falls at the back of the hotel. We used the leisure facilities as my daughter has just learned to swim, we used the indoor and outdoor pools, everything was as it should be, clean and safe. I found every member of staff to be extremely efficient, polite and helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble, wonderful selection of whiskies in the stunning bar and breakfasts to die for. On check out everything was ready for us when we came down stairs, the lady in front got a voucher for a free bottle of wine next time she stays, but I didnt!! If your looking for a great location in a wonderful part of the world, where your mobile rarely works (fantastic) stay at the Lodore Falls hotel, trust me you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good car park. Great welcome and large comfy room. TV channels limited and phone reception pretty bad. WiFi weak but free. Dinner superb but fills you up if on DBB. Nearly all the staff seem to be from Eastern Europe which makes for some interesting misunderstandings. Breakfast is tasty and plentiful. The lounge is comfortable. Good swimming pool and great location for the hot tub. There are plenty of good walks around and the ferry and bus are right outside the hotel. All in all an old fashioned stress free holiday. Not cheap though!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stay several times each year at the Lodore - probably our favourite hotel in the UK. The quality of the accommodation and food is superb, and the service is friendly and unobtrusive. We usually take advantage of the special deals on offer from time-to-time throughout the year, making the hotel real value for money. The location in the Borrowdale valley, on the shores of Derwent Water, adds to the experience. This is also an exellent base from which to explore the Lake District.

Room Tip: Al rooms are very good, but Lake views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Our second stay in the hotel and have visited several other times for food and drink. Never fails to impress. Proud to say we are booked in for our wedding this November.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed at the Lodore for 3 nights after our wedding (which was not at the hotel although 2 others that day were)... We received a card and chocolates from the staff in our room, which really was nice since we had only mentioned in passing that we were getting married when we made the booking several months earlier - simple things really make a difference and it was a lovely start to our stay.

In summary, we found the whole visit to be very good indeed - the room was well decorated, clean and tidy, with a modern feel without being stark, and the view from the Lakeside room was beautiful - we looked onto Skiddaw and Catbells and it was magic. Facilties in the room as you would expect, and well stocked each day.

The staff were very polite and helpul, and appropriately attentive - we say this because we don't like too much attention, but every time the bread plate was empty at dinner, the bread basket appeared! Again, little things that make the difference.

The food was excellent, and the view from the restaurant was amazing (the same as our room). Dinner was a good choice of very well presented dishes, the wine list is very extensive and the whole experience was enhanced by the setting (and the nice Lakeland artwork in the restaurant). Breakfast was great - we like choice, and there was plenty - and again, that view and attentive staff... Breakfast was served until 9.45am, which is nice if you want to enjoy the surroundings (see next para).

The location is brilliant - the edge of Derwentwater, with Lodore Falls about 2 minutes up the path behind the hotel. For walking straight from the hotel, it's brilliant - Catbells and Maiden Moor (and beyond) are within easy reach. The boat around the Lake stops at the hotel, Keswick is about 10 minutes by car or bus and the road into Borrowdale gives the options of many of the Lakes great walks... Did we mention the view?

The facilities look great - there is a spa/health treatment area (we didn't use, but looked nice) and indoor and outdoor pools which we did use... The outdoor pool is good for swimming lengths, and there's a nice view of the hills from the water.

We can't fault our stay - we had an amazing time - it really was the perfect stay to our perfect day. I only wish we'd had longer - as keen walkers, we could have stayed for ages...

Definitely one for a special occassion too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We booked 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast as an anniversary treat for ourselves. From the moment we arrived, every aspect of the hotel exceeded our expectations. The location is wonderful with superb views of the lake (we had booked a 'lake view' room), and the staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Our room was spacious, very clean and very comfortable. The decor was possibly slightly old fashioned (or maybe just understated) but was certainly of good quality. The bathroom was of a good size and exceptionally clean.

Public areas were very comfortable - the bar was a great place to chill out in. Lovely atmosphere and great views towards the lake.

The standard of food was unbelievably good. The 4 course restaurant dinners were excellent along with the standard of service - the waiting staff could not be faulted. Cooked breakfast (brought to your table, not buffet style) was really good. There was also plenty of additional breakfast food to choose from on the buffet.

Outside there are plenty of attractive grounds in which to sit. We didn't make use of the spa or gymn facilities (our stay was too short and there was so much of the area we wanted to see). There really wasn't any aspect of the hotel with which we could find fault. Overall, a wonderful atmosphere (due I suspect in large part to all the staff). This was our first time in this area, we will certainly return if there are any 'offers' available (we probably cannot afford the 'normal' rates at this hotel). We would certainly recommend The Lodore Falls for a special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. The hotel offers an impressive array of outdoor leisure facilities, with an all-weather tennis court, swimming pool and hot tub. Indoor facilities include a swimming pool, sauna and a well-equipped gym. In the Falls Beauty Salon our friendly therapists will look after your well-being with a varied selection of treatments for both ladies and gentlemen. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodore Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.