We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Peckforton Castle to your Saves list
Peckforton Castle
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedford
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Unique place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights just for the experience. Looks lik a medieval castle and we found that it is not simply a false facade. Our room had a very high ceiling and a stone fireplace in one of the towers. Lots of stone stairs and arches up to the fifth floor so you needs to be fit. There are lower floors of course and provision for disabled guests. Very clean. Excellent buffet breakfast. Good menu choices in the restaurant. Free wifi. Excellent treatments in the spa but NO pool or sauna or steam rooms.
Birds of prey are kept in the castle grounds and you can always see some sort of display - as with weddings.
TIP Drive your car into the castle to unload etc and use the free valet parking.

Room Tip: Let them know if you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for the fab review. So good to read that you had such an enjoyable visit. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    256
    134
    69
    67
See reviews for
168
717
8
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very expensive (£5 for a small bottle of sparkling water!) and poor quality cakes. Sandwiches were nice but the 3 cakes and scone were stale and dry. The waitress admitted they were a day old but they were more like two or thee days old. We were going to book for a birthday treat with 6 friends but will certainly not return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your afternoon tea experience with us. This is an area of our business which has seen huge growth in the last 6 months and regularly receives fantastic feedback. I know that the Duty Manager who spoke to you on the day, in fact confirmed that the cakes and scones were made freshly that morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I am a food snob and I don't care !
A short review.
I called into the Castle in the hope I could get a decent quick meal.
I ordered the steak to keep things simple, what a fantastic choice.
This was the best steak I have eaten in the UK !!!
My mouth has been craving for more a week later.

Top marks to the friendly staff who fitted me in with ease and off the scale to the kitchen for a quality meal fit for a king.
I will be bringing friends to sample what was a very pleasant surprise for me.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Many thanks for the fab write up. Always great to receive such rave reviews, especially from a local. We look forward to welcoming you back to the 1851 for another mouth watering steak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for one night before we did our Land Rover Experience. The room was stunning, it was a very hot day and the room was very hot at night. But this is what you would expect from a old castle with very thick and tiny windows. We had a good nosey round the Castle, we found the Winery, which now houses a Wine Bar, which is fabulous. We didn't have an evening meal there, we went to one of the local pubs instead, the Pheasant, which was really nice. We did make use of the Brassiere Bar when we returned though. We had breakfast in the morning, of which there was loads to choose from and you could help yourself to as much as you wanted. I would love to return for a longer period to explore the wonderful surroundings. The staff were really helpful, they couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend the Hotel and also a day out with Land Rover Experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Great to read that you had an enjoyable time with us, particularly in Land Rover experience. Thanks for your review and hope to see you at the Castle again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

booked three rooms for family stayover after wedding on 31 august and very dissapointed. rooms very basic and no extras (for example no bottled water in rooms). 2 of the three rooms booked had extensive mould in the bathrooms. On informing the reception staff on check out very little interest was shown although a relatively small discount was given. Having stayed in many hotels both in the uk and abroad peckforton castle would rate very low in our opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for the review. The rooms you stayed in were classic doubles, bottled water is supplied in our executive rooms. We do have a pro-active maintenance program and the grouting in the bathrooms of the rooms you stayed in, was due to be replaced that very week. My apologies that we did not get to it before you checked in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I chose the Peckforton to be the last nights stop for my summer holidays after seeing Devon and Wales. On arrival the entrance is spectacular, the drive up to the house is along a long drive and through a entrance arch with portcullis ! Upon entering the main grounds the Castle is in front of you with a circular lawn. You can leave your car at the reception entrance and it will be valet parked for you. The reception staff are pleasant and well presented. We were informed of a wedding that was going on and told our room (4 poster bed room) was close by but they hoped we wouldn't be disturbed by the noise. The room was fabulous, large and with all the normal conveniences of a quality room. The bathroom was clean and had a large shower and huge bath. The only issue was that the hot water ran out whilst we were there. We reported this to reception and they sent a porter up to check the boiler and to see what they could do. It was just a case of not enough hot water available for the demand. I had booked dinner bed and breakfast. Dinner was in the 1851 restaurant and we were immediately met by the duty manager who was very attentive and apologetic about the hot water. He informed us that he would upgrade our meal reservation to use chose from the A La Carte menu free of charge. The food was amazing and the deserts were to die for (if you like chocolate have the "hazelnut" dessert.....). The service was first class as well. After dinner drinks were taken in the 2010 brasserie and the staff here were also great.
On return to the room you could hear the wedding reception but it was not a disturbance.
The bed was so comfortable and luxurious. Breakfast was taken in the same restaurant as dinner (1851) and was a standard buffet service but the quality of the food was great, not like your normal hotel sausages and bacon..!
We had a wander round the grounds after breakfast and the resident birds of prey had been put out on their perches, e didn't book the bird of prey flying but I will book it next time.
After the checkout, whilst we waited for our car to be delivered back to reception, the duty manager (the same one who met us in the restaurant the previous night) came to see us before we departed to make sure we were happy with our stay, a nice touch as he didn't have to come and find us. All in a a great stay and the staff and duty manage couldn't have done more to help.
We will definitely be back again..

Room Tip: Get a room with the four poster bed for a bit of extra luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. Great to read what a good time you had with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heswall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Yesterday 28th August my wife and I, decided to drive into Cheshire for lunch, We unfortunately chose Peckforton Castle. We asked at the quite poorly lit reception desk, were we could have lunch, we were informed the Brasserie which was located adjacent to the reception area, a waitress then informed us that there was also a courtyard, which she showed us to, and as it was a pleasant warm day we decided to remain there, we were then handed two menu's, We found it difficult to find a clean table so we used the menu's to wipe the surface of debris, We noticed on the table next to ours there were dirty plates and half drunk beer glasses which were now being enjoyed by wasps, on the floor there were numerous cigarette ends which had been stubbed out on the floor, as we assume no ash trays had been provided
We then waited and waited for the waitress to return and take our lunch order. We waited for some 40 minutes after which time we decided that we were clearly not going to be served. I asked at reception if I could speak to the manager a Jayne Smith then introduced herself as the duty manager and apologised for the lack of service, and asked if we would still like to have lunch at the Hotel I informed her that we would decline the offer, following the dreadful service we had experienced
My wife asked if perhaps a member of staff could attend to a young mother who was sitting in the courtyard with a very young baby.

Very poor service is one thing, however to leave dirty tables in a food establishment is both appalling and inexcusable.
This is a hotel which was awarded "A visit Britain award for excellence 2013 " If so I rest my case
It is a hotel to which we will certainly never return.
On speaking to another Hotelier this morning, I am informed that the" Three AA Rosettes" are awarded for "service" as well as the quality of food !!!

Room Tip: AS we did not stay at the hotel this is not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review, which I am, of course, disappointed to receive. Jane made me aware of your comments, but also of the comments of another guest who overheard your complaints and felt compelled to give quite a contrasting account of events. Commenting that service had not been slow and that the Brasserie team member was pleasant and efficient. Indeed, when I reviewed the CCTV, I can see that there was only one table in the courtyard that you may consider dirty, with 2 coffee cups and 1 glass on it. Also it is only fair to note that the total duration of your visit from point of entering the Castle, to point of asking to see the Duty Manager, was 23 minutes. As for our 3 rosette award, we are very proud to hold this. This has been awarded for the fine dining, 1851 restaurant which is open for dinner every evening and for Sunday lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peckforton Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.