We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother for a special occasion” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derby Rd, Widnes WA8 3UJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't bother for a special occasion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We went to the hotel for a Boxing Day dinner and would not go back. There was no ambience, no Christmas music, no decorations, no feeling of Christmas at all...it all felt like we'd been herded into a big room, with no sense of occasion.

Our table didnt have enough cutlery and we had to ask twice for ice in the drinks. The toilets were yucky (floor was sticky and covered in toilet roll) and by the time we got to the buffet, the candles had been blown out and the food was cold. There was no salmon or profiteroles (as advertised on the menu) and they ran out of mince pies too.

On the plus side, the food was actually quite tasty. The gravy was hot and the roast potatoes were very yummy. We did a little poll around our table and voted 7 out of 10 for food and 2 out of 10 for presentation.

Overall, the food was good but there was no thought put into those little extra touches, which make a meal really special. With drinks, we paid about £120 for 4 people. Alas, I don't think we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    61
    45
    24
    15
See reviews for
34
42
14
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great hotel, I have stayed on a business trips for one night. Fantastic evening meal which was extremely good value for money, go for the set menu. Room very clean and obviously well cared for, Bathroom very clean and functional. Lavender spray for the pillows and bedding is a lovely touch.
Staff were all very friendly, efficient and helpful. I would really recommend here for handiness to Liverpool.

Room Tip: If a function is on, you are generally put in a room away from all the action! But you might be aswe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Recently stayed here just for the one night but must say was very impressed. The room was very pleasant, spotlessley clean, with lavender sprays on the pillows, which i thought was a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even when we inadvertantly arrived late for breakfast because of a misunderstanding it was,nt a problem and the full english was cooked to perfection and ample to see you through the day. If your ever in the area and looking for accomodation i have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I must admit, I don't often stay in budget hotels. I have expensive taste when it comes to accomodation! However, I was taking my sick dog to a vet near Widnes and as we were only going to arrive at 1am, and would be checked out by 8am, what would be the point of spending a fortune?

The Best Western was surprisingly good. The room was clean and a good size. The bathroom and shower were fine, although the towels were a little thin. The breakfast was pretty good and the bar/lounge area was acceptable too. The staff were very friendly, and they were really nice to our poor dog too!

At the end of the day, you get what you pay for, and I think this budget hotel is perfect for short stays. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Myself and 15 members of my family stayed here for 1 night to celebrate my birthday. The manager arranged a lovely informal buffet for us all in the afternoon, even though the hotel was very busy with a wedding and a "Vagas Party night" going on. We attended the Vagas night which was very entertaining, had a lovely meal, a good nights sleep and a wonderful breakfast. The staff were very helpful and freindly. All my family enjoyed the stay and I would like to thank the manager, Dan and all the staff for making my special birthday celebrations so memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

First time at this hotel and we were most impressed with the value.
Very clean adequate rooms (with very fast free WiFi) and friendly helpful staff.
Bar prices good and breakfast excellent.
Almost country location.
Will be staying again when in area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Enjoyed a terrific cabaret night Michael Buble tribute night. food was excellent and ovrall ni was exceptional value for money. Staff very friendly and service was very good, but not rushed which gave arelaxed feeling and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Did not stay over night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel

Address: Derby Rd, Widnes WA8 3UJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel in Widnes offers convenience as well as comfort. In a semi-rural location, you'll be in the heart of the North West's commerce, industry and leisure venues. Although you'll enjoy all the trappings of being close to the city centre, you'll also benefit from relaxed suburban surroundings. At less than 5 minutes form the M62 and 10 minutes from the M56, you'll literally be able to come and go as you please. The hotel boasts state-of-the-art conference facilities and first-class cuisine, so if you're working out of office, you'll have everything you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel Widnes, UK - Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.