We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Isaacs Byre, Garrigill, Alston, a home from home.

Alston
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacqui13B...
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely secluded cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Although rather remote this cottage has everything you need to negate even getting back in your car before returning home, which is what my brother did! Mum, hubby & myself did explore though. Super comfy beds, which is always a concern when renting anywhere! Lots of nice walks with tons of info in cottage or available from the owners next door, so helpful. Pub in Garrigill available down a path from cottage, very welcoming. They thought my brother & hubby were the "only gay couple in the village". Made me chuckle. Go & enjoy it. Views from rear patio doors amazing, what a way to breakfast...
I am largely wheelchair dependant but managed entry door & 3shallow steps to main living area ok. Downstairs bathroom & bedroom.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Comfy beds!
Liked least: Distance to a large shopping centre, but I am such a townie!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Christine...
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb cottage in a lovely situation - couldn't fault it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Isaac's Byre with my mother for a short break. The cottage is beautiful and Judith-Ann and Rob made us more than welcome. The cottage is ideally placed for visiting many of the Cumbrian tourist spots but is in a lovely peaceful situation. We would love to stay again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: we loved it all!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
linda_ham...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The house was in a nice location with very nice views. It was very comfortable and cosy, it had everything you needed. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The house was very clean and three bathrooms was a bonus with the two of us and our four children. We really enjoyed our stay and the weather was brilliant. We would certainly recommend the house.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Julie W
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accommodation in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is a beautiful cottage a real home from home in a great location for exploring Cumbria and Northumberland.
The owners are friendly and helpful and on arrival provided us with fresh eggs, home made cookies and even biscuits for the dog.
This was in addition to the fantastic welcome pack which is an option well worth selecting.
This cottage combines all the mod cons (including sky and Wi-Fi) with seclusion - perfect.
The views from the cottage are fantastic and there are so many beautiful places to visit close by. We explored Hadrian's wall and several Roman Forts as well as visiting a number of waterfalls nearby, Ashgill Force is great fro the more adventurous or High Force if you don't want to climb - and Low Force is a hidden gem.
Alston is only 4 miles away and has everything you need with a lovely bakery at the top of the hill.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: All the mod cons in the middle of nowhere
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Millie R
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“It's like being spoon fed relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

Where do I start! Well firstly I CANNOT fault a single thing about this holiday. The owner Judith is an absolute delight, and I miss her home made cookies! The cottage itself could not be any more perfect. It has everything you would expect in your own home and MORE! In fact it's better than home and I'd jump at the chance to buy this place if I could. The views are breathtaking, as are the walks from the cottage itself. I liked to go for a wander to the local pub, have a drink, a meal, few games of pool. The lady owner there was lovely and friendly too, just like chatting to some dear friends.
I'd strongly recommend St. Johns Pool (not sure I got the name right), as you can hire it for SOLE use!!! Yep, SOLE use! Myself and my partner did so for a couple of hours and it was lovely.

I'm 32 and just loved the tranquility of the place, and the little villages a short drive away. I baked cakes whilst I was here, and embellished in some arts & crafts.

On our last day we were literally snowed in and couldn't get my car up the steep road that exits from the cottage as we kept rolling back on the ice. Judith and her husband had a powerful range rover and very kindly drove off to buy some suitable rope to tow us out..... I'm amazed at their kindness and generosity! Judith even offered to let us stay an extra night or 2 for free if we couldn't get out.... I SO wished the rope had snapped!
We were even told of how to book the cottage through a cheaper option! VERY VERY happy!!!!!
Judith, I'll definately be back (although not with my ex!!!)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Liked least: Not possible to dislike anything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Emma-Loui...
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A (better!) home from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed in the cottage for a long weekend and we were bowled over by how clean, fresh and modern it is. The warm welcome from the owner even included homemade biscuits and fresh eggs from the hens in the garden! The kitchen was well equipt and the open plan living and several bathrooms were ideal for us as a young family. We had a wonderful trip to High Force waterfall and we were perfectly positioned to watch the village fireworks display from the patio. Bonus!

The roaring fire in the lounge was very welcome during our November stay, but we will definitely be back over the summer to experience the picturesque setting in the sunshine!

Highly recommended! Can't fault it.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Linsay T
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation with amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The accommodation is first class, clean, well equipped and very comfortable. On arrival there were home made cookies, tea and coffee and free range eggs which were much appreciated. The owners are very friendly and approachable if you have any concerns. Our dog was fascinated with the chickens in the garden and practically lived by the patio doors for the first day. We will definitely return to this cottage, and couldn't have found a better place to stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Beds were so comfortable and the downstairs shower was amazing.
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$110
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Judith-Ann W
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2012
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 13 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing