We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ring O'Bells

Ring O'Bells
Pitt Lane Widnes | Farnworth, Widnes WA8 9HU, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 85 Restaurants in Widnes
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had a birthday meal here with 14 people- the staff were excellent and the food and service brilliant
All the meals came out together and we all really enjoyed them
Well done to the chef and kitchen staff
Would recommend it to anyone

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    43
    30
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous homely pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I went as part of a work Christmas meal, the interior of the pub is beautiful and modern. The food was delicious and you certainly got your money's worth..the plate was full! I would definitely recommend the ring o'bells for couples, families and friends

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cold food, disappointing :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Usually have a decent meal here but the last couple have been disappointing to say the least! Cold steak an soggy cold chips that the price does not reflect. Won't be eating here again, sadly! Get your act together please.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a table booked which was not vacated when we arrived so we were given a round of drinks on the house while we waited, fair enough we thought. The service was appalling, when we were eventually seated it took 70 minutes to get our order. The waiting on staff seemed oblivious to when we needed plates clearing etc We waited for a long time to order deserts and several were not available when we tried to order them which we should have been warned about in advance. Considering the next clients were also waiting for our table we were surprised at the lack of a sense of urgency to offer the deserts,to bring the bill, to clear the table etc In fact we had to ask for the bill ourselves. Happily the food was very nice but do not expect great service to match if you visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place. Food is always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

One of the best Sunday dinners around. For a great price. No horseradish to go with the beef. I wasn't in the mood for complaining. But they shouldn't have took the order without explaining. I'd have had something else.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring O'Bells also viewed

 

Been to Ring O'Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ring O'Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.