We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully cooked food, reasonably priced with friendly service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt and Pepper Steakhouse - CLOSED

Salt and Pepper Steakhouse
Alforde Street, Widnes, England
0151 424 2654
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We take great pride in serving you the freshest, highest quality food possible. Every day we start out from fresh making our soups, salad dressings and sauces from scratch. We don’t cut corners and we don’t settle when it comes to authentic ingredients, we don‘t buy frozen food, we only use the best like our British steaks, our Stilton Blue Cheese, our toasted hand-cut croutons or our homemade chocolate sauce. At salt and pepper - steakhouse it's all about quality and all about the food and you our guest.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully cooked food, reasonably priced with friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved my dinner tonight. For £11.95 i had a mouthwatering rib eye steak, succulent on the vine tomatoes, juicy mushrooms, the BEST homenade chips and tasty homemade coleslaw. It was the best meal ive had in a while. Staff were very friendly although our waitress was a little dizzy but that didnt detract from our dining experince. We ate at 6pm and it was very quiet hence the atmosphere rating but i believe itgets busy later on. Just lovely. I hope it does well. Try it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    30
    10
    5
    4
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Got the razzle just needs the dazzle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely place, staff very polite and attentive, reasonable price, delicious food, generous portions and brisk service. That's the razzle, just need to polish up on the dazzle. Although staff were lovely, I feel more training is in order to reach a higher standard of professionalism. They forgot cutlery, napkins, waited for side order so main meal was not hot enough and no one was front of house to deliver common courtesies when we were leaving. This did not spoil our overall dining experience and will eat there again. Also more advertising is needed as we only heard of this place by word of mouth and we live in Widnes. Make yourselves more noticeable from the kerb we nearly left thinking it was closed or were at the wrong place. I hope all of these minor faults are addressed so this restaurant does not remain a 'hidden' gem of Widnes

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“salt and pepper widnes fabulous food and drink in widnes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

omg i went to salt and pepper steak house on friday night for tea with a friend and cant wait to go again. the food was fab. i had the ribs to start and my friend had the chicken. we had never been before so we shared are starters. the ribs were fab and the meat fell off the bone. the honey glazed chicken was even better. hot bread was brought to the table with a garlic and oil dip. georgeous.both myself and my friend love good food and again all i can say is fab. we both had steak for our main meal and the steak was to die for. melted in the mouth.cooked to perfection.the plates had been warmed and the food was piping hot. all in all it was the best meal i have eaten out for a long time. the place itself is spotless and looks beautiful when you walk in. the only fault with this resteraunt is that when we pulled up in a taxi, you would think it was closed. it is not very well sign posted. i think if it is advertised they will do really well. once again thank you to the waitress and the chef. fabulous night. thanks and will defo come again salt and pepper

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

me and my partner eat here regularly,everytime has been fantastic,the quality of steak is second to none,the service brilliant and the staff couldnt do enough for us.The portion sizes are huge!.Well worth every penny.looking forward to eating there again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

i came here for my birthday with family and friends,there was 8 of us,the service was perfect,the food fantastic! the steak was amazing and the pasta to die for! i had a great night,the staff was very welcoming and coulodnt do enough for us,they even decorated the table with balloons and streamers,thankyou all for a great time,looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt and Pepper Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt and Pepper Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.