We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best curry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Inn

Victoria Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Victoria Inn to your Saves list
Victoria Inn
Front Street, Alston CA9 3SE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Alston B&B and Inns
Leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were staying in a cottage near by and decided to take a "punt" on the curry as I know the pub from years past and its pretty run down. We made a good decision. I had the vindaloo and the wife had chicken Tikkas plus starters, keema nan etc.
It was one of the best currys ive ever had and I dont say that lightly as I live in Leeds, not far from Bradford and we have curry every week.
Highly recommended, just see through the pub.

Room Tip: Didnt stay so no comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We didn't stay here but went in for the Curry.

It was a little dowdy and rundown and choice of beers wasn't the best. We did nearly leave, it looks/feels like a locals pub (pool table, young uns etc).

However, the Indian attached was one of THE best we've ever experienced: good portions of really tasty food. It was slightly expensive but hey, it's out in the boonies and the food was exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well located in Alston town centre with a friendly landlady and staff. Slightly tired decor, but quite comfortable and clean with a good shower. Breakfast was as it comes, however OK. The Indian restaurant in the pub was all a little unusual. For a relatively inexpensive overnight stay was all fine with secure space for the bike. However I will be reverting back to the Alston House Hotel as my normal referred choice in Alston if the accommodation is available ( was not for this trip)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the victoria inn with two friends. on first entering no it was,nt WOW factor ,but am i glad we stayed there the landlady was a pleasure to meet helpfull and friendly as were the staff. The indian restaurant was sort of strange being in the dining room but it was an expeirience and the food we all agreed was the best we ever had anywhere so went back the following evening, this hotel is clean very good price and will be going back can,t wait. Shirley and friends

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flookburgh, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Needed an inexpensive stop over that was convenient, close to amenities, shops etc. and found The VIC, a real and utter treasure beyond my expectations!!!!
The landlady (TIAN-I hope that is correct spelling) was a delightful Angel, nothing too much bother and her staff were first class.
A great PROPER pub (no CHROME & WALNUT pretentious crap here) with an integral indian restaurant and extremely friendly local crowd who know what fun is all about and enjoy themselves in a civil manner.
The SAVOY it is NOT!!!! BUT neither is the costing.... so I cannot understand the moaners and Whingers who have written insulting and negative comments about the VIC.
Such people really DO need to GET A LIFE!!!!
LOVE the place and as ARNIE once said....."I'LL BE BACK"

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We booked in for one night in a busy week in August where we'd already been turned away from four fully booked B&Bs. So we jumped in. First thoughts were, what a great, amusing and friendly landlady, followed by a large and spacious en-suite room (see pic above).
The room was great, clean and tidy, with a large bed and seating. The en-suite was large enough, and clean.
Tea and coffee making facilitie were included, hand-wash and shower gel in the en-suite were a welcome bonus.
The only cons to the stay were the rather noisy extractor fan and toilet macerator unit in the en-suite which we thought would wake up the whole town, never mind the B&B, and the noisy lorries on the cobbles starting from around 6am. Oh and there being no real ales in the bar. Most other pubs within the town supply this so you're never far away from a good pint though.
Altogether the pros outweighed the cons. Which were first and foremost the amazing welcome, and chats with the incredibly friendly and amusing landlady, the comfort and space of the room we had, and the fact that it's right bang slap in a very pretty little town. The price was very reasonable too during a hectic tourist week.
Breakfast was good but not brilliant, but it was served with a huge smile and jokes, and we scoffed the lot (except the tomatoes which neither of us like) and enjoyed it.
We would definitely use it again, but we'd try and ensure we had a room at the back to reduce the road noise.
Thanks for making us feel so welcome landlady (didn't get your name).

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back to reduce road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The place is rather dirty and run down.

Our triple room had an en-suite but the first person to use it was distured by the proprietor telling her that water was leaking into the pool room!

The indian restaurant on site was cramped and the food was indifferent.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Address: Front Street, Alston CA9 3SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Alston
Victoria Inn Alston, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.