We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B with great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashness Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrowdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashness Farm
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Borrowdale CA12 5UN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Borrowdale B&B and Inns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good B&B with great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in March at this Farm and had a great time. Our room was Armboth, ensuite with a huge bath and plenty of hot water for a good shower. If you ask for the folding bed as we did, the room is a bit snug for three people. Very clean. Great views and central location, close to Keswick (10 minutes by car).

The family is very friendly, make you feel welcome and are happy to chat. This is a nice touch because at other b&b you sometimes feel like an intruder.

As in other comments, if you have to be away at a certain time its best to ask for an early breakfast as this can take a while.

Breakfast was good, thick bacon and fresh loaf of bread every morning.

Would recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    11
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We received a warm welcome from Ann and were made to feel very comfortable and at home in her friendly farmhouse. The animals on the farm were a great discovery for our 8 year old who enjoyed putting the sheep away with Ann's youngest sons one snowy evening. The log fire in the lounge was a perfect spot to sit by each evening and her breakfasts were absolutely delicious! A truly relaxing place to unwind, take in the spectacular views and recharge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2012 and it was a lovely time. The only things that I would say are that the rooms are very small, smaller than you'd expect when looking at the photos. And the bathrooms aren't exactly glam. It certainly did the job though and there was plenty hot water for a Beth which made me happy. The farm is in a lovely setting and the views are beautiful, it's in a great location too and you can easily spend a couple of days wandering round Keswick and trying all the local produce. The breakfast was ok, nothing to write home about though. Overall, this is a lovely base in the lakes.

Room Tip: Maybe pay a bit more to get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently stayed at Ashness Farm and found it through very helpful directions supplied by Ann.
However, be prepared that if you have anything other than an average car you will not easily get over the very narrow bridge on the way to the farm. We have an Audi A3 which was just about ok. be prepared for that.

The Catbells room was delightful, very clean and well kept, superb views of the hills and the animals. The extremely loud water pipes do not make for a leisurely quiet lie in or relaxation at the end of the day as other people run baths and showers which is a shame as the quietness around you because of the situation of Ashness Farm is spoiled by this. There are no TVs in the rooms so be prepared for that. this didnt worry us as we were out quite a bit.

Breakfast, as mentioned before, was slow. we waited nearly an hour before getting ours and there was no particular order to who had theirs first on the first morning. if you need to get out early you should mention this as the farm obviously takes priority first thing with guests second. It was 10.15 before we got out to start our walk - we would have like to have been gone well before this.

Apart from this it was a pleasant stay - you just have to remember that this is a working farm as mentioned on the website and farm life goes on around you - you have to fit in.

Room Tip: Catbells is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is what I imagine under "good old England". Stylish farm with a lot of animals around and very nice atmosphere. Our room was a bit small, but it was no problem. Very silent place, the only voices you here are from nature. Breakfast was good, also internet connection was nice surprise, most of another places like this one don't offer it. Generally we were satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived here straight after doing the Via Ferrata at Honister, in the very heavy rain. So it was so nice to be welcomed into a traditional farmhouse with the log-burner roaring away in the sitting room!

Our room (Catbells) was very nice, as was the en-suite (huge bath). The annex of the room might perhaps house the boiler? Or something for the central heating? Anyway, whatever it was, it was noisy, but it stopped arounf 10pm and didn't start again until just after 8am, so would only be a problem if you wanted an early night and a lie-in!

The breakfast was lovely, very fresh eggs and bacon to die for. The breakfast was served at perhaps a 'leisurely pace', so if you wanted to be up and out quickly, you might want to mention this beforehand.

For us, we were in no rush so was nice to sit and chat to the fellow occupants to hear tales of their travels etc.

We also got to see the litter of 1-week-old piglets in the barn next to the farmhouse, along with the belted galoway cattle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

My partner and i had wished to visit the lake district for years and finally we done it! After researching accommodation we found ashnessfarm. On arrival we were overwhelmed by the farm particularly the stunning and picturesque location but above all the wonderful and warm welcome we received from Anne and family. We could not have wished for more during our stay from the room to the lovely breakfast we were never disappointed. We would recommend staying here to anyone and know that we will be returning.........Katie and Paul

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashness Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashness Farm

Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Borrowdale
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashness Farm 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family welcomes you to experience the charm of Lakeland from within a working fell farm with its origins in the 16th century. We have 5 double/twin en-suite rooms, (3 with baths), each having a spectacular view across Derwentwater. Enjoy our traditional English farmhouse breakfast and relax in the original oak-beamed lounge. A permissive footpath runs through the farm to the nearby picturesque Ashness Bridge and stunning vista of Surprise View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashness Farm Hotel Borrowdale
Ashness Farm Borrowdale/Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashness Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ashness Farm to your Saves list